We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hollathans

6-9 Ashfield Terrace, Chester-le-Street DH3 3PD, England
+44 191 388 0090
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (11 reviews)
“nachos” (5 reviews)
“pizza” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6-9 Ashfield Terrace, Chester-le-Street DH3 3PD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

my mate has just moved to the area so we went for a wander to see what was around, Hollathans looked like a good place to get a decent meal with outside seating, lovely staff, delicious food, fairly priced, will definitely be returning

Thank Strawberryhf
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in here for lunch to sample the new menu. As always food was of great quality. Plenty to choose from and lovely service. We love this place is just a 2 minute walk away but if you ever find yourself in Chester-Le-Street, I highly...More

Thank Rebecca R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited with a friend recently and the food, wine and service were great. It's excellent value for money and the staff can't do enough for you. It's a great find and well worth you trying it out if you haven't been before. Get there...More

Thank Gwen H
Holly H, Operations Manager at Hollathans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Gwen, Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We pride ourselves on our customer service here at Hollathans's, so it's nice to hear that we are meeting our customers expectations. I assure you, your kind comments will be passed onto all of our...More

Reviewed 21 February 2018

We have just been with friends and had a really nice meal. The choice of food was good and we all said how tasty our choices were. We were looked after by a young lad who was one of the most attentive and helpful waiters...More

1  Thank bobhaskett
Holly H, Operations Manager at Hollathans, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review! Cameron was your waiter on the evening of your visit so I will make sure these comments are passed onto him. Unfortunately we have had a problem with our boiler and apologise for that but don't worry...More

Reviewed 29 January 2018

Had voucher so decided to try their Lasanga, beautiful just the way I like it although sister thought Sauce a bit runny. Had Cheese Garlic Bread also, nice. Loved The Raspberry Passion also.More

Thank isaron
Holly H, other at Hollathans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thank you for your kind comments in your review view. I’m very sorry your sister felt our homemade lasagne was too runny but that’s how we like ours here at Hollathans, plenty sauce for dipping your delicious garlic bread!!! If you love our raspberry passion...More

Reviewed 26 January 2018

Went to Hollathan's last as a party of 6 to use a £15 voucher we had been given in late December.....we were told it was only valid to use on non-offer menu.......we were given the happy hour menu and a 2 course and 3 course...More

1  Thank emilyhuitson
hollyhutchinson_x, other at Hollathans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Hi Emily, Firstly can I just say I'm sorry that you feel that way Emily. The t&c's for the vouchers are all available on our website. It does say on the voucher that t&c's apply. We also have an a4 sign on the front door...More

Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

We have visited Hollathans on a number of occasions and always found the staff to be friendly and food delicious. Unfortunately miscommunication of staff has ruined that experience for us this evening. We received a £15 off voucher after a visit late last year to...More

1  Thank ditsydorah
hollyhutchinson_x, other at Hollathans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Can I just start by saying thank you for your kind comments regarding your previous visit. The terms and conditions are all on our website. We also have a a4 sign on the door saying please present voucher on arrival so we can explain, like...More

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

I ate here for the first time last weekend. There was a very noisy party sat near us which was off putting and despite ordering drinks downstairs we waited ages for them to be served to our table. That said the food was very tasty...More

Thank kob737
hollyhutchinson_x, other at Hollathans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

May I start by thanking you for your kind comments regarding our food and how sorry I am your visit did not meet your expectations. Can I just ask what date and time it was that you visited?

Reviewed 22 December 2017

Only had a cup of coffee one warm afternoon, coffee was possibly the best in chester-le-street but that’s not saying a great deal, the service was very good, a nice smile, a pleasant experience.

Thank Big4007
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Went with wife for the first time, what a nice surprise tasteful decor helpful staff and food was excellent will be returning

Thank crathie
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Chester-le-Street Hotels
Lumley Castle Hotel
2,277 reviews
1.29 km away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
108 reviews
2.65 km away
The Old Power House
6 reviews
3.03 km away
Holiday Inn Washington
856 reviews
4.01 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Deano's Trattoria
306 reviews
.45 km away
Cookson Spice
284 reviews
.56 km away
Passingtime Cafe
48 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Riverside Park
73 reviews
.26 km away
Church of St Mary and St Cuthbert
22 reviews
.44 km away
Riverside Cricket Ground
33 reviews
.75 km away
Lloyds No 1 - The Wicket Gate
10 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ross F
12 February 2016|
Answer
Response from ShawDurham | Reviewed this property |
Why does that matter? It was early tea time...shouldn't make any difference in the service don't you think?
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Takeout, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6-9 Ashfield Terrace, Chester-le-Street DH3 3PD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Chester-le-Street
  • Phone Number: +44 191 388 0090
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;