We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Jolly Fisherman Pub

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Haven Hill, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TR, England
+44 1665 576461
Website
Today
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 15:00
19:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,601 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,593: English reviews
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

My friend had been here previously and recommended it. We weren't disappointed; we both had delicious meals. It was busy, but service was good.

Helpful?
Thank kaassouffle
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a lovely drive up to Craster from Newcastle 2days ago,on a bright end of February day. The intention was a pleasant drive followed by the lure of a crab sandwich lunch at " The Jolly Fisherman", a local harbour side pub we have visited many times in the past. The sea views from the pub are exceptional, it's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amnesiacpair
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Please note - this rating does not reflect the quality of the food and drink we enjoyed at this restaurant. So......after a lovely morning exploring the Northumberland coastline, we decided to call at this place having never eaten there before. The building is immaculate although parking can be a challenge and the interior decor works well with the backdrop of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AVoiceofExperience
Atherton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fantastic seafood. I had the fishernan's board which was crammed with seafood. Delicious. Would recommend

Helpful?
Thank PhilO1312
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my first visit although my wife had already been. It's worth a trip after a walk to Dunstanburgh. It's in a great location overlooking the harbour. It's busy and you can't book tables but we got there about 1:30 and it was quietening down for tables. There is a good range of seafood and the fish cakes looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
Ryton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

No problem choosing a lunchtime meal, we like fresh fish. But, table was left with a previous customers spills, disappointed as waitress was cleaning other tables near. Food arrived and looked good, and was tasty but very small portions not worth 25.00 for one Jolly plater and one salmon fish cakes which looked like a cheap potatoe croquet and chips,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank alexelder44
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We called in on a lunchtime, it was very busy but just managed to get a seat, we both had crab sandwich which was tasty but at £7.95 a little pricey, only seemed to be one member of staff on bar and one serving food even though it was busy the staff were pleasant

Helpful?
Thank fio474
david_whitehead8, Owner at The Jolly Fisherman Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for liking the pub. Sorry if it was little expensive but we use the best crab meat available and this is a normal price in the area. You can get cheaper elsewhere but it's normal poor quality and probably tinned. We hope you do return. More 

Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have visited this pub for years after a walk in Craster Village. Have to say £28 for four slices of bread one with prawns in, and brown crab meat in another, a bowl of chips (of which most were just bits of potatoes, not chips), tiny amount of coleslaw and six crisps each - yes I counted mine, is an... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank judy2504033
david_whitehead8, Owner at The Jolly Fisherman Pub, responded to this review

Hello Judy2504033 I'm really pleased you liked our pub, but a little confused over the price?? Beef dropping chips £2.95 , £6.50 for North Sea Prawn sandwich with crisps and coleslaw and Crab Sandwich £7.95 which is NOT just brown crab as it's a recipe that's been with us for over 15 years and is the reason why we are... More 

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Last week, (1st Feb) me and my partner went for a meal, it was around 7pm and with it being midweek we were surprised at how busy it was. We were lucky enough to get the last table in the restaurant. Although the restaurant was full there only seemed to be one member of staff serving the whole place. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craggsy118
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Very odd. Just returned from the Jolly Fisherman and although the food was very nice the service, or rather lack of it, has left a bitter taste. The waitor delivered the food and asked if anything else was required. I asked for a glass of water to take some pain killers and the waitor said no! He told me to... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank ONLYTHEBEST4US
david_whitehead8, Owner at The Jolly Fisherman Pub, responded to this review

Hello We have had telephone contact regarding what happen and we agreed that it was unacceptable. You advised that you would not post on social media as we had contacted you direct and rectified the problem ???!!! More 

Travellers who viewed The Jolly Fisherman Pub also viewed

 
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Embleton, Alnwick
 

Been to The Jolly Fisherman Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
19:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Haven Hill, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick  >  Craster
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 576461

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Jolly Fisherman Pub and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Jolly Fisherman Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?