We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
BEST BEER GARDEN IN SOUTH AUSTRALIA (QANTAS TRAVEL) Set amongst the rolling Adelaide Hills & only 20 minutes from the CBD, The Bridgewater Inn is a popular destination for tourists. Famous for its stunning multi level beer garden, hearty meals & wide range of local wines. Located on the scenic Heysen Trail, it is a popular resting spot for walkers. It has charming views overlooking Cox Creek, and it's open fires provide a welcoming feel. It's a great spot for families to catch up for a long, lazy lunch. With cosy open fires blazing in winter and the shady vine covered pergola by the creek in summer, the Bridgewater Inn is a venue for all seasons.
PRICE RANGE
AU$6 - AU$44
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Grill, Pub, Bar, Australian
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Dog Friendly, Family style, Sports bars, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (188)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
84
57
19
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
84
57
19
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak lambs fry surf and turf ice cream beer garden the vine outdoor dining creek flowing service was prompt cooked to perfection lovely lunch creek side covered pergola south australia booked a table pub
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Dined here with my wife and our daughter and her husband recently. It was a beautiful day and we sat outside in the delightful garden setting by the creek. All of the food was great and the prices reasonable. My wife is a 'chip" connoisseur...and reckoned that those that accompanied her seafood meal were up with the best she has had--we all agreed. I had a curry special of the day which was really tasteful, and the serve was a good size. The service we received from all we dealt with was outstanding and in particular a young man named Oscar went out of his way to make the lunch really delightful--we ll done Oscar you are a legend.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024

Upon arrival, we noticed many meals were unfinished on the tables. I asked our waitress if the schnitzels were made in house. She had no idea. She had to go and ask the chef. Apparently they are brought in. You would think at $30 a...schnitzel they would be crumbed in house. Unbelievable, absolute robbery!! Secondly we sat in the cellar where you are supposed to get table service. I had to get up 3 times to get there attention. Not good enough!! Thirdly, we ordered the garlic bread for entree. When we saw it, we were flabbergasted!! It was the same garlic bread you get at a pizza shop. If I wanted this kind of garlic bread, I would just order a pizza with garlic bread. We couldn’t believe it. Utterly unacceptable!! Fourthly, the chips that come with the pork ribs were burnt, hard, dry and tasteless. The pork ribs were edible. I ordered the gnocchi which was definitely not made by an Italian. It was over-cooked & no love given into the meal. It was our 1st year wedding anniversary and it was supposed to be a special occasion. We left really disappointed. First time eating here and the very last!! Never again!!!!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2023

We've eaten here several times with family and always enjoyed ourselves but this time met friends from the other side of town. The Bridgewater Inn truly excelled itself this time. We were greeted by a friendly young staff member who showed us to our seat...in the Cellar Restaurant. So often we ask for a quiet location and are ignored but we were seated in a quiet nook for which the hearing impaired were very grateful. All subsequent staff members were courteous and professional and made this dining experience great. We chose our meals from the Christmas Seniors Menu which was very reasonably priced. Meals were large, hot and very tasty. Well done Bridgewater Inn. We'll be backMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie Hodby, Owner at The Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Thank you Christine for your review. So good to read how well you were looked after and how much you enjoyed your experience at the Bridgewater Inn. We have a lot of little quiet spots as well as room for the larger groups. We look...More

Reviewed 28 November 2023 via mobile

VERY Disappointed. It does not live up to the website in either food quality or atmosphere. So many other options close by.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie Hodby, Owner at The Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

We appreciate you taking the time to review us. Your review is at odds with most feedback from our extremely happy clients and does not actually give enough information for us to use your feedback constructively. Sad to see you take your business elsewhere.

Reviewed 13 November 2023

I really have no words for how bad the food is. I had the fattoush salad. it was just a basic bland toss salad with what appeared to be deep fried pieces of flat bread which were absolutely pointless and did nothing for the dish....flat bread was misleading as they may as well have just grabbed a packet of crackers and chucked them in the salad. these pointless crackers made the salad very difficult to get on the fork and the dressing was bland. the menu is really poor in catering to vegetarians. It would seem that the chef has absolutely no idea how to make vegetarian food taste delicious, which isn't hard at all. the salt and pepper squid is rubbish, wedges not great. vegetable side dish was as bland as you could imagine. I could go on and on about how terrible the food is but you get the idea. the only reason this place is popular is because of the location. definitely not for the food.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie Hodby, Owner at The Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

We are so sorry that this was your experience with us. We have now removed the Fattoush Salad from our menu and thank you for taking the time to review. We have always had positive feedback on our salt and pepper squid and are consistently...More

Reviewed 24 September 2023

I don’t write negative reviews but WOW were we disappointed! We had to line up for 20 minutes each time to order anything - they couldn’t organise to bring drinks out with our meal and had zero ability to answer questions about the menu or...adjust items. Tried to swap tomatoes for a salad on the almost $50 steak and was told no - it came with salad . . . So poorly staffed and managed, they had no idea what we had ordered or where to deliver it - Uncomfortable/out dated seating and food arrived lukewarm at best and very much over priced - decent pubgrub nothing more. Too many patrons for staff or kitchen to handle - would give this a miss and go elsewhere in the hills!!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie Hodby, Owner at The Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review. Your experience sounds less than average and very unlike what we would normally offer our visitors as per other reviews on Google etc. We will take this feedback on board and look at the...More

Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

Had a Saturday night dinner as 2 couples in the downstairs restaurant. Meals were all served in good time and were good sized. Each meal was tasty and presented well. Kendal - who looked after us was a standout !

