We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cliffhanger Cafe

Waterford Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 5JA, England
+44 1425 278058
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good31%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (15 reviews)
“burger” (28 reviews)
Opens in 11 min
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Waterford Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 5JA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bland, flat, simply no flavour and very expensive below average cafe! Well, it's actually a restaurant and not simply a cafe. We are by the sea, in a very nice spot, and you would expect some good and tasty fresh fish that can justify the...More

1  Thank Alex L
HighcliffeDorset, Director of Sales at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review From your trip advisor report I can only assume that you didn’t speak to a member of the Cliffhanger team or a duty manager. As if this had been discussed at the time of eating we would have made sure...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a delightful breakfast looking out to sea and the Isle of Wight in one direction and the Swanage peninsula in the other. Great breakfast with many choices but service a little slowMore

Thank BrianCBeck
HighcliffeDorset, General Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review glad to hear that you enjoyed the sea view as we think we have one of the best views on the coast, its great to hear that you had such a delightful breakfast and enjoyed the vast choice of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely view shame about the food. I visited last year when the food quality and service was good. Return visit. V disappointed. Ordered 2 fish and chips and one fish cakes. Asked for one chips to be sweet potatoe.The fried fish was small and had...More

1  Thank debbienanecarpenter
HighcliffeDorset, Director of Sales at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Apologies that your experience at Cliffhanger was not a good one. All our food is locally sourced and cooked fresh to order. We can adjust the batter and I’m sorry that this wasn’t done for you. We take any complaint...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We belong to a dog walking group and frequently patronise this cafe in large groups both for drinks and lunches. Sunday 19 August we walked from the Cliffhanger to Mudeford Bay for lunch - then back again. Exhausted and facing an hour's drive home, we...More

1  Thank HelenHatton
HighcliffeDorset, General Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, its ashame that we scored such a low score as you had mentioned you had previously been in for lunch and drinks and I can only assume as you have returned you enjoyed your previous visits? With regards to the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited the Cliffhanger on numerous times for drinks /cakes etc thought we would try the evening meals. We were not disappointed. Started with soup -delicious. Mains consisted of haddock and chips and seabass with veg and potatoes. Both main courses were well presented and...More

Thank Barb G
HighcliffeDorset, General Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 4 start review, just wished we had scored a 5 star review hopefully on your next visit, its fantasic to hear that you really enjoyed not just the view, but the service and food as the team work very hard to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Generally a friendly venue, service quick and attentive, but was spoilt by young male service provider who upon ordering a cream tea delivered scones jam and cream, when asked about butter stated it didn't come with butter. Questioned this and he was adamant. We consumed...More

1  Thank garyofhighcliffe88
HighcliffeDorset, General Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review im pleased to hear you normally receive friendly service along with being attentive and quick, just ashame to see that we only received 3 stars due to a issue regarding butter ith the sconces Our afternoon cream, tea is normally...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'll keep it simple cold toast , over cooked bacon Luke warm coffee ,no butter and a microwaved scone washed down with a £40 bill I'd expected better did not deliverMore

1  Thank Banco B
HighcliffeDorset, General Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review,i hope that you come along again, but please note that if you are unhappy please bring this to the managers attention and we would do our best to resolve the issue, as you can imagine we serve 100's of customers...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve lived on and off in Friars Cliff (nearby) for 46 years. 26 as an adult - never been in. So on a random walk we decided to grab a coffee and enjoy the the sunshine outside on the cliff with the brilliant views of...More

1  Thank LeonBrannan
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Wife and I went here when we thought it quiet, but as soon as the coaches come you got to que for ages to get your food, there wasn't much of that, only good on holidays trippers.

Thank Roger T
HighcliffeDorset, General Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review not sure when you arrived with the coach parties?? but hopefully you will pop in again and try our menu as we have lost of interesting dishes

Reviewed 22 August 2018

Had lunch there recently with family. Food is good, as is the service, and prices are reasonable. Easy parking but you have to pay. Good for families with children.More

Thank Ian F
HighcliffeDorset, General Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 4 star review great to hear that you thought the food and service was good, as you can imagine this is our peak time of the year and really appreciate the positive feedback, Its fantastic to hear that we really cater...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The White House - Christchurch
66 reviews
.51 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch Highcliffe
900 reviews
.68 km away
Lord Bute Hotel
459 reviews
1.06 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
2,222 reviews
1.25 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Paddle
317 reviews
.45 km away
The Walkford
246 reviews
1.36 km away
Lord Bute Restaurant
443 reviews
1.05 km away
Walkford Diner
21 reviews
1.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Highcliffe Beach
310 reviews
.31 km away
Highcliffe Castle
539 reviews
1.34 km away
Chewton Glen Spa
143 reviews
1.30 km away
Sugarpod Beauty
9 reviews
.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
LindawhebbSymmons
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jov1611 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Linda, they have a variety of options for lunch including Fish & chips, Steak, burgers, chicken, salads, pie, mac 'n cheese, sandwiches, jacket potatoes etc. They also have gluten free menu and a 2 for £15 menu. If you... More
0
Votes
LindawhebbSymmons
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Denis C | Reviewed this property |
You will have to contact them direct I don't work there
0
Votes
Russ_S6
6 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Nick G | Reviewed this property |
They do allow dogs but only in one small area over by the back door away from the car park and there are only a couple of tables there. Plus you'll have to walk round the outside of the place from the car park to get to the... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Waterford Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 5JA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch  >  Highcliffe
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 278058
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing