We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd.

71 Broadway, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 1PE, England
+44 1702 480067
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“jambalaya” (17 reviews)
“whitebait” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
71 Broadway, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 1PE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at the Sand Bar for a coffee as it seemed to be the only place where we could get a seat outside. After looking at the menu we decided to have lunch and opted for a 2 course special at £15.99. I had...More

Thank RaynBrown
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Booked a table with friends Friday evening and enjoyed some excellent seafood including fish kebabs and a prawn starter, coupled with some excellent Gavi di Gavi, we had lovely evening; service was good and non-obtrusive yet attentive enough. My only gripe is the large contingent...More

Thank BobbyDavro27
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

thank you so much for your kind review - can I recommend next time that you ask to eat upstairs in the Restaurant Area - much more comfortable, even me as the owner would not want to eat downstairs on a Friday Night - way...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017

We were really looking forward to eating here as it received such great reviews. However, as lovely as the waiters were, the service was terrible and the food really not great as it had clearly been left which meant it was both overcooked and cold....More

2  Thank Kammy2329
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

thank you for your review - and although a very upsetting one - we have to take it on the chin and worked to find out where we went wrong and improve. Service and how you are looked after is of the utmost importance. I...More

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic! The food was beautiful and the service was brilliant. We was made to feel very welcome, Everyone went out of there way. Very very nice worm and welcoming. First time eating and wont be the last. We are booked in for tonight for dinner....More

Thank jelley1981
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

thank you so so much for such a kind review - wishing you and your family all the very best - Louise

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Popped in here for lunch as they had a great seafood menu. They didn't disappoint- the difficulty was choosing. The food was served promptly everything was fresh and nicely cooked. Looking forward to returning.

Thank pmrunner
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

thank you so much for your kind review - wishing you all the very best and take care Louise

Reviewed 30 June 2017

As another reviewer said, the menu is extensive, perhaps too extensive as choosing is a bit daunting. I had a goats cheese tart for a starter but the accompanying salad was a) too big and b) far too vinegary. My main was the smoked haddock...More

Thank smallworldnow
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

thank you for your review - we take call criticism seriously - wishing you well and take care Louise

Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Very nice restaurant, the atmosphere is cool and relax. The food was nice, we can see the food is homemade due to the quality and freshness of product. A nice seafood restaurant. Also, the homemade ice cream was nice. Thank you.

Thank aurelien90
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

thank you so so much for taking the time to write your review - wising you all the best and take care Louise

Reviewed 16 June 2017

It's an extensive menu, changed my mind a few times before ordering, all starters marked with a star and main marked with a star are £15. There was 7 of us and everyone had something different, the service was good and the food and portion...More

Thank Eileen B
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

thank you so much, we really appreciate the time you took to write your review - wishing you all the very best and take care Louise

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

The whitebait was under seasoned and extremely dry (over cooked). We was hoping to have lobster but they had ran out. The rest was edible but not great, won't be going back.More

Thank Emma P
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

thank you for you review - sorry you found the food disappointing. The wonderful thing about Leigh on sea is the wealth of restaurants, so although you will not be coming back to us, you have some other wonderful places to go. We wish you...More

Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for our wedding anniversary with another couple. We were there for 2.5 hours as the service was incredibly slow. First course was very nice. 2 of us had sea bass for mains. One small piece on loads of pesto mash. Sea...More

Thank Francine W
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

thank you very much for your review. we had 37 booked for lunch and 110 walked through our door for lunch - we were completely buried. We would love more staff in the kitchen, but it is easier said than done. I am so sorry...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Stop The World Cafe
630 reviews
.15 km away
Leigh Bistro
231 reviews
.18 km away
Relish
123 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old Leigh
782 reviews
.59 km away
Chalkwell Park
100 reviews
1.37 km away
Leigh Heritage Centre
41 reviews
.54 km away
Bell Wharf Beach
49 reviews
.76 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pat S
29 July 2016|
Answer
Response from ourword | Property representative |
Good Morning, thank you for your request to see our Menu - we change our menu sometimes three times a week - the best thing to do is to email us direct and we will send you a copy of that day's menu... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 00:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 71 Broadway, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 1PE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 480067
Description
The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. has been apart of the Leigh Community for 15 years. We're a family run Restaurant with a love of Seafood. Everyday we learn some new, even after all these years, but we always have the ultimate aim of improving ourselves. We are Doggy friendly, and your pooch is welcome in our Downstairs Bar & Restaurant Area.We have a Wedding Licence and have held many weddings here. We have an upstairs Restaurant, which is used for many kinds of special occasions, Birthdays, Funerals, Business dinners, Company Events, Charities evenings, Film nights, Fashion Shows, Plays, Cooking Classes,Dance Classes & many other events. We haven't had a Doggy Fashion Show yet, but give us time!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing