We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveller rating
472
86
39
28
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
472
86
39
28
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza pollock truffle tractor ride river cottage car park welcome drink kitchen garden working farm wander around friday night veg garden four courses great evening trailer canapes hill
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived excited we had finally got to the place. arrived with masks, girl looked at us and carried on doing her thing.. in the end i asked if we could sit down. there were only two others in there. she said no and went to...ask someone.. we waited and waited.. in the end i said to my husband come on lets go...I slammed the door on the way out. Wont be going backMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 February 2021

We were so excited about collecting our meal to pick us up from our lockdown blues but were sorely disappointed to say the least. It came in 2 brown paper bags. I eagerly investigated the contents. Firstly a tub with one truffle in and no...lid so the other was rolling around at the bottom of the bag. One bigger and one tiny. The salad was very roughly chopped apple fennel and chilli thrown into a tub looking lacklustre and uncareingly prepared. No dressing so just dry. I would have expected a little container of something to dress it in. The fish cakes were tasty little things and once I had added my own simple dressing of olive oil and lemon juice to the salad made a very pleasant starter. The pork steaks were dry . The sauce was tasty enough but the description tantalising more than the eating experience. The root dauphinois was well cooked and again pleasant to eat but needed a good crack of black pepper or nutmeg maybe to lift it. The cauliflower hard and grey and the sunflower dukkah irrelevant. The greens and peas were hard work not succulent and tender as they should have been. The posset wasn’t the most attractive of things as the rhubarb had leached pink juice. It was very smooth but lacked a burst of lemon flavour that would have been provided by a good grating of zest. I think only juice was added making it merely acidic and rhubarb didn’t add anything and could have been sweeter. We didn’t bother tasting the insultingly pathetic truffles. Shan’t order again. Maybe river cottage is resting on the name now and given up actually delivering what they espouse.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 22 November 2020

We four made the best of it...BUT we all agreed it was a money making machine. Most things incurred additional costs and to pay to see him to sign a book, no way. Once done...never again unless you want to spend £££More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2020

Good evening Jelly09, Thank you for your review, I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. Do you mind emailing myself the date and event you attended so I can find out more details on what was extra and any improvements we could...More

Reviewed 24 October 2020

Went to River Cottage for my wife's retirement gift. The food was excellent and they serve a lovely IPA beer. The staff were also very welcoming and the location is stunning. However, we sat at a table opposite the entrance / exit door which was...constantly in use during the evening (toilet / cigarette breaks) and we were absolutely freezing. If you go, make sure that you wear plenty of layers.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Good morning, thank you for your feedback, I'm so pleased you had a lovely meal. Apologies for the chilly evening our Beautiful barn is used to having 60plus people in which keeps it nice and warm, however with the changes it does make a huge...More

Reviewed 4 October 2020

This was a gift from our Children For our Birthdays last November. Eventually we were able to come and dine at RCHQ. Amazing. The food was plentiful and high quality. Thank you to the chefs Having been to RC canteen many times we didn’t expect...that our expectations would be exceeded by this dinner however they were. We were welcomed and served by happy and helpful members of staff. All in all a truly wonderful evening and experience. We will be back as it’s on our door step Thank you Holly for the lift up the hill. 🤗More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Good Morning Bernard H, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I've made all teams aware of your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. KR Hollie

Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

Lovely location and amazing views. Shame there weren't any pigs or chooks around but I guess it isn't that kind of farm. We did the Summer picnic which had some interesting food and allowed you to sit in around the grounds. Really have a missed...opportunity in not having a gift shop.... Reusable branded bottles and mugs or aprons or tea towels (?!) for example alongside some books as a souvenir of the day could be good items to stock.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Good morning Simplyme4, Thank you for your feedback, next year we are looking forward to welcoming back our Chickens and we have plans of reclaiming our duck pond. The piglets you would have just missed they came to us in October. I'm so glad you...More

Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

As fans of the kitchen in Axminster we thought we would at long last try HQ.The event was a present from our children , so a sizeable layout for students! On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady who offered instruction on how to...find the cottage. The walk down was beautiful, late summer sunshine, gorgeous views across the valley. At the cottage we were offered cider and were told to go kill an hour around the grounds. It was nice for 20 mins to have a quick stroll around the gardens before returning to the courtyard .Several other guests had taken seats in the barn at this point so we followed suit.The chef came out and gave a description of what was to come, canapes were served(our favourite dish) could have eaten loads! followed by four courses.For us,although very nice, the food was not too dissimilar to that of the Kitchen in town, and at £160 plus drinks we were uncertain as to wether it was worth it by comparison.We enjoyed the evening, the staff are great! Think we will continue to visit the kitchen as we prefer the atmosphere and it offers better value by milesMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Good Morning Neial3333, Thank you for your review of our site at HQ, I will certainly pass on your feedback to my staff. It is great to hear you are enjoying our Canteen. We looking forward to welcoming you again soon. KR Hollie

Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

I am extremely saddened to read all the recent negative reviews of wandering Wednesdays at river cottage hq. We visited yesterday as a family of 6 (4 x adults, 1 x 4yr old and 1 x 2yr old,) and had a lovely time. It was...so great to be able to wander about the beautiful surroundings and Gardens at your own pace and look and take everything in. Yes the place was a little run down or over grown in areas but let’s not forget that we have just had a global pandemic! On speaking in passing to a member of staff, the whole grounds and gardens have been looked after and ran throughout the whole of lockdown by one single guy, I think he did a pretty impressive job! Also it’s a working farm/gardens not a fancy TV set or education centre, which clearly some people from the negative reviews were unrealistically expecting. Also to expect Hugh to be there himself is ridiculous.... would have been amazing if he had been, but totally unexpected. We had a brilliant time, my 4yr old and I loved walking around the veggie gardens and seeing what was growing, he particularly enjoyed the wormery and nature pond, while my 2yr old loved watching the pigs digging around and turning over the ground. We all had a lovely pizza, cooked to order in front of us in a pizza oven in the courtyard. For £15 per a person (nothing for the children if you didn’t want to pay for them, although I did pay £15 so they could share a pizza,) you can’t complain. We had a lovely chilled afternoon wandering around the great grounds and had some lovely home made pizza, all the staff we came across were friendly and super helpful - what more can you ask for! I think this place is a great afternoon out if you don’t have unrealistic expectations 😊More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2020

Dear Hazel A, Thank you for your feedback, Im so glad you had a lovely relaxing afternoon with us. I will pass this onto the team who have been working extremley hard in the current climate. KR Hollie x

Reviewed 1 September 2020

The service we received was exellent, very helpful young lady I believe her name was Natasha!? She absolutely did her best to rectify all the mistakes that were made in the kitchen, very poor managing I'd say, completely disorganized a total shambles and waist of...money!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

Dear Rachel, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your visit to HQ did not live up to your expectations - I have passed your gratitude onto Natasha. I would really like to glean some more information regarding your experience, so if you...More

Reviewed 28 August 2020

Having been a fan of River Cottage and an avid cook myself I was very excited about the prospect of visiting River Cottage HQ. As someone who grows vegetables and keeps animals I was also very interested in expanding my knowledge in this area. This...was a huge disappointment and I came away feeling that we had spent a considerable amount of money on a brief afternoon wandering around what appeared to be someone’s once loved garden and farm, now falling sadly into a unkempt and shabby mess. There are a couple of pigs to see and some polytunnels which appeared to be for stoarge of scrap items and some vegetables. Nothing for the kids to do or see. The food was tasty but little choice, please to see the use of recycled materials, although plastic knives and plastic cups were used after I had read an article in the Times where Hugh had condemned it’s increased use during the pandemic. Darts farm and Greendale farm locally offer so much more. Darts farm is winning awards and you can see why. River Cottage rides on the back of its once fame but offers little else in the way of an experience. I think there are better places to visit for free locally, where growers show a real passion for what they do and are keeping up with new and exciting ideas in a world where we going back to the land and revisiting our connection with nature.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

Dear Rout43, Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience - please accept my apologies that it didn't meet your expectations. Should you wish to discuss this further, please email events@rivercottage.net I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that any single use...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kerrington House
188 reviews
2.92 km away
Mariners Hotel
551 reviews
4.66 km away
Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
1,070 reviews
4.99 km away
The Royal Lion Hotel
779 reviews
5.12 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Hind
147 reviews
2.78 km away
Talbot arms
193 reviews
3.11 km away
The Butchers Block
15 reviews
3.32 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lower Bruckland Farm Nature Reserve
21 reviews
2.65 km away
Uplyme Church
25 reviews
3.12 km away
Millers Farm Shop
230 reviews
4.08 km away
Axe Valley Wildlife Park
466 reviews
4.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SharonP1485
2 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from airfish1 | Reviewed this property |
You need to book. They prepare for numbers well in advance.
1
Vote
Jan G
23 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from R2558QIcolinb | Reviewed this property |
I always use a light vegetable oil generally and a good quality olive oil occasionally. Tried rapeseed oil but not over keen on the flavour.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about River Cottage HQ

River Cottage HQ is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5