We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Man & The Sea Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Savaneta 356-A, Savaneta, Aruba
+297 584 3434
Website
Today
17:30 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 17:30 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 244: English reviews
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Hard to share a good story as this place is no longer open but five separate ocean villas worth a look. Gorgeous setting for a romantic getaway, not dinner.

Helpful?
Thank pschulzy
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

If it wasn't for the location I wouldn't rate this place at all. The restaurant's food and service are below any expectation. The ceviche was ok but still frozen in some parts. The menu was a selection between: lobster, steak and shrimp. No mention of any preparation, cooking style, side dishes,... same for the wine: red or white? Come on...... More 

Helpful?
Thank rossihoney
Ridott, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Great place to go for a great meal and a beautiful setting. Large portions make it easy to share a meal. The Bisque & Tiramisu are fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank t0mwells
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Went here with 8 people and we were almost alone. After being served dinner I understood why. Food was lackluster and the service was equally poor.

Helpful?
Thank djv1954
Osyth H, Owner at The Old Man & The Sea Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Djv1954, We did not have a group of 8 people in the restaurant in the last weeks. If you are the table of feb 2nd, than you were not 8 people, you asked for eight changed to 7 and than became 4 pax. This table have been explained that we have over thewater bungalows, we showed you around and... More 

Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Our wedding photographer recommended the Old Man & the Sea Restaurant. We went for a sunset dinner. From the moment we walked through the door this was an experience. It wasn't what we were expecting but it ended up being one of the most amazing, unforgettable and romantic dinners we have ever had. Keep an open mind, it is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikalinds
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This restaurant was so good that I'm writing this review and we went there FOUR YEARS AGO! (The pull-down for when we went didn't go back to the actual date - October 2012 so I chose October 2015). I've been meaning to do this & finally got to it. We went for our 25th anniversary. We were seating at a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mel S
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Food was spectacular. Service very friendly. The rooms ............ WOW only 5 of them but the most romantic place on the island!!

Helpful?
2 Thank USDutchie
Nutts Corner, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Last time we ventured down to see the place there were indications that it had closed. Our understanding is that the place can still be rented for private affairs - we would not recommend doing so.

Helpful?
3 Thank WE- R
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Last night we went for a family diner as a stay-cation kind of vibe and even though we had reservations we came to a closed restaurant. WE asked the neighboring Flying Fishbone and the security there told us that the restaurant has closed it' doors and doesn't exist anymore. There is nothing of that mentioned on the website and we... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank DushiTera
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Was driving along with my mother when we both decided to try this place out. Heard much about it and it looked like a good place to try. Not being much of a fish person I choose it anyway was pleasantly surprised by how well the fish tasted and was cooked perfectly the prices a bit on the upper side... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dexter L

Travellers who viewed The Old Man & The Sea Restaurant also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to The Old Man & The Sea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 100
Cuisine
Seafood, Caribbean, International
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Private Dining, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
17:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
17:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 22:30
Thursday
17:30 - 22:30
Friday
17:30 - 22:30
Saturday
17:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Savaneta 356-A, Savaneta, Aruba
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Aruba  >  Savaneta
  • Phone Number: +297 584 3434

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Man & The Sea Restaurant and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Burleson, Texas
6 months ago
Ringoes, New Jersey
over a year ago
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Man & The Sea Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?