We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Exchange

Gloucester Road, Hartpury, Gloucester GL19 3BW, England
+44 1452 700273
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“treacle tart” (3 reviews)
“faggots” (4 reviews)
“burger” (17 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Gloucester Road, Hartpury, Gloucester GL19 3BW, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on the evening of 5th September 2017 with 4 friends and enjoyed fantastic food. The service was exemplary, very attentive but not obtrusive. Lovely warm atmosphere.More

Thank David B
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello David and thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent visit. We have passed on your kind comments to the team who will be very pleased to read them. Our Autumn menu launches at the end...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's some time since we visited this pub and given good reports from friends we booked for lunch on a Friday. Just as well as the 4 of us were he last booking available. Attentive service good choice of beers we settled for the sharing...More

Thank ColinoftheShire
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Colin and thank you for your wonderful review. We have to say we don't think you can beat eating one of our seafood platters whilst you take in the view alfresco but as the days draw in, hopefully you'll give us a try and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited last night, a table of six of us and as usual had a fabulous time. An immaculately well kept Cotswold feel pub with restaurant. Local produce features highly in the menu and there was a vegan option which was great. Service, decor, atmosphere...More

Thank Harriet_Bines
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Harriet, what a lovely review! Thank you for having dinner with us and it’s very nice to read that literally everything was great for all of you. Well spotted with the vegan dish too – a permanent feature on our menus now. Hopefully we’ll...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took four friends for lunch and they were impressed with the setting and it was warm enough to sit outside to enjoy it. Varied lunch menu which suited everyone.

Thank Isobel F
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Isobel. Thank you for your short but very sweet review. It won't be long till we have our log fires on to keep all our diners cosy! Please do pop in for lunch again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I regularly travel from Devon to Gloucester/ Cheltenham. I now time my meetings to visit the Royal Exchange for lunch. The specials board has some unusual offerings. Last week it was battered pork - wonderful!! the batter just melted on the toungue. Bed of light...More

Thank chiptibbs
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for a cracking 5-star review! We love how you’ve rearranged work to accommodate a pub lunch!! Glad to hear that we always have something on our menu that catches your eye and it’s always thoroughly enjoyed. We’ll keep an eye out...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017

We visited this for lunch and we were all extremely disappointed. The food was poor, with some items inedible. The portions were small but this was probably an advantage as more would have been unacceptable! Chips were soggy and fish batter horrible. We shall certainly...More

1  Thank Jan M
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Jan. We would like to thank you for your feedback which we were quite shocked to read. We pride ourselves on our fresh, seasonal, locally sourced food and I’m disappointed if our quality was lacking when you visited so please do accept my apologies....More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

My son and his wife were back from Australia to celebrate there anniversary this was a last meal out with 16 family and friends before returning next day we booked our food order in advance as required and timed 7-15 to eat Our meals all...More

Thank _valpbailey
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your fantastic review. It is great to hear that your group booking was excellent and everyone enjoyed their meals, along with the service. Thank you Stephen & Maggie for the recommendation too 😊

Reviewed 1 August 2017

We dropped into this pub on a week night only to find they were very busy and booked out. The management kindly squeezed us in and we couldn't have been more delighted. The service, staff, food and atmosphere were all superb. We ate inside as...More

Thank MarieK2.
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful 5-star review! It is so nice to read that everything was perfect for you and you were so well looked after when you visited us. If you’re in the area again (visiting from Perth?!) please do pop in and see...More

Reviewed 28 July 2017

the fresh fish dish was a really enjoyable meal, 1st impression of the meal was very cook. the meal was cooked to a good standard. sorry will be missing the fish night at the weekend, will certainly revisit, hopefully on a seafood special night.

Thank Jan R
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Jan and thank you for your lovely review. If seafood is your thing then the last Saturday of every month (Seafood Saturday) is definitely one for you! But do book a table as we get very busy. We look forward to welcoming you.

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely food .A menu to suit eveyone.Meat, fish,specials etc.Welcoming friendly staff and great service. Ten minutes out of Gloucester on main road with beautiful views of the countryside.More

Thank Jane P
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Jane and thanks for the great review. We're sorry it's taken a little while to reply. We do try and keep our menu varied, fresh and seasonal with a little something for everyone! Our Autumn menu will be launching soon so do come back...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Farmers Arms
70 reviews
4.58 km away
The Red Lion
197 reviews
4.93 km away
Hawbridge Inn
119 reviews
5.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nature in Art
178 reviews
4.61 km away
Gloucester Cathedral
2,555 reviews
6.92 km away
Holy Innocents Church
11 reviews
5.59 km away
Kingsholm Stadium
119 reviews
6.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
3 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ShellyChamberlayne77 | Property representative |
Dogs are welcome in the bar area
0
Votes
Martin M
3 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lovetoeat4242 | Reviewed this property |
Should read with prior notice.. Give them a call...
1
Vote
Lovetoeat4242
25 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ShellyChamberlayne77 | Property representative |
“Hi Mark – many thanks for your comments. We’re just in the process of changing our menu ready for Spring, and Chef has already planned to include some pasta dishes on the lunchtime menu plus a welcome return for our seafood... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gloucester Road, Hartpury, Gloucester GL19 3BW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Gloucester  >  Hartpury
  • Phone Number: +44 1452 700273
  • E-mail
Description
Country pub serving real ale, cider and perry. Home cooked, local, seasonal food. Large beer garden, terrace and covered deck with views over the Malverns.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing