We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Priory

Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
+44 1275 376307
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good28%
  • Average23%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“creme brulee” (5 reviews)
“pies” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As part of a linear walk we had the opportunity to call in at this pub for a drink and were able to sit outside in the sunshine at tables in the front of the pub. Being part of a chain, the service was OK,...More

Thank Ann L
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Ann, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. The Priory Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very obliging staff although all very straight faced. Maybe on a summers evening it may have extra charm if you sit outside having found a place to park with out annoying the locals. On a May evening inside it's a typical dowdy chain pub with...More

Thank Bryan J
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Bryan, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. The Priory team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This pub is very popular this time of year as it is close to a bluebell wood. We stopped for Sunday lunch & they had a choice of 3 roasts & a normal pub meal menu. Unfortunately as it was so busy it took 40...More

Thank pkt117
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Priory, Portbury! We're looking forward to your next visit with us! We're looking forward to your next visit with us! he priory Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked Sunday lunch for Sunday 30rd April. 12:30. As we entered we were met by member of staff who was in charge of seating. As we had booked he showed us to a table for 4 by the door, even though there was only two...More

Thank tonyuk36
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Hello Tony, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day! The Priory...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was good ,service good , very busy but care was taken over presentation,after a long walk , it was a welcome respite,

Thank twinkie1951
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Twinkie1951, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Priory, Portbury! We're looking forward to your next visit with us! The Priory Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the Priory as part of a family group on Saturday lunch time. Our mains arrived an hour after ordering them. The steak meals were all over-cooked and the portions for the meals were completely inconsistent. Some diners had plentiful chips, some had barely any....More

Thank DerekAsi
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Derekasi, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I am sorry to hear about your day, unfortunately on that occasion we experienced an unexpected amount of business and everyone was told the expected wait on order. I...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The car park was packed at 1pm on a Monday. Charming hosts who despite being rushed off their feet were hospitable and kind to the child in the party. The inside is charming. It is part of a chain. Good choice of beers available. Great...More

Thank KLBOS
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Klbos, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Thank you very much for your kind words but I am sorry to hear that your meal were a little cold and I apologise for that, we will focus...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I ate there today. The wait to be served was appalling with only one staff member taking both drink and food orders. We waited over 45 minutes after giving our order and all our steaks should have been medium rare we're well done. The cook...More

Thank minexco
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Unfortunately, on that day we had an uninspected high amount of customer hence why everyone was told that we had 45 minutes wait when they ordered. I am sorry to hear that your steak...More

Reviewed 14 April 2017

I regularly eat here on Saturday lunvhtimes and the food service is always good - food arrives quickly and the table is promptly cleared once everyone in our group has finished. However, went at 7.30pm on a Tuesday and it could not be more different...More

Thank Purdycats
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Thank you, Purdycats, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. I am sorry to hear about your experience. We are indeed short on staff at the moment but we are recruiting, I hope you will give us...More

Reviewed 14 April 2017

IF you need a stop around the M5 at Bristol, this is the place to go. Great variety menu, eat in or outside and just 3 minutes from Junction 19. SO next time you are around that area, give The Priory a visit, you will...More

Thank pammcnee1
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Pammcnee1. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Kings Arms
9 reviews
1.57 km away
The Anchor
74 reviews
3.03 km away
Welcome Break Gordano
174 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Portishead Marina
233 reviews
2.89 km away
Tyntesfield
1,033 reviews
3.91 km away
Bristol & Clifton Golf Club
20 reviews
5.05 km away
Long Ashton Golf Club
11 reviews
5.55 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Jacklyn T
Are dogs welcome?
17 April 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Fran W | Reviewed this property |
here are facilities outside for dogs to have a drink, so I wouls imagine tyhey are. You could always call them to ask the question, I have always found them very helpful.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Portbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 376307
  • E-mail