We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Megalong Valley Tearooms

Megalong Road, Megalong Valley, New South Wales 2785, Australia
+61 2 4787 9181
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“apple pie” (35 reviews)
“scones” (78 reviews)
“soups” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Megalong Road, Megalong Valley, New South Wales 2785, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 281 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Lunch yesterday with friends. I had cottage pie. Really good traditional pie. Great atmosphere. Friendly service. A little congested at the payment stage. We plan to return. Would definitely recommend.

Thank Ged S
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had never been down into the valley from Blackheath before so decided to go for a drive and it just happened to be lunchtime when we arrived after visiting quite a few lookouts on a very clear day. We walked in and picked a...More

Thank traveller2australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here a year ago and back a second time: did not disappoint. Ham hock and pea soup was a real winner on a cold day. The scones were good but the quantity of jam and cream was abundant and this is rare in most...More

Thank Suze T
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here on a Friday afternoon for coffee and scones. We were staying at the Hydro and decided to take a drive down into the valley, which was very picturesque and well worth it. I must say that the scones here were the best...More

Thank John S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have always enjoyed the drive down to the Tea Rooms being locals. However, we have been disappointed with the lack of accommodation for dietary variations. With one child who has Coeliac disease we asked for gluten free toast with the baked beans from the...More

Thank Nobledelettres
Simon S, Owner at Megalong Valley Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to give me your feedback. It's always frustrating as a business owner to hear that people are disappointed with their visit. The topic you speak of is one that is almost impossible to get right during...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is a little weird. Inside is in desperate need of an overhaul - a paint job at the very least. It was quite amusing overhearing everyone at the tables around us commenting on it. The food was great but I wouldn't necessarily go...More

Thank SydneyCfr
Simon S, Owner at Megalong Valley Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there I think perhaps this is a wrong place review? The whole place was recently renovated in and out including a complete paint job!? It's literally spotless........ Perhaps you mixed your reviews up? Cheers Simon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came mid week and the restaurant was very busy with a large group having descended. This seemed to create a little bit of a panic! Nevertheless we were lucky to be served reasonably promptly and the scones were well worth the wait. Our Devonshire...More

Thank tempsh
Simon S, Owner at Megalong Valley Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, Thanks for the feedback. So glad you enjoyed your Devonshire tea and appreciated the work we put in to making sure that we provide a top quality product rather than a cheap alternative. Nothing annoys me more, being of British origin, than to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well there's no where else to eat in the Megalong Valley and because of that you pay a premium. While the food was Ok don't bring me my latte in an egg cup so I have to buy two to make a regular coffee. The...More

1  Thank Rob P
Simon S, Owner at Megalong Valley Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I think perhaps you miss the point a little of the tearooms however I must disagree that I have a captured audience. Every person who visits us must have a car since it is...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for a late lunch with our 9 and 11 year old sons. All staff were friendly and helpful. Both of our boys ordered the toastie from the kid's menu. They both were given a toastie with salad and additional ingredients which was obviously...More

Thank Angela C
Simon S, Owner at Megalong Valley Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit. I must admit when I spoke to you I thought you were surprised by the mistake, as was I, but not angered by it. I mean you essentially got adult meals for a huge...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were brought here by our private tour guide who was showing us around the Blue Mountains - we enjoyed a tasty lunch and a few drinks. Our group had several of the steak pies, the bangers & mash, and an omelette. All were very...More

Thank LondonUnveiled
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Synonymous Cafe
35 reviews
3.62 km away
The Wintergarden
547 reviews
3.42 km away
Chalet Restaurant
30 reviews
3.66 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dryridge Estate
55 reviews
5.36 km away
Megalong Valley Farm
57 reviews
1.60 km away
Blue Mountains Mystery Tours
13 reviews
5.53 km away
Euroka Homestead Trail Rides
8 reviews
4.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
vikkicox
29 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Morts L | Reviewed this property |
I'm pretty sure you can... there are plenty of outdoor seating and I've seen plenty of ramblers stopping by here with their dogs in the past... may be off limits inside the wooden teahouse but should be ok outside
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 13 - USD 21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 17:00
Monday
09:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 16:00
Thursday
09:00 - 16:00
Friday
09:00 - 16:00
Saturday
08:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Megalong Road, Megalong Valley, New South Wales 2785, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Blue Mountains  >  Megalong Valley
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4787 9181
Description
Historic tearooms set amidst the stunning sandstone escarpments of the upper Blue Mountains. Breakfast, lunch, tea, coffee, scones and cakes served every day.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing