We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$10 - AU$40
CUISINES
Bar, Grill, Australian
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (121)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
38
42
15
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
38
42
15
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sundae curry shearwater resort last night quality of food pub meal cooked to perfection tavern tasmania
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 15 March 2024

Awesome food selection and daily specials board preparation. Friendly staff and clean restaurant. Good wine selection and range of beers and ciders.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh Reid, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review. We are very pleased to read your fantastic review and this will be shared with the team. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed both the food, service and range of products both...More

Reviewed 29 November 2023

Friendly staff and the food was excellent. Would certainly return again - wait time was good as wellMore

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh Reid, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very pleased to read your fantastic review and this will be shared with the team. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed both the food and the service. We look...More

Reviewed 27 November 2023

Food and service were excellent. Good selection of food on the menu which was presented very well. Great value for money.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh Reid, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review. We are very pleased to read your fantastic review and this will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and...More

Reviewed 22 October 2023

Very disappointed with both meals. My chicken parmy was very basic. I've had better from the take away. Supermarket ham, tasted like Leggos sauce. Supermarket quality for high prices. The seafood linguine lacked seafood and the scollops were 6 tiny ones for $15. A side...of mash for $8! Everything is priced separately except for an eighth of a tomato and lettuce leaves. Won't be going back.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh Reid, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologize that you were not pleased with your meals, however this feedback is not in keeping with our usual feedback. Our pricing is also more than competitive with similar businesses. Regards Leigh...More

Reviewed 31 January 2023

We ate here as a family of four and I am surprised by the last few reviews. We booked in for 6pm and the restaurant was full, we waited about 20 mins for our food which was great. We had two kids meals which were...huge and spilling over the plates. They loved it. The chicken Parmi was massive about half the size of the plate and my Salmon was fresh, cooked to perfection and tasted delicious. It is a little expensive at 38 dollars but it was Delicious. This place was exactly what you would expect to get in any similar establishment in Tasmania. It was fresh, large and overall pretty cheap for our family of four to eat there. Great location, good service happily eat and recommend people eat there.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh R, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2023

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate all feedback received and to read such wonderful comments is truly rewarding. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and Shearwater Tavern

Reviewed 2 January 2023 via mobile

If I were the owners of Shearwater Resort I wouldn’t want to be associated with Waves Restaurant at all, our experience over New Years almost ruined our entire trip. Reserved a table on our first night and ordered three kids meals, very frugal portions, almost...cold and dry like they’d been pre cooked and sitting out for an hour, one of the meals had an insect leg on one of the chips, probably thankful for the extra protein to be honest because there wasn’t much food on the plate. Our meals, a steak ordered medium-well was in fact almost blue and half a handful of the pre cooked coke chips to go with it. My salmon which I don’t mind a little under on the inside was in fact not just rare but still frozen and just seared on the outside, I spent that night throwing up with my head over the toilet bowl. The sweet potato mash was nice on the other hand though it’s a shame that had to come up too. I understand covid hit everyone hard but there is a difference between cost cutting and just plain stingy and gross. The staff were fantastic, unfortunately though whoever is cooking in there is letting the entire place down. Bitterly disappointing, don’t go here.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh R, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please accept our apologies with your dinner and do wish that you had of spoken with the team on the night so they could have fixed the issues for you. I would question...More

Reviewed 27 December 2022 via mobile

Nothing positive about this place, expensive, horrible food and long waits. Would never eat here again. Nothing complicated about a chicken Parma waited 48 minutes. Service was disgustingMore

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh R, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologize that you have had a delay with your meal however it was an extremely busy dinner and the team did the best they could under the circumstances. Regards Leigh Reid General...More

Reviewed 31 October 2022

Arrived at Shearwater on a monday to stay for a week. Thought we would support the restaurant on our 1st night. We had the $30 special incl dessert. Thai Beef salad was just OK but had to hunt for the 8 pieces of beef. Butter...chicken was average. Then for dessert - well after 25mins waiting had to ask and had not even been made. Asked for takeway and finally got our Lamington & ice cream plus salted caramel sundae to take back to our room. Lamington was Stale and must have milked the cow for simple ice cream sundae with topping. Wasnt even offered a refund!! Service & table cleaning was appalling. 7 tables of dishes sat there for over 1/2 hour- disgusting. Lazy & non interested staff who found it hard to crack a smile. Never coming back due to poor service and food - Plenty of room for improvement.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh R, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2022

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to read such feedback particularly after your long discussion with our Tavern Operations Manager in the following days after your experience after he made contact with you the following day. In particular your comment that you would...More

Reviewed 21 September 2022 via mobile

Service was very good. Thai salad was OK. Vegetable korma curry very disappointing. No bananas for fritter. Sundae was bowl of icecream with flavouring. Pokies were a huge rip off also. Overall not good value for the high prices.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh R, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very pleased to read your positive comments regarding the service and our Thai Beef Salad does receive a lot of positive comments. With regard to the Korma comments we must admit...More

Reviewed 9 July 2022

I have previously given negative reviews and, consequently, not been here for a while. Three of us decided to go last night and, what a turnaround!!. All staff were friendly and efficient...top marks. Our food was superb. We did complete the comments form so these...will backup what I'm saying...and what a great idea to have them on the table. The menu is excellent with plenty of GF options. Great wine list and a good daily specials board. Please keep it up...we will be back... ThankyouMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh R, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2022

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you have come back and happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Your review is consistent with our usual feedback so hopefully you will support your local more moving forward. Regards...More

Reviewed 14 June 2022

Lovely staff. It is difficult to get staff atm and having someone on their first shift was refreshing.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh R, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2022

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. To read such wonderful feedback is truly rewarding. We are so pleased that you enjoued your meals and our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager...More

Reviewed 27 May 2022

It was "steak night" at the Tavern so we thought we'd give it a try without expecting too much of steaks at that price. The first three came out quite quickly and with all the others tucking in we asked why my steak hadn't arrived....(I have mine "blue"). We were told that mine had been slightly overcooked so they were cooking another one. Anywhere else I doubt if they'd have worried, but when mine came it was absolutely cooked to perfection and so tender and tasty. 100 out of 100!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh R, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2022

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is truly rewarding to read such wonderful feedback and the team will be very pleased to read this. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater...More

Reviewed 17 May 2022 via mobile

Reasonable selection from the menu. Bar/wine prices competitive. Quality of food more than adequate as are serving sizes. Staff appear on the ball. Clean well maintained covid protocolsMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh R, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2022

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is fantastic to read such wonderful comments and we shall share it with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and...More

Reviewed 2 March 2022 via mobile

While staying at Shearwater resort, we were so pleased to have this restaurant to dine at. We happily sat outside. The staff very friendly, professional, helpful. I enjoyed beautiful gf meals, chef and staff seemed to be well educated on Coeliac disease and gluten free....Spied a gf lemon tart one night and enjoyed it immensely too. Would definitely recommend eating at Waves.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh R, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2022

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review. It is so rewarding to read such wonderful feedback and we will share it with the team. We look forward to seeing you return again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and...More

Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Family trip, nice size portions, the Bruschetta was very good. Service was fine, overall a nice meal, happy there was cider on tap.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh R, General Manager at Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your meal and our service. We look forward to seeing you return again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Shearwater Cottages
46 reviews
.12 km away
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
184 reviews
14.78 km away
Edgewater
167 reviews
14.89 km away
Sunrise Devonport
176 reviews
15.10 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Workshop Cafe
16 reviews
1.58 km away
Hennessy's Cafe Bakery
20 reviews
.82 km away
Purple Pepper Pizza Cafe
21 reviews
1.28 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ghost Rock Tasmania
207 reviews
3.61 km away
House of Anvers Museum of Chocolate
526 reviews
12.54 km away
Eastford Creek Vineyard
5 reviews
14.47 km away
Beaches Bar & Bistro
5 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Waves Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WAVES RESTAURANT, Shearwater - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Waves Restaurant

Waves Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4