We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bell Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rectory Lane, Parkham, Bideford EX39 5PL, England
+44 1237 451201
00:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Sun 12:00 - 20:30
Mon - Thu 17:30 - 23:00
Mon - Sat 00:00 - 15:00
Fri 17:00 - 23:00
Sat 17:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 139: English reviews
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Due to the fact that we live in Essex I haven't been to The Bell for a while. I was not disappointed and very pleased to see that this pub still has all the qualities I look for in a country pub: a warm welcome, good freshly cooked food, a great selection of real ales and other drinks, locals and... More 

Thank Gurner
477rachel50, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you in 2017. More 

Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Had a wonderful meal as always, went with friends, and the food and service was fabulous, would always recommend eating there, can wait to go back

Thank sarahmelvint10
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Whilst stopping in Parkham we visited this establishment twice once for a drink and then a second night for food, We had to phone and book as we saw it seemed to be very popular so we did on a Friday night and we were not disappointed. We had a table for 5 situated next to the open fire and... More 

Thank gromitsmate
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Visited whilst on holiday on a Saturday night after searching local restaurants. It was their winter menu but managed to accommodate my sons request of burger even though no longer on the menu. It was a veried menu and the food was lovely and very reasonable. If in the area again will visit. Thank you.

Thank M c
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

we were visiting on holiday and decided to fine somewhere for Sunday lunch near by. after reading a few good reviews we booked a table and glad i did it gets busy. we were first which us time to get comfortable. the pub to some would be outdated but i say rustic and full of charm. staff are friendly and... More 

Thank Neil C
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016

A Monday night and a superb meal. Arrived at 5.30, but no food cooked until at least 6pm. All fresh, home cooked and delicious. Pub very friendly with a smattering of locals chatting amiably. Steak, home made chips, home made onion rings x2, x2 drinks and a sublime butterscotch came to a very reasonable £37. All up, and lovely service... More 

Thank Gary H
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

Went with friends for Sunday lunch,(and stayed till late) it was just fabulous!!! As was the pudding, great atmosphere lovely staff, and landlady and landlord(chief) very welcoming, Would recommend to anyone, and will be going back very soon, 4 very happy customers :)

Thank sarahmelvint10
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016

We ate at The Bell as a party of four on a Saturday evening but I'm afraid the experience disappointed and we are unlikely to return any time soon. We'd been to The Bell before so we were expecting friendly service, good home-cooked food and an enjoyable family evening. The welcome was initially as expected but the service subsequently dipped,... More 

Thank Seamo
477rachel50, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review , We always take note of criticisms and try to improve . We are very sorry that you had such a terrible visit last Saturday, we apologise your experience at the Bell was not up to our normal high standards. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

Have been here a few times with friends and family. Always lovely food and varied menu. Quaint, Family friendly pub

Thank senseohumour
477rachel50, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , we look for to seeing you again in the future. More 

Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016

Booked early in the week for a family celebration. We were four, and we ordered two steak and two duck meals for the main course, and finished with deserts. It was busy, but the attention was superb. The meal was excellent and we will certainly be returning again

Thank acj50ven
477rachel50, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased your family enjoyed their meals, we look for to meeting you again in the future. More 

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

Westward Ho, Bideford

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 11 - USD 23
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Open Hours
12:00 - 20:30
00:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
00:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
00:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
00:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
00:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
00:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rectory Lane, Parkham, Bideford EX39 5PL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Bideford  >  Parkham
  • Phone Number: +44 1237 451201

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bell Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Hartland, United Kingdom
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Bell Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?