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie Hodby, Owner at The Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Hello and thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. We totally agree that Kendall is a standout and not sure what we would do without her. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 10 July 2023

Our first experience at this hotel. Great service, great food, value priced meals and good quality. Excellent service from very friendly staff. My wife and I will be returning to this hotel many times in the future.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie Hodby, Owner at The Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2023

Hello and thank you for your wonderful feedback. We love to see that our customers are happy and intending to return.

Reviewed 5 July 2023 via mobile

Great food, attentive staff, lovely atmosphere inside and out. The food is quality pub fare with a choice of upstairs seating near the bar, downstairs in the restaurant/ cellar (with a fireplace and lots of little nooks for more private dining), or out on the...terrace overlooking the stream and the Mill. We couldn’t fault the Bridgewater Inn, and the bonus of an excellent playground next door kept the kids motivated to finish their lunch!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie Hodby, Owner at The Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2023

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We love to hear that our customers have enjoyed themselves. The Bridgewater local playground is definitely a bonus for the little ones. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 14 June 2023

11 of us from my lamb's fry club had lamb's fry at the hotel - we all gave it 10/10 for our lunch. Some had the single meal ($18) some had the $25 meal which included dessert and coffee. Great atmosphere

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie Hodby, Owner at The Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Fantastic to read this wonderful feedback for our Lamb's Fry. We appreciate your complimentary review and hope to see you back again soon. :-)

Reviewed 2 January 2023 via mobile

If your gonna change over $14 of ice cream I would have thought it would have been a lot better then a kids ice cream, I would suggest to change and make it to have better presentation.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2022

We have been lunching regularly at this hotel for many years to catch up with friends and on the whole the food has been acceptable, until our last lunch last week. I had a beef schnitzel which was very thick, it curled up like an...overcooked chop and was riddled with grissel, was smothered in cooking oil and had definitely not been tenderised. The chips were far too salty and the salad was limp. My friends, who also had chips, complained of being too salty and my partner had too many small bones in her fish. The Manger tried to "soft talk" me by offering another meal, saying that the beef schnitzel was one of their most popular dishes and that was the way people liked it Disapointing and will most likely have us look elsewhere for our future monthly lunchesMore

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2022

We recently enjoyed lunch at The Bridgewater Inn. Its easy to access from Adelaide- about half an hours drive. There is plenty of parking. Its a really nice building-typical of many in South Australia. The staff were very nice and friendly. We had booked a...table and when we discovered it was close to the bar, our request for a quieter area was understood and a different table found quickly and with no fuss. The food was really good and service was prompt despite it being a busy time.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2022 via mobile

Fantastic location and even better when the sun is shining. It’s been well over a decade since I’ve been here and it was better than l remember. A few cold beers out in the beer garden with the creek flowing nicely. It was quite busy...for an early Tuesday afternoon tho the meals came out quickly and hot n fresh. I ordered the Tandoori Garfish skewer’s which were light, tasty and fresh. My father and l had had a really nice couple of hours and thank you to all the happy, helpful staff.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2022

We stopped in for lunch on the way to a weekend at the river, as we had heard good reviews of the place. It lived up to them! The service was so friendly from the moment we walked in, and the meals came out very...quickly and they were hot and tasty. We both agreed the chips were some of the best we have had with a pub meal, delicious and crunchy! We will be back to try more of the menu and enjoy the atmosphere, was nice and toasty inside by the fire on a cold winters day.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Discovery Parks - Hahndorf
407 reviews
4.19 km away
Sequoia
134 reviews
4.94 km away
Mount Lofty House & Estate Adelaide Hills
1,113 reviews
5.01 km away
The Stables Boutique Motel
91 reviews
5.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bridgewater Mill
224 reviews
.09 km away
The Grocer
5 reviews
.26 km away
The Little Cog
7 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aldgate Valley Nature Walk
6 reviews
1.36 km away
Sticky Rice Cooking School
67 reviews
2.60 km away
Piccadilly Trail
11 reviews
3.58 km away
Warrawong Wildlife Sanctuary
114 reviews
3.60 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lesley E
2 August 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Sally113 | Reviewed this property |
No lift only stairs to the upper level Lesley.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BRIDGEWATER INN - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bridgewater Inn

Yes, The Bridgewater Inn offers takeaway services.

The Bridgewater Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4