We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gaaitjie Restaurant

Sampson Street, Paternoster | Off Sampson Road, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
+27 22 752 2242
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“monkfish” (19 reviews)
“pork belly” (32 reviews)
“bread” (19 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Sampson Street, Paternoster | Off Sampson Road, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We were in Paternoster on a Monday when not all restaurants were open. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the menu was interesting. Our Mussel starter was delicious but the fish part of my Monkfish main meal was cold when it arrived and...More

Thank Anne R
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Lunch on the stoep with wonderful view right on the beach. Had stompneus fish for lunch and Donkieskraal wine. Very enjoyable setting in an old house.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 days ago

loved the location and decor. the food was glorius ...tuna starter still makes my mouth water . just loved it

Thank 27debbyr
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 27debbyr. Thank you for your visit to Gaaitjie restaurant. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards, The Gaaitjie Team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sat outside which although we couldn't see the ocean as it was nighttime was still lovely to hear and smell. Ordered prawn tails in phyllo pastry and calamari for starters and crispy Monk fish for main. Calamari was beautifully presented and tasted good BUT, and...More

Thank andrewe232
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Andrewe232. Thank you for your review. The prawns tails was in Katafi, which is a phyllo pasrty that is cut into very thin strings. We use patagonica which is not calamari streaks or rings, we will definitely give more attention when we are cleaning...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I visit Paternoster often and have been to Gaaitjie many times. Ihave noticed over the last few visits that the standard of the food has been slipping. This time I chose Kingklip. It was a huge portion of Kingklip, far too much for one person,...More

Thank lisasplaces
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this resturant twice in one week. 1st time we only had some craft beers and sat outside with a gorgeous view of the ocean. We had a lovely visit and decided to make a booking for their dinners. We returned for the dinner...More

1  Thank Brigs H
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Brigs H. Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you have mixed feelings. We do hope that yo will return in the near future to try our food again. Kind regards.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We came here on the recommendation of a local. Luckily it was off season so we were able to get a table. Our table was overlooking the beach and probably because it was off season it was quite quiet and relaxing. We ordered a couple...More

Thank faurecia
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Faurecia. Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at Gaaitjie restaurant. Kind regards, Gaaitjie team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have no idea what the food is like and after today also never will. Arrived at 14:05 realising they may be full. Luckily this was not the case as about a third of the tables were empty. As we got out of the vehicle...More

1  Thank AlbJor
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear AlbJor. Thank youu for your review. I do apologize that your timing and our timing did not work out. We usually put out our notice board at 2pm to say that lunch service is over, during busier times we can extend service if it...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stunning freshly prepared seafood. The snoek salad was phenomenal! We had snoek, the calamari, monkfish and mussels. All were delicious. So good in fact we went back in the evening and had supper there! Excellent restaurant, great service and amazing chef!

Thank 0308MelP
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The position is wonderful, right on Paternoster beach but at night there is no ambience. The lighting is bright, the decor is minimal and the food is disappointing. Flavours are not great. Cumin mussels is not the best combo, the fish cakes had an over...More

Thank Sandy J
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sandy . Thank you for taking the time to review Gaaitjie Restaurant. We appreciate your attention to décor etc. We were in the midst of redecorating therefore the restaurant was lacking what you were looking for. Do feel free to come by and see...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Noisy Oyster
858 reviews
.63 km away
The Square Spoon
336 reviews
.57 km away
Blikkie Pizzeria
325 reviews
.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cape Columbine Nature Reserve Tietiesbaai
161 reviews
4.08 km away
Shelley Point Country Club & Golf Course
27 reviews
12.33 km away
West Coast Fossil Park
109 reviews
27.00 km away
Paternoster Beach
20 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Livi4P
Is it allowed to bring leashed dogs to the outside area of the restaurant? Thanks!
10 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Theuns En Wilma K | Property representative |
Yes we are dog friendly.
0
Votes
Henriette B
Hi we are visiting in January. Our anniversary is on the 6th. Would we be able to do a short 30 min renewal of vows on the beach in front of your restaurant? Then have lunch with you after the ceremony?
13 March 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from GaaitjieRestaurant | Property representative |
Hi Henriette. We would love to host you for this special event. Please send me your details to the gaaitjie reservations e-mail so we can organize this special day. Kind regards, Valmé
0
Votes
Richard G
Hi, do you have food other than shellfish on your menu?
17 February 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Theuns En Wilma K | Property representative |
Yes we do. Sirloin and chicken and fresh fish like Kingklip, Angel fish, monk and yellow tail.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 30 - USD 40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating
Good for
Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sampson Street, Paternoster | Off Sampson Road, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Saldanha Bay Municipality  >  Paternoster
  • Phone Number: +27 22 752 2242
  • E-mail
Description
We bring you a unique dining experience.. Explore the Paternoster beach and nestled amongst the rocks, you will find a simple white-washed fisherman's cottage. This 70 year old building, known as 'Gaaitjie' has a warm, nostalgic atmosphere, true to its heritage. This unique atmosphere of tradition and comfort has inspired an eclectic menu featuring local produce, fused with contemporary and Asian influences. Our food is unpretentious and made with love, using sustainable fresh local produce as far as possible. Our décor is modest and comfortable and our unique location promises spectacular views to compliment a memorable dining experience.