We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Bull

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
40-42 High Street, Yarm TS15 9BH, England
+44 1642 791251
Website
Today
09:00 - 01:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 09:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
durham
Level Contributor
186 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This is a busy large pub on the high street, service has always been good and has a nice range of good real ales, it has a large beer garden and is really good in the summer

Helpful?
Thank jonnyboy67
Eaglescliffe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely place to go great atmosphere and really amazing helpful staff!!! Helped me a lot after my phone was lost and helped me get it straight back. Great nice chilled place to go always packed and a good night good place on high street too.

Helpful?
Thank libertystock
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Was a traditional family pub. Now girls walking around selling shots. Tacky! Disappointed to find such a great pub been run down.

Helpful?
Thank siouxsie10
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Siouxsie10, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The management and staff at The Black Bull, Yarm take our reviews very seriously. You point out that we were a traditional family pub, I believe that we still are, however we are throughout the day lots of different offers to lots of different guests. We trialled some girls taking... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We came into Yarm town centre and decided to call in the Black Bull for a drink. The barman was really nice and very friendly to his customers. We sat down and looked at the dinner menu and ordered a meal, after they lit candles on every table and around the log burners. What a great meal it was and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kyosamaggie1
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thanks Kyosamaggie1 for providing us with such fantastic feedback. It really makes our day when one of our guests has had such a lovely time. Hope you manage to come back to the area soon. You really made our day today. Mark Eddy Manager More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Good beer, good atmosphere, no music, well worth a visit for a drink with friends when in Yarm. Not too overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank Kev270
GENERAL MANAGER A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Kev270. We always love to receive great feedback. More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
779 reviews
489 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

As part of our big night out in Yarm, we had to drop in to the Black Bull. As always lots of staff serving so we did not have to wait too long to get served. Beers have not changed and for some of us that was an issue but the lager drinkers were well looked after. Good atmosphere (why... More 

Helpful?
Thank bill c
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Bill C, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Black Bull, Yarm. As you pointed out 3 of our Cask beers haven`t changed ( so popular we dare not change them ) , however we are now constantly rotating our guest beers on the other 2 hand pulls. Hopefully this will get us a 5/5... More 

Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017

Enjoyed a late breakfast here today. Exceptional value for a small breakfast of bacon, sausage, beans, hash brown, egg and toast, the larger breakfast doubling up most of these items is also available. Also unlimited tea or coffee for £1. Nicely cooked meal, with a nice fire roaring away, good company - what more could anyone ask for. A big... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nan2272252117
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Nan2272252117, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Black Bull, Yarm. We`re really happy that you enjoyed your visit to our establishment. You really made our day today. More 

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Reasonably priced food. It's advertised as a dog friendly pub, which is fine as long as you sit outside in the cold weather. So it's not really dog friendly 😂😂😂

Helpful?
Thank Ken T
GENERAL MANAGER A, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Ken T, we appreciate you taking the time to respond, however we are a little baffled to your comments about us being advertised as a dog friendly pub. On your visit we explained before you ordered anything that dogs are only allowed in the glass canopy area and that if you wished to stay that we would put on... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Always been awful for service. If you're planning on visiting the Black Bull I hope your patient as you'll be waiting to get served for most of your night.

Helpful?
Thank Tom R
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Tom R, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Black Bull, Yarm take our reviews very seriously. Our manager would like to help turn your lackluster experience around. If you're willing, please contact our manager on 07973 418623 to discuss what we can do to help. More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

I love the Black Bull in Yarm! Every night out in Yarm starts in the Black Bull for a few drinks. Warm, cosy British pub with fireplaces 2 bars and unusual layout inside for winter, and the most amazing beer garden round the back for the spring/summer! The size of a small park, with a willow tree, loads of seating,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma E
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Emma E, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Black Bull, Yarm. The whole team feel a great sense of pride when we receive such positive comments from our guests. You really made our day today. More 

Travellers who viewed The Black Bull also viewed

Yarm, North Yorkshire
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 00:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 40-42 High Street, Yarm TS15 9BH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Yarm
  • Phone Number: +44 1642 791251
Description
You'd be hard pushed to find a finer real ale pub in Yarm. In fact, we believe The Black Bull is unrivalled in its choice of quality cask-conditioned beers and carefully compiled menu of British pub dishes. For directions to our landmark pub, see the interactive map to the right.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Bull staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?