Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago

15/23 Perriam Place, Pisa Moorings, Cromwell 9383 New Zealand
Traveller (208)
This picture was taken from the lounge. It shows the upper deck and the other units across the lake.
Room & Suite (96)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Marsden Lake Lake Resort Central offers guests villa accommodation set on the shores of Lake Dunstan. Located 7 km from Cromwell Centre in the neighborhood of sunny Pisa Moorings, Lake Resort provides a picturesque outlook in the heart of Central Otago. The boatshed themed accommodation has one and three bedroom villas with decks and access to the waterway, which are ideal for families. We also offer studio rooms on the upper levels for couples or business stays. The reception team are more than happy to book activities for you such as helicopter flights, Highlands Motorsport Park or a local winery tour. Heritage Lake Resort is central to all local ski fields, making it an ideal base to explore the area. Enjoy Central Otago hospitality whilst only being a 45 minute drive from Queenstown and Wanaka.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Boating
Canoeing
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Mini golf
Water sport equipment rentals
Patio
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
24-hour check-in
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

15/23 Perriam Place, Pisa Moorings, Cromwell 9383 New Zealand
Getting there
Frankton Airport
39.3 km
See all flights
Christchurch Intl Airport
311.1 km
See all flights
440Reviews2Q+A81Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 259
  • 102
  • 52
  • 19
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Holly wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We got married here last week, I can’t even begin to thank Madi enough, she made sure our day exceeded every expectation. The food was phenomenal, and most of our friends chose to eat at the restaurant multiple nights as it was so convenient and delicious! Not to mention the location and views are like a postcard.

For any future brides planning an Otago wedding, you can’t go past this place, value for money and ease of planning it was perfect!

We will be back soon!

Thank you!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from heritagelakeresort, General Manager at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Hi D8844QShollym, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your special day! Thank you for such a great report, we are truly proud that our resort, facilities & team were able to contribute to creating an unforgettable day for yourselves and your friends and family. We also highly appreciate your recommendation of our Resort to others! You have qualified to enter our 'Great Guests' database! Please email us at reviews@lakeresort.co.nz and mention your name/username and date of review to receive a discount code for your next stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon & wish you all the best on your next journey as Mr & Mrs!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole jayne wrote a review Feb 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From arrival/check in to the beautiful resort to checking out everything was perfect.
We arrived at the resort and was greeted by two lovely staff members who were very welcoming, they were friendly with such wonderful customer service skills and enthusiastic about there job and such great smiles ! We were showed exactly were we were staying and how to get there.
On arrival to our apartment we were greeted by a lady who was servicing one of the other units she was very welcoming and warm and explained we could use the garage for parking .
We got in to our apartment and absolutely blown away the room smelt amazing it was lovely and warm it was impeccably clean, the layout and style Was 10 out of 10 it was like walking into a brand-new show home. The view outside was picture perfect the bathroom was amazing such wonderful pressure in the showers , the bed was super comfy like sleeping on clouds the whole facility was beautiful and clean ! In the evenings it was lovely and quiet it felt safe and just like being at home!
The Moorings for the boat were exceptionally cool was wonderful to be able to wake up in the morning go downstairs and take the boat onto the lake.
We have had many Stays around New Zealand at hotels and apartments And to my surprise many of these considered themselves as five star In my opinion the lake resort in Cromwell was the best experience and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay at a 10 star facility !
From now on when visiting anywhere in Central Otago This will be the only place we will stay
Thank you for the amazing experience !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lake Resort, General Manager at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago
Responded 6 Feb 2022
Nicole! Thank you so much! We appreciate it! Please come back and stay with us again soon! I also adored your enthusiasm it was so nice to meet you :) as a reward for your kind words, Please email us at reviews@lakeresort.co.nz and mention your name/username and date of review to receive a discount code for your next visit! see you again soon :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fiesta902 wrote a review Apr 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for six nights while touring the area. Lovely location, very peaceful, and the upper studio unit was spacious for a studio unit. The bathroom had a lovely spa bath and large tiled shower, and the underfloor heating was toasty. The bed was comfortable as well. I must make special mention of the staff who were very friendly and super helpful, even offering and making a breakfast to go for our early departure. This was very much appreciated. We also enjoyed the breakfasts in the restaurant. I would like to mention however that the reason I rated a 4 not 5 was the cleanliness was a little lax and something that could be improved especially in this Covid conscious time, just extra care and attention to detail is required. Also the refrigerator in the room was noisy at night despite being switched to the lowest setting, it still rattled and hummed which did disturb my sleep. This could be remedied by putting a cupboard surround to muffle the sound as I realise there is no avoiding being in the same room as a fridge in a studio apartment.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lake Resort, General Manager at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago
Responded 6 May 2021
Hello There :) Thank you for your review :) We are super happy that your stay was a success and you had an overall positive experience, it is what we strive for here at the Resort. We will investigate the fridge issue and make sure to give the feedback to our house keeping team. We do look forward to you returning to the resort at some stage for another great stay! Take care and see you again some day :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jadenpat wrote a review Mar 2021
Dipton, New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hmmm let’s start with the positives,
The views from the room spectacular, the ducks on the lake the serenity of the surroundings. Clear crisp water, sounds of the birds chirping in the willows surrounding the banks. Beautiful views

The room is entered was a surprise, very warm in the room on the first day of autumn. It had all the amenities that you need for a one night stay, could use with a wee bit of an update for price, but the location is on point

Air conditioning did not work in our room, after ringing reception several times on my own personal cell phone we were greeted by a restaurant manager, and bought us over a fan as the room was unbelievably warm and uncomfortable. The man tried to work the air conditioning unit himself to know avail.

All in all, the hotel was nothing to rave about. To reflect the price of this day I would expect working air conditioning unit, couch in the room to relax on, and a water blast on the deck would not hurt.

Was nice to try but probably wouldn’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lake Resort, General Manager at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago
Responded 5 Mar 2021
Hi Jaden. Yes sometimes tech can fail us at times in this case with the Air conditioning not working 100% We are glad our staff went above and beyond to try help alleviate the issue for you. In reference to the cleanliness of the decking, due to our Beautiful and natural surroundings complete with birds and willdlife, our housekeeping do their best to keep it tidy. Nature is out of our control however on a daily basis. Grateful for you giving us the positives!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bigbdamilky wrote a review Oct 2021
New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful location and views. The cleanliness of the room left alot of doubts about the Heritage hotel taking the Covid restrictions seriously. Upon arrival at the hotel we were told our room was not ready due to extra cleaning and then required sanitization. After an hour we were told our room was ready. Once arriving in our room we were amazed with the views and the size of the room. However, that's where our joy soon turned to disappointment. There were grubby fingerprints and handprints over all the handles and windows. The large glass coffee table was covered in marks from coffee cups, glasses. The glasses in cupboard all covered in fingerprints. The cushion on armchair had a large brown stain on it. The shower had black mold on the grout between the tiles, not to mention the handprints on the glass door. I fail to see how this room was cleaned let alone cleaned the so called extra cleaning to sanitize. For a place selling themselves as a luxury accommodation hotel they set the bar very low. For the price we were paying for the night we would of expected a lot more. Another disappointing thing was upon arrival none of the staff behind the reception desk nor the guy behind the bar were wearing masks. When we informed the lady on the desk about the state of room upon checkout, she said they were short staffed and were struggling to keep up. The lady did offer us a free breakfast. Bit of a lame excuse in regards to the staffing shortage. Especially in these times where cleanliness and germs are at the front of everyone's minds. All I can say is, make sure your cleaners are up to scratch as the views alone wont keep people coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tessa wrote a review Jan 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My Husband and l arrived yesterday at what we thought was going to be luxurious accommodation for our honeymoon.

The room was filthy!!!!!!!! Dead flies on window sills, every surface was thick with dust, cob webs on the ceiling, toilet had mould around the rim of the bowl. There were black hairs in the bottom of the fridge the list goes on!!

We took photos and l cleaned what l could, then in the morning l went and informed reception of the state of the room. They told me the cleaner’s had been under the pump and they would send someone up to clean the room while we were out, she also said she would have the manager call us - neither of which happened!

I also pointed out that the reception was filthy with dirt and dead flies at the entrance .

We also sent a email to the Heritage management with no reply. Nothing from anyone. This was unit 9B and it is the furthest thing from luxury we have ever seen and terrible service especially for people celebrating something as special as their honeymoon!

Shame we can’t show all the pictures of how bad this was. So disappointed. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pat wrote a review Apr 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In February, we enjoyed a relaxing and yet fun filled week in Perriam Place in Cromwell. The condo has three well appointed "suites" so the three couples could each have morning coffee on our own decks, and quiet evening times in private. Yet, the common kitchen living area was the perfect size for us to have chats, meals and "movie times". Decor was tasteful, beds were the best I had anywhere in NZ, and the kitchen had everything I could ever need. Each morning the sun on the main deck, at water level, drew us out so we kayaked in that peaceful time. Lake Dunstan is beautiful with the mountains in the background and lots of green areas along the shore to explore. Sometimes we took picnics and paddled to a nearby "park" watching the various birds along the way. Other days, we donned our hiking shoes and walked the trails to the 48th parallel or to the historic gold fields. The nearby dam, towns, "old Cromwell" and scenery gave us more opportunities than the time we had there. This was certainly a highlight of our trip to New Zealand, and one that we are certainly going to try to repeat!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from heritagelakeresort, General Manager at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago
Responded 26 Apr 2020
Hi Pat_Rees_2020, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review on our property! It is fantastic to read your comments about what you got to experience here at the resort and in our wider area of Cromwell. We truly do have such a unique and special offering! Our villas work perfectly for couples like yourselves to travel and stay together but still have your own privacy to retreat to! And we are very proud of our comfortable beds - all part of the The Heritage Sleep Experience! You have qualified to enter our 'Great Guests' database! Please email us at reviews@lakeresort.co.nz and mention your name/username and date of review to receive a discount code for your next stay with us! We hope to see you all back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon Keen wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ultimate hospitality and amenities and facilities at this resort. We are full of praise for The Heritage Lake Resort Cromwell. The views are spectacular from every room. Love the fact your boat can be parked on the water with your own private mooring. We stayed at unit number 5 and is set up perfectly for families. You are only a minute walk to get your morning coffee from the restaurant on site or any other meal you may desire. Total luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from heritagelakeresort, General Manager at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Hi farrantfarm, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and thank you for your great words! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and visits to our onsite Moorings Restaurant. We are very lucky to be located in such a magic location on the water, a real unique bonus to be able to literally pull up to your room door in a boat! You have qualified to enter our 'Great Guests' database! Please email us at reviews@lakeresort.co.nz and mention your name/username and date of review to receive a discount code for your next stay with us! Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cruizee wrote a review Sept 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a very nice upstairs studio facing away from main lake but still with a view over marina. Our room was warm and clean, beautiful bathroom and best shower ever and stand-alone bath. Some more attention to detail though would turn this accommodation into 5 star. Bathroom needs proper blind not a sun-shade as open to neighbouring houses at night. Heating vent is in ceiling above bed so if left on overnight draught blows directly on you, vanes would not adjust via main control. Only one bedside table on one side and one halogen lamp, no ambient lighting in room at all. Large couch jammed against bed on other side. No smoking policy including balcony according to room info yet ashtray on outside table.
For the tariff charged I would expect things perfect, however we still enjoyed our stay and the setting is beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lake Resort, General Manager at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago
Responded 27 Dec 2020
Hi cruizee, thank you for your review, and thank you for your positive comments. Our showers are great aren't they! We have also taken on your suggestions and passed these on to the villa owner (villas are privately owned) to improve on the points you mentioned. We hope to see you back here again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shane B wrote a review Nov 2020
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In all our travels there have literally only been a couple of motels/hotels/resorts we have been to that we would go back to the place just to stay there again this is one of them, We will go back to Cromwell primarily to spend at least two nights at the Heritage Collection Lake Resort.

We had a west facing (to get the afternoon sun) ground floor suite which was one of the largest suites we have ever stayed in. Quality furniture a kitchen most people would be proud to have in their home. Large deck you can sit and have a drink at or watch the trout play in the water just below you.

Even had a shared Laundry (shared with two other units) and soap powder provided.

Would run out of superlatives if I described everything.

We are both looking forward to coming back to Cromwell to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: West facing bottom suite that goes out directly on to large deck,
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lake Resort, General Manager at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago
Responded 27 Dec 2020
Hi Shane B, thank you for your 5 star review! Wow we are so pleased by your comments! We pride ourselves on our well equipped and spacious rooms to ensure you feel at home during your stay with everything you need. Your review has qualified you to enter our 'Great Guests' database! Please email us at reviews@lakeresort.co.nz and mention your name/username and date of review to receive a discount for your next visit with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Margaret M
Oamaru, New Zealand88 contributions10 helpful votes
No lift. The stairs are narrow, carpeted with one turn around. Not too many!
Answer from George P
Regina, Canada37 contributions43 helpful votes
There was no elevator in the unit we rented. The top floor is essentially one floor (one flight) up
DerekHulme wrote a tip Feb 2024
Jannali, Australia266 contributions115 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher floor room"
Read full review
TeePodd wrote a tip Nov 2022
Cremorne, Australia594 contributions197 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Suggest you request a room facing the water views as the other option ( mountain view) is not as nice by far"
Read full review
sweetpeapb1 wrote a tip May 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand142 contributions42 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"lake views were with all rooms so no problem"
Read full review
Lyn C wrote a tip Jan 2022
28 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware there are no privacy/net curtains and so the people facing you can see in... You need to actually ask to find out information at reception."
Read full review
Haddie on holiday wrote a tip Jan 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand94 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"For afternoon sun - room facing west - numbers 13 upwards?? If you like morning sun and to be close to the restaurant rooms 1-12 are better"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pisa Moorings area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$161 - AU$213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Heritage Boutique Lake Resort
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionCentral OtagoCromwellPisa Moorings
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARSDEN LAKE RESORT CENTRAL OTAGO (AU$161) - 2024 Prices & Reviews (Pisa Moorings, New Zealand) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago
Which popular attractions are close to Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago?
Nearby attractions include Cromwell Heritage Precinct (7.9 km), Cromwell Fruit Sculpture (6.7 km), and nzbiketrails (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door, The Stoaker Room Bistro & Bar, and Fusee Rouge Cafe.
Is Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Pisa Moorings.
Are any cleaning services offered at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bendigo Historic Reserve (10.2 km).
FlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars