We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Moat Shed

Northwood Hall,Newtown, SY4 5NU, England
+44 1939 236252
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good20%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (8 reviews)
“marmalade” (4 reviews)
“beans” (5 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Northwood Hall,Newtown, SY4 5NU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having sampled breakfast here before - and their absolutely fabulous afternoon tea - we went as a group of 6 for breakfast and were not disappointed. Fabulous food and attentive staff in the best of settings. Thank you!

Thank Helen D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this lovely family run restaurant a number of times for either breakfast or lunch. There is a good variety of options on the menu to cater for all tastes. Food is always freshly prepared and delicious. Service is great and the hosts could not...More

Thank SL0ft
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

My birthday lunch was perfect in and idyllic spot. The Moat Shed. Northwood Hall near Shrewsbury is in a lovely location and the restaurant itself with wide opening doors onto rolling Shropshire farmland is quite lovely. A great way to enjoy a beautiful English summer...More

2  Thank Mike D
Reviewed 18 June 2018

I have used this restaurant now twice in the past year both times with a group of ladies for lunch. Every time we have visited the food has been first class. It is always busy which shows it has people returning again and again. It...More

Thank seafoodheaven
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Best place for Afternoon Tea I have visited in a 30 mile radius! beautiful savouries and tasty cakes. Simples.... A bit off the beaten track but worth seeking out.

Thank Winckers
Reviewed 8 June 2018

I always find the Moat Shed to be the best place to eat. Wonderful food ,surroundings,staff never fails to deliver. So relaxing and something different. Very highly recommended.More

Thank shropshirelass54
TheMoat S, Owner at The Moat Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thanks for reviewing us. We are flattered you rate The Moat Shed the best place to eat. A lot of work goes into making our business as successful as it is today. With great comments like yours, along with word of mouth, we are attracting...More

Reviewed 6 June 2018

Very limited starter menu, unless you like seafood !! processed chicken, stale bread at £15 per serving i expected FRESH food. the seated area was quite chilly so we asked 'please can you close the window a bit' she replied 'um um,well, i guess so'...More

9  Thank Sheila P
TheMoat S, Owner at The Moat Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Hi Sheila, We have been waiting for a lovely review from you. After all you did shout it down the room for all in the restaurant to hear on Monday when you definitely weren’t 'speechless’ as you mentioned in your Facebook review! Our menu has...More

Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We came here for Afternoon Tea on Saturday. O M G it was amazing. Some unusual twists on a basic tea, with added extras. Coronation chicken sandwiches, warm cheesy croissants, ham and salad beetroot wraps, warm sausage rolls, cheese scones with cream cheese and smoked...More

1  Thank 879Annie105
TheMoat S, Owner at The Moat Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

We are really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit the The Moat Shed . We have some unusual twist to our afternoon tea like you mentioned which are making them more and more popular. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 15 May 2018

We heard about this venue from a friend and so booked a table with some Visiting friends from London. The first thing we noticed was the private helicopter in the field next door, then the sheep grazing in the field next to that. The restaurant...More

1  Thank Nevsue
TheMoat S, Owner at The Moat Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thanks for reviewing us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at The Moat Shed and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We came for a family lunch today with two littlies. The food was overpriced and unimaginative. We ordered the sausages off the children’s menu, at £6 which I felt expensive, and they were totally unsuitable for a child. Dry, overpoweringly peppery sausages with microwaved veg...More

2  Thank disap2011
TheMoat S, Owner at The Moat Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We do remember your visit. We didn’t realise we were unable to provide what you were expecting and are disappointed you both failed to voice your opinion whilst you were here. Instead you both resorted to writing...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Old Rectory Hotel
228 reviews
2.46 km away
Aston Lodge
46 reviews
3.26 km away
Poplars Farm Bed & Breakfast
1 review
6.08 km away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
454 reviews
7.85 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Dickin Arms
173 reviews
2.75 km away
The Drayton Gate
111 reviews
3.20 km away
Junoon Indian Restaurant
86 reviews
2.89 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shropshire Falconry Ltd
72 reviews
2.84 km away
Hawkstone Park Hotel Golf Course
113 reviews
7.53 km away
Moreton Corbet Castle
57 reviews
10.24 km away
Ellesmere Canal
58 reviews
9.97 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Moat Shed staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Northwood Hall,Newtown, SY4 5NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Wem
  • Phone Number: +44 1939 236252
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing