We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Weary Traveller

Station Road, Cullompton EX15 1BQ, England
+44 1884 32317
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“nachos” (6 reviews)
“stuffing” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Station Road, Cullompton EX15 1BQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

This was Mothering Sunday so the place was packed with diners. We were quite a large party including some vegetarians, so it was good that there was a non-meat alternative to the Carvery (which was the main choice on offer on this occasion). As I'm...More

Thank ChrisRRR
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We booked a table for 10 of us on a Sunday lunch time,to celebrate my daughter turning 18 tomorrow ( 20th nov) ... as always the food was lovely and piping hot with plenty of different veg to choose from on the carvery. All the...More

Thank Mrsshakey
Reviewed 1 week ago

Tried the Weary traveller for a few drinks with my wife as we are both Cullompton residents, I have to say we were not impressed at all, The prices were expensive and to cap it all my last drink was a red wine and we...More

Thank Andrew D
Anita N, Owner at The Weary Traveller, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Could you please let me know when you were here? I am most concerned about anyone serving short measures, our wine glasses are lined so it seems very odd to me. Did you mention this to anyone at the time?

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate here as part of a family party of five adults. Superb food in comfortable surroundings. You do need to book for Sunday Lunch. There is plenty of room around tables so that you are not sitting on top of other diners. Good service...More

1  Thank londoner109
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely table was set up for my girlfriend and I to meet my Cancer Donor and his wife for the first time. Thr food was amazing, Anita and her team looked after us. Thank You for an excellent service xxx

2  Thank Mike N
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Recently moved to the area and visited this pub twice, most recently today, both visits have left us stuffed and satisfied. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food portions are big. The food tastes amazing. The special of BBQ Pulled Pork nachos was...More

1  Thank pjones88
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We have been stopping off at this pub for many years, since 1998 to my knowledge, and have always put over £500 over the bar and been very well behaved taking our Rugby Club there on a Saturday night on the way back from away...More

2  Thank Clothesoptional
Anita N, Owner at The Weary Traveller, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Really sorry guys, we took over last year and experienced a few visits from Rugby Clubs returning from away games, some of which caused considerable disturbance and on one occasion, serious offence to other customers. I cannot comment on your particular club, I don't know...More

Reviewed 30 September 2017

I organised an event in the town and needed somewhere to obtain lunch. I choose this venue and I could not have been more delighted .The friendly team and excellent service was brilliant. The menu had great choices and was delicious. Reasonable value too with...More

1  Thank Sandy C
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Rude...rude...rude... Messed up the order 3 times... gave up! How hard can it be? Nachos with nothing on it... but came with everything on it... twice! Cajun chicken salad that turned into ceaser salad???? Explained that I couldn't eat cheese.... but hey ho. Top tip......More

Thank barkingone
Anita N, Owner at The Weary Traveller, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Unfortunately there was a complete miscommunication going on here with the Nachos, some confusion because the order came across to us that you wanted the Guacamole and Sour Cream on the side which didn't get relayed to the kitchen properly. For this we do sincerely...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Directly off Junction 28 of the M5 on the way home from Cornwall. Tuesday lunchtime after the bank holiday so very quiet however the service was good and the food freshly prepared, hot and very tasty. Great lunch stop off.

1  Thank Catpoo66
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Ashill Inn
183 reviews
.41 km away
The Bakehouse
212 reviews
.54 km away
Merry Harriers
283 reviews
.92 km away
Nearby Attractions
Yarak Bird of Prey
628 reviews
4.49 km away
Ye Olde White Lion
5 reviews
4.59 km away
Coldharbour Mill Museum
91 reviews
5.80 km away
Diggerland
484 reviews
1.98 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Don R
13 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Anita N | Property representative |
We are very Dog Friendly, we allow them inside the pub as well as in our garden. However, they must always be on leads, we love them but we also respect our customers who may not feel quite so comfortable with our canine... More
1
Vote
janetblinco
1 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Anita N | Property representative |
Our Sunday Carvery is £9.95 for adults and £7.95 for children. It is advisable to book as we do get very busy. Thankyou for asking
2
Votes
Katy H
19 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Anita N | Property representative |
Hi, it's £9.95 standard and £7.95 for children under 12 and very senior citizens.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Waitstaff, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Cullompton EX15 1BQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Cullompton
  • Phone Number: +44 1884 32317
  • E-mail
Description
Lovely Roadside family pub with large Car Park and Beer Garden. Situated literally just 1 minute from j28 of the M5. Facilities include Children's play area and Sports Bar showing Sky and BT Sports. Lunch menu and A La Carte Evening Menu, Sunday Carvery. Family and Dog Friendly. Coach Parties welcome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing