We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plume Restaurant

49A Sharp Road, Matakana 0982, New Zealand
+64 9-422 7915
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (54 reviews)
“grape juice” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
18:00 - 21:30All hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
49A Sharp Road, Matakana 0982, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The best cooked mussels ive had in cafe. Excellnt coffee. There is good parking and lots of quiet corners to enjoy your meal. Staff were.all friendly and helpful

Thank 399cecilc
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi 399cecilc - thank you so much for taking the time to put down this review - we appreciate the same and look forward to seeing you back at Plume!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a GrabOne voucher for a lunch platter, normal price $ 60 discounted to $ 30. Have been to Plume a few times and enjoy the menu however this time was a bit of a let down. The platter was primarily bread, dips, kumara chips...More

Thank Kevin T
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you, Kevin for taking the time to put down this review - the Plume Vineyard Platter consists of "peri-peri prawn skewer kebab, tempura chicken with dipping sauce, hummus, kumara wedges, marinated olives, roast vegetables, chutneys and selection of artisan breads from our bakery in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were lucky enough to call this place our Wedding Venue to our 110 guests. We could not have faulted Plume one bit. The venue and surroundings were perfect for either an outdoor service or indoor for a wet weather option. Farida and her team...More

Thank MarcJarvis
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ah Mark, it was absolutely our pleasure! Thank you for taking the time to put down this review - we really appreciate the same! We are so thrilled to read the comments about our JOY (methode traditionelle Rose) and our food and to know that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I had a enjoyable dinner here, food was very good and service good. would return if in area again

Thank Jeanette R
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Jeanette - it gives us great pleasure to read this review! We look forward to seeing you again at Plume the next time you are in Matakana!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just had lunch at Plume and was really impressed. It is a miserable cold, rainy day and we had a lovely lunch. It was warm on the covered deck with the heaters on. The staff were great and the food was really delicious....More

Thank Lynette B
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Lynette for this wonderful review and for taking the time to actually put it down in writing - we appreciate the same! Look forward to seeing you back at Plume!

Reviewed 14 June 2017

Fantastic venue plenty of room for breakout groups, ( indoor and outdoor if the weather is nice) , excellent friendly service, great food, plenty of good accommodation nearby, altogether a great place to have your team retreatMore

Thank claire403
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Claire - thank you so much for taking the time to put down this review for us - we are so very glad that your conference was a success all round - Matakana is a glorious place for a retreat especially in winter where...More

Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Great food and service. Set in a beautiful vineyard and family friendly. My new favourite in Matakana.

Thank Greg S
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hi Greg and thank you so much for this very precise review! We appreciate the same and look forward to welcoming you back to your new favourite in Matakana!

Reviewed 3 June 2017

A gem of a place to enjoy good food. I'm glad we decided to go to Plume while visiting Matakana, although the day was dull and gloomy the food brought a smile to our faces. Very good service and good ambience. I'm sure on a...More

Thank Asha D
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you Asha D for this lovely review - it is obvious you enjoy your food and we take great pride in reading this review from you. Yes, Summer or Sun Days are just glorious and you have to really come back to Plume when...More

Reviewed 31 May 2017

Visited with friends as it was recommended. Easy parking, stylish entrance and pleasant staff. Kitchen was on show and the professional chefs were a pleasure to watch. Food was tasty and satisfying.More

Thank Karin C
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you Karin - we appreciate the time taken by you to put down this review! Yes, it is such a pleasure to watch the Chefs working in the kitchen - my favourite past time too, in any restaurant! We do hope to see you...More

Reviewed 26 May 2017

We didn't know Matakana but it's a lovely little town with great coffee and food. We found Plume by accident and it had Great food and service and is set within a lovely old heritage cottage.More

Thank Kayrobbo
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hi Kayrobbo - thank you for this lovely review - though it is meant for Plume Café and not for the restaurant! I shall definitely pass it on to the Café Staff who will be thrilled to read the same! We look forward to seeing...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Charlie's Gelato Garden
145 reviews
.26 km away
Ravish
9 reviews
.41 km away
Heron's Flight
40 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Matakana Beach Outfitters
98 reviews
2.82 km away
Brick Bay Sculpture Trail
212 reviews
3.76 km away
Saltwater Eco
44 reviews
2.58 km away
The Local Food Kitchen
42 reviews
2.76 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
stephen2dd
7 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Kevin T | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, no idea
0
Votes
Clint K
7 November 2015|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from shazzzalongley | Reviewed this property |
I am sure that they will be able to accommodate you. I do not like salmon and asked to change the salmon course of our degustation meal to vegetarian, this was no problem at all. The food and service was fantastic, they... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 33
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 15:30
Monday
11:00 - 15:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 15:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 15:30
Thursday
11:00 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
11:00 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
11:00 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 49A Sharp Road, Matakana 0982, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Matakana
  • Phone Number: +64 9-422 7915
Description
Situated just an hour's drive from Auckland or Whangarei, Plume, the vineyard restaurant, Matakana is a must visit destination on any Matakana wine or food journey - we believe we are all about fabulous local New Zealand wine and produce which together can celebrate "culinary diversity." Plume is a small town, rural, rustic restaurant with friendly service from locally employed staff. It is a great change from the starchy fine dining service of a big city like Auckland yet is in a class of its own.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing