We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shard Riverside

Old Bridge Lane | Hambleton, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“cassoulet” (5 reviews)
“mussels” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Old Bridge Lane | Hambleton, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We called here for a light lunch mid Sunday afternoon. It was quite busy and we sat outside watching the boats and jet skis on the river. It was a hot sunny day and we also saw in the distance the Red Arrows performing at...More

Thank OldBear
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here over this bank holiday, a small group of us ordered various dishes- great comments about the beef suet pudding, not so much praise for the chicken Kiev. I myself had the farmers platter, can't complain about the food or the setting but somehow...More

Thank Snowwhite998
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called for lunch, the restaurant was okay, apart from all the dead flies over all the window bottoms next to the tables ( a bit off putting) however the staff were delightful, we ordered the muscles and it/s a good job we had a double...More

Thank cbb49
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had contacted beforehand to check that there were vegan options and told that thre were two items on the menu that fit this description one of these was the buttenut squash risotto which my daughter ordered when it came and was tasted it was...More

Thank Sue565
tracey l, Front Office Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I have spoken to all staff concerned in this matter from the person who took the phone call concerning vegan dishes You were advised that the risotto could be made vegan but you would need to make it known at the time the order was...More

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I went with my family and was really disappointed . We were first put on a table which was not set up and was still showing signs of previous customer. We then moved but seemed to wait ages before ordering in fact 30 minutes yo...More

2  Thank Louise C
tracey l, Front Office Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments,it is rather difficult when we are busy on a Sunday and people are wanting tables straight away. We apologise for certain dishes being sold out ,this does happen on occasions as all our food is freshly prepared and cooked to...More

Reviewed 20 July 2017

The menu is very good, not too long but there are plenty of options. I had salmon which was very good and there are vegetarian options as well. Service was good too.

Thank Howie922
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you for your review short but sweet,we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Went to the Shard Riverside inn for date night, as a special treat. And It was very special indeed, the atmosphere was relaxed, the view was beautiful (we had a window seat), the food was clean, with layers of flavour, you could tell that fresh...More

Thank Andy M
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review.We appear to have ticked all the boxes on your visit.We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Having eaten well here before, we visited on a sunny lunchtime to find that the staff were overwhelmed by people visiting on a sunny day! What did they expect? Do they not look at a weather forecast? People turned up and left again without stopping...More

Thank Sally S
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

We apologise for your delay on your food.We are a very popular destination on a sunny day because of our beautiful location.

Reviewed 9 July 2017

Peak Saturday and no food in the afternoon. Looked in to the kitchen and the floor was strewn with paper that looked like toilet paper. Don't know what it was. Didn't look clean.

Thank JANETDENISE
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Yes we were extremely busy on this Saturday so the chef made the decision to close the kitchen for 2 hours .All our food is freshly prepared so the chef wanted to be consistent with the food quality.

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Just out for the afternoon and dropped in at the Shard for a lite bite. We shared the corned beef platter and the chicken and chorizo focachia very tasty. Dined outside in the sun with a little lubrication, (Bowland Hen Harrier) taking in the lovely...More

Thank Tom B
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you Tom for taking time to review us.We are so glad you had a lovely afternoon in the sun with nice food,nice drinks and nice company.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Shovels Inn
92 reviews
1.25 km away
The River Wyre
564 reviews
1.56 km away
Ryecroft Hall
98 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Pork Shop
106 reviews
2.85 km away
Glasform
57 reviews
2.96 km away
Moor Park Swimming Pool
14 reviews
5.34 km away
North Blackpool Pond Trail
9 reviews
5.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Alex C
9 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from kazjee | Reviewed this property |
Hi we attended with our daughter whom is older, but yes no problem. let them know when you book. Very accommodating. 0 seconds ago
1
Vote
cstsruletheworld
29 October 2015|
Answer
Response from tracey l | Property representative |
Hi yes we do have facilities and the pub and restaurant can accommodate motorized wheelchairs .We do have a number of regular customers in wheelchairs who enjoy our venue .We look forward to seeing you soon .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Validated Parking
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Bridge Lane | Hambleton, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Poulton Le Fylde
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing