We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Boys Inn

Henley Road | Hurley, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5NQ, England
+44 1628 824212
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible16%
9 Oct 2016
“Lovely setting”
5 Oct 2016
“Not bad but nothing to write home about.”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Henley Road | Hurley, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5NQ, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in with my son for lunch as local to a business meeting and looked lovely. Ordered a Coke for me and a Bombay sapphire and Fever tree tonic for my son. 5 minutes later the female behind the bar presented Me with a bill...More

2  Thank Wpdragon
Nicole B, Front Office Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

I was present when you arrived asking for a gin and tonic late Tuesday morning. Although you initially didn't specify for fever tree tonic, when it was noted we carried it on our menu you seemed to believe that being out of stock was catastrophic,...More

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

They need a new chef and rethink the whole business, or they will fail very soon, which would be sad! Steve Y

1  Thank Stephen Y
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Went for lunch on a Friday - the place was empty. It used to be quite a busy restaurant - this should have warned us. A blackboard outside promised partridge with apple cider gravy. No - that was actually for the day before. We ordered...More

1  Thank Clivel_98
Nicole B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

Dear Clivel, We are sorry you had a terrible dining experience and i remember your party that Friday afternoon when i explained that our home chips sometimes are cut thick and sadly a few sometimes don't get as crunchy as the other. We are now...More

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

The serving staff are lovely but sadly the food is not up to scratch, despite the price. Might be a nice spot for a drink but won't be eating there again.

1  Thank BCNCat
Nicole B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate all comments and if you want to drop us an email to expand on where we can improve we would like to hear from you info@blackboysinn.co.uk

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely Sunday roast Was a great atmosphere. The owner and his family & children was all eating too. Was nice with the fire and Music Not too loud. We will go back for the Xmas menu

2  Thank Mandit T
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Just arrived home from a brilliant Sumday lunch. Amazing food and hospitality As a local cannot recommend enough. Forget about The Horns try this establishment. Great food and service. Very clean and staff very efficient and attentive.

4  Thank 12localperson
Nicole B, Owner at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

We luuuuvvvv having you and are over the moon you have enjoyed yourself with us. Thank you for the pheasants: game will be on the menu next in the next days

Reviewed 16 October 2016

Parking was easy,and the statue of HRH was just amazing. I will certainly be dining there in the future,the menu looked great and the staff very smart and professional and welcoming. Peter S.

3  Thank peter s
Nicole B, Owner at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

We are looking forward to having you in to try our new and exciting menu :-)

Reviewed 10 October 2016

We had been here many times during the previous ownership, but not in the past 6-7 years, I'm not sure why as it was great. The food was seasonal, well cooked and presented and in a warm and charming setting. On a whim, we booked...More

1  Thank ruthiegee
Nicole B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ruthiegee, Thank you for your comments and we hope you come to try our delicious roast. The roast this Sunday was larger then normal and we needed an extra 20 minutes for it to be cooked perfectly and served for eating at 12.30. I...More

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for 1 night. Arrived at 9:45pm , we quickly got checked in and into our room. Unfortunately the reception staff member finished at 10pm and the wifi is passworded so no internet. The rooms are tiny, definitely no room to...More

2  Thank Kathy H
Nicole B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry that you felt our country Inn did not meet your expectations. Our basic room at £70 that you booked is equipped with a king bed , lounge chair , closet , bed side tables and a desk. The bathroom with a...More

Reviewed 15 September 2016

After having an awful experience trying to book our meal (due to a fault phone system apparently). We had a wonderful experience at the Black boys inn. The food was delicious can recommend the cod dish & chicken off of the set menu (or groupon...More

2  Thank Jemma S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Dew Drop Inn
238 reviews
.36 km away
Hurley House Hotel
80 reviews
1.40 km away
The Rising Sun
194 reviews
.75 km away
Nearby Attractions
Danesfield House Spa
100 reviews
1.28 km away
Hare Hatch Sheeplands
37 reviews
5.69 km away
Higginson Park
45 reviews
4.39 km away
Blackfeather Boat Charter
28 reviews
5.16 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Paul M
Trying to book a table since last Friday phone is never answered email is similar. Al I want is a table for this Thursday at 7:30
24 August 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from lwhipps | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry you having problems booking. They were short staff. Ask for your money back from Travelzoo and explain. Good luck, Lily
0
Votes
kisteel v
The front of house staff at the balck boys inn are so polite and very cutious, sometimes the customers are at fault and need to learn some manners and rememebr that they are their to do a job, not you to bully them and be rude. I used to be in the hospitality and yes i very aware that most of the rude gestures come from people who are in the trade and should be aware that things do happen and just get off at telling people how to do their job. If you dont like the place dont go back
12 January 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Henley Road | Hurley, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5NQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Maidenhead  >  Hurley
  • Phone Number: +44 1628 824212
  • E-mail