We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lock Keeper

Pilkington Way, Radcliffe, Bury, England
+44 161 723 3502
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good14%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible40%
Travellers talk about
“ice cream” (3 reviews)
“fuzzy eds” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pilkington Way, Radcliffe, Bury, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This was the worst pub food we have ever had. They had no baked potatoes, no veggie gravy for veggie sausages and mash, my fish cake was burnt and served in a dog bowl, no mac and cheese, ordering the food was excruciatingly slow. Will...More

Thank Karl L
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited this place with my family yesterday. At 8.30 in the evening my son visited the bathroom and was locked in by a member of staff. She also locked a fire exit. My son suffers from claustrophobia. She was unbelievably rude to my son...More

Thank Ange2608
General Manager A, Manager at The Lock Keeper, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi I have tried to contact yourself via phone and I today also emailed via head office again apologies for your unsatisfactory visit with ourselves If would like to contact us to discuss further please do so.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pleasantly surprised as heard a lot of bad press about this place but it had a play area indoors for kids which was vital as it was raining and they are NOT my children! It was not busy at 3pm on Sunday. Staff were friendly....More

Thank Camperslastlunch
General Manager A, Manager at The Lock Keeper, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review, we are very glad to hear about your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Its a pub? Yes it is but it's pub with good kitchen that know what they cooking. Every time I eat here never can finish as plates are so big. Definitely come hungry and you can be sure you won't be disappointed

Thank p3t3r85
General Manager A, Manager at The Lock Keeper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Peter, thank you so much for the positive review! As we always say, we like to feed you full - we don't scrimp with our portions! We hope to see you soon, have a wonderful day!

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Before I start my review on here I did contact the pub on their Facebook page, apparently they're very responsive to messages yet over a week has passed and no reply or apology. Previously I was there in May and this time ordered the same...More

Thank Natsmu
General Manager A, Manager at The Lock Keeper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We're so, so sorry you had this experience here - usually we're able to tell the customer beforehand if there is a shortage of food and we can offer you a different choice at the till. If you'd like to get in touch and give...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Last time I ate here was when it first opened,the service and food as gone down hill. Bad staff management,cold andlong wait for food. The girl who served me smelt of cigarettes, rudely changed tills because another waiting on staff had started to take another...More

Thank Wendi H
General Manager A, Manager at The Lock Keeper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Wendi, we're sorry you had this experience here. We were in between managers at the time of your visit which had lead to some instability within the business, but we are back on track now and would like to invite you back so you...More

Reviewed 3 July 2017

Lock keep is very Modern has changed menu stil very good food wakey warehouse inside for kids to play outside eating and seating looking over river very well priced brill for all family friends couples business and good night and day for drink and solo

Thank jimlinda28
General Manager A, Manager at The Lock Keeper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the kind words! we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 21 June 2017

we went for lunch, i asked a member of staff if there were gluten free options, she wasn't sure which they were so i had to plough through pages of meals with symbols against them! this should already be done to the n menu. they...More

Thank Clive G
General Manager A, Manager at The Lock Keeper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, Clive! At the time of your visit we had only just changed the menu and unfortunately had not memories all of the allergens guide - I promise on your next visit we'll be able to quickly tell you the gluten free options!

Reviewed 13 June 2017

took the grand kids there for a meal the food was crap we will not go there again the staff was ok the food not so good find some where else to eat you will feel better for it

Thank Derrick W
General Manager A, Manager at The Lock Keeper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, Derrick, we're sorry you didn't have a good experience here! :(

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Was looking at our options for a dash out. Looked at TGI Friday and Solitas. But we fancied something more than a burger. Food took 15-20 mins and was really well presented. Great staff and food.

Thank Stephen B
General Manager A, Manager at The Lock Keeper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Hi Stephen. Thank you for your positive feedback. I will feed your comments back to my team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Armaan, Exquisite Indian Cuisine
920 reviews
.10 km away
Tulip Thai Cafe
46 reviews
.19 km away
Italia Mia
109 reviews
.98 km away
the cafe
16 reviews
1.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Funtastic Play Centre
7 reviews
.20 km away
Whitefield Garrick Theatre
61 reviews
1.87 km away
Bridge Tavern, Radcliffe
7 reviews
.11 km away
The Parkfield Inn
47 reviews
2.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
debbiedoodaah
30 July 2017|
Answer
Response from baz1960 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry no idea.
0
Votes
53phyll
9 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Estima965 | Reviewed this property |
???????? Like the other answer, WHY have you sent me this ?
0
Votes
terenceball60
26 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from meggiez01 | Reviewed this property |
Graham McCulloch.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pilkington Way, Radcliffe, Bury, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bury  >  Radcliffe
  • Phone Number: +44 161 723 3502
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing