We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Durban Grill

Weybourne, Holt, England
+44 7799 686267
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent100%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“wild boar” (2 reviews)
“street food” (2 reviews)
“amazing food” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
African, Street Food
Weybourne, Holt, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Found theses guys a few times at different events and the food was great and so different compared to what you can normally get in Norwich. We then got them to do the catering for our wedding, the service was amazing. The two of them...More

Thank Ashmore32
TheDurbanGrill, Owner at The Durban Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks guys! We had a great time catering for your special day. Such a lovely setting and nice people to work for. If you ever renew your vowels then you know where to find us ;)

Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Messaged in advance and pleasantly surprised to hear they could cater for gluten free. We weren’t let down. Yummy unusual food choices but with enough of a traditional element to tempt even fussy eaters. Everyone we knew who ate from there raved about the fresh...More

Thank Glutenfreefam
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Got some food from here when we visited a wedding show. It was so tasty and filling and the staff really knew their stuff about South African food! Definitely worth a try if you can!More

Thank Pete M
TheDurbanGrill, Owner at The Durban Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hi Pete! Thanks for dropping by our stall at The Dunston Hall Wedding Show. If I remember correct it was the Crocodile and Mango Curry that you tried? Its a lovely dish full of flavour! Its nice to have the sweetness in the curry! You...More

Reviewed 30 September 2017

The food looks good, but I only had coffee. Today we had an espresso and a flat white. Both were excellent, so they're using quality beans and are proper baristas. I'm reviewing because it's rare to find a street food van where they care about...More

Thank David C
TheDurbanGrill, Owner at The Durban Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hi David, Thank you so much for your kind words. Clare and myself were working that day. We have both had various Barista Training including spending 5 days on a course over in Bologna, Italy. We have both taken part in the UK Barista Skills...More

Reviewed 24 May 2017

Great choice of varied food was on offer, host and hostess are welcoming and helpful. Great food, good prices and even bagged some of their Ikhofi Durban roasted beans which were also ace!

Thank Darren E
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Amazing food from buffalo burgers to ostrich steaks, chakalaka to wild boar hot dogs and lots more. They also do premium coffee and awesome hot chocolate served by award winning baristas. Great team running the durban grill and I think they will be in high...More

Thank bigdave350
TheDurbanGrill, Owner at The Durban Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thanks for your kind words Dave. We are very different from the usual Fish and Chip or Pizza vans! With so many of them about, serving fantastic food, we thought we would try something different. The Durban Grill

Reviewed 1 March 2017

Tried some some food from the Durban Grill at an event last year in Norfolk, opted for Ostrich meat with pap and (if I remember rightly) creamed spinach. It was really good food and no more expensive than the other food stalls that were there....More

Thank Dan J
TheDurbanGrill, Owner at The Durban Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Many thanks for your kind words Dan. Pleased that you enjoyed your Ostrich with Creamed Spinach! Next time you visit make sure you try one of our Coffee's made from our signature blend, 'Ikhofi Durban'! The Durban Grill

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Amazing food and awesome staff I recommend the crocodile bunny chow And wild boar hot dogs Plus the owners mum is hotMore

Thank bigmikezilla420
TheDurbanGrill, Owner at The Durban Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you for your kind words! We aim to provide the best in South African Cuisine and are glad that you enjoyed our Crocodile and Mango Bunnychow. As a thank you for being the first review on TripAdvisor we would like to offer you a...More

Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Maltings Hotel
63 reviews
.23 km away
The Pheasant Hotel
775 reviews
1.37 km away
The Dales Country House Hotel
590 reviews
3.16 km away
The Lawns Hotel
258 reviews
5.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Ship Inn
590 reviews
.12 km away
The Pheasant Restaurant
119 reviews
1.37 km away
The Village Store
83 reviews
.15 km away
28 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Muckleburgh Military Collection
447 reviews
.76 km away
North Norfolk Railway
1,457 reviews
4.49 km away
Sheringham Park
656 reviews
4.18 km away
The Mo, Sheringham Museum
185 reviews
4.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle H
29 May 2017|
Response from TheDurbanGrill | Property representative |
Hi Michelle, it all depends on the event. There should be a list of events and times on our social media pages :)
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 10
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Weybourne, Holt, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Holt  >  Weybourne
  • Phone Number: +44 7799 686267
  • E-mail
The Durban Grill is a mobile South African Street Food van that serves the finest in Zulu and South African Cuisine. We specialise in exotic meats such as Ostrich and Crocodile as well as serve fresh ground coffee made by two UK Barista Skills Championship Finalists.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing