We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Oak Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Caneheath, Polegate BN26 6SJ, England
+44 1323 482072
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good24%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lamb tagine” (4 reviews)
“pies” (8 reviews)
“jambalaya” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Caneheath, Polegate BN26 6SJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location close to Abbot’s Wood. Attractive country pub with garden and car park. Warm and inviting with open wood fire. Good selection of beers and local ale. Extensive menu but at the upper pricing level....didn’t like the “gourmet chips” but only my taste. Visited...More

Thank Chris57Pat
GSC57, Owner at Old Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We also offer skinny potato fries and sweet potato chips on our menu. We look forward to welcoming you back soon kind regards Gerald Colvin

A TripAdvisor Member
91
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great find, been here three times and plan to go back. Great food, such a varied menu and brilliant specials. Good drinks list also. Service great. Just can't fault it

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fairly accessible pub, access ok, tables by the fire great. No accessible loos- but which pubs have. Table service ok, they forgot the birthday girls drink, good local beers tho!! The food was fantastic, mains and starters. Sorbets of numerous flavours available for puds. Staff...More

Thank disabledcrip
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We both had the Scampi and Chips priced at £12.50 each. The Scampi were clearly not great quality, pathetic, small little things and not that plentiful. The biggest disappoint were the Gourmet Chips. They were disgustingly greasy, probably reheated - in fact they were SO...More

4  Thank trvellerP
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Such a beautiful little pub, but the food wasn't all that great! Had sausage and mash.. The sausage were OK but the mash did not at all taste like really mash potatoe it tasted like something out of a packet, we very dry & tasteless...More

2  Thank Lucy-Jane B
Reviewed 8 September 2017

This pub is tucked away down a country lane but well worth finding. Eight of us met here for lunch and were not disappointed. Both bars are beamed and have large fireplaces. although these weren't lit when we were there. Three of us had the...More

Thank Bill B
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

This is the second time we have been here now in the space of a month and twice now there has been a problem with our order going through. Delays of over an hour both times. Also saying a while after ordering that the food...More

6  Thank Julia M
GSC57, Owner at Old Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

I am very sorry to learn of your waiting time for your food order but very pleased for you to confirm the good quality of our food. We have this month been experiencing IT problems with our computer tills since I have upgraded our broadband...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at a camp site nearby and decided to go for a walk. We see this pub and went in for a quick drink. The pub itself is beautiful with very low beams. The staff are welcoming and polite. Food is served here so...More

Thank stevevee75
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Thought we would give the old oak a try as had heard there was a new chef, really wished we hadn't ordered two burgers and a child's chicken nuggets, the burger buns were burnt, burgers dry the chips were a horrible grey colour and very...More

7  Thank fudgjof
GSC57, Owner at Old Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

I am extremely sorry to learn that you did not enjoy our classic burger and gourmet chips and at a loss of why this was not addressed with one of my front of house team during your visit ? I presume you had prepaid and...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Set in the beautiful countryside of Arlington this pub and restaurant offers good food in a relaxed atmosphere. I visit when I can, the staff are friendly. In the bar you are allowed to bring in your dogs. Which is great as it's great walking...More

Thank Toni K
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Village Shop & Cafe
84 reviews
2.13 km away
Wishing Well Tearoom
74 reviews
3.03 km away
The Royal Indian
204 reviews
3.26 km away
Arlington Tea Gardens
70 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Michelham Priory
256 reviews
1.50 km away
The Long Man of Wilmington
47 reviews
3.22 km away
Drusillas Park
1,533 reviews
4.40 km away
Farleys House & Gallery
49 reviews
5.73 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
953jrl
18 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from sussexlover | Reviewed this property |
Yes, we had both our dogs with us, you need to go to the left side of the pub as the restaurant is to the right. The left side is still set lovely but doggies are allowed, you need to leave muddy boots outside tho ;)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Caneheath, Polegate BN26 6SJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Polegate
  • Phone Number: +44 1323 482072
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing