We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse

Booking.comUSD 116*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 116*
USD 116*
USD 116*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 74: English reviews
Start your review of St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked Sunday Lunch in order to see what the atmosphere and service was like, this was after messaging the proprietors via social media enquiring as to whether they could offer Afternoon Tea after our Wedding ceremony in the forthcoming December. Unfortunately they chose not to answer our request. This I found quite unprofessional, if not rude!! The Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smantypile
Hazel B, Manager at St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse, responded to this review

Really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to us for your Sunday lunch most people find the ambience with the log burners and listed building very pleasant. Unfortunately we have not received any message/email regarding a afternoon tea in December, had you mentioned this when you were in I could have informed you of this and...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We arrived to a warm welcome and were shown to the dining room and told where the bar was in case we wanted to buy drinks before our meal. There was plenty of room to park our cars so no worries about having to be called out mid-meal to move. We were mostly seated on tables for 10 people and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank penguin511
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This place is lovely. Out of the way and a real feel of the country for us townsfolk! My husband and I stayed here for a night. The building is lovely and we had such a lovely warm welcome. There are a couple of dogs who live here and are very very friendly. Really well behaved too, not being allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Excellent accommodation with huge rooms and great views (albeit through the scaffolding when we were there!) However this is a guest house with the family living on the premises and only a few guest rooms. Lovely breakfast very specifically cooked to order......but make sure you eat it all!!! Owner does not like waste. Need a front door key to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NigelPowell
East Yorks
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Great location for what we needed. Family room that was large. Window didn't open at one end but given air con unit, shower was cold and beds were not made on our return after our first day out. Plenty of parking, breakfast good, amazing house,friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wowzy2001
Hazel B, Owner at St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about the shower, we were not aware there was a problem. This has now been sorted.

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

we arrived at St,Nicholas country house for a stay of one night as my brother was getting married on the Saturday,After a two hour drive up from Essex we checked in where we had to pay before we had even got up to our room.This I find very strange.I booked this in late March online and had even organised early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 321caz
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

What a find! Booked here as all Peterborough hotels full but came out with a real winner. This must rate as one of the best and friendliest welcomes I have ever had, made to feel very much at home. Room is superb and great breakfast. Highly recommended. We will certainly be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

3 of us went here today for afternoon tea. We were warmly welcomed by the host & the beautiful black Labrador. We were shown into a lovely big sunny room & given a table overlooking the garden. The food was faultless & plentiful. Beautifully presented & a great selection given. Well worth visiting & we will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 16corky06
Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Lovely house, sized bedrooms and gardens that's about all the positives I can say... Unfortunately this 'House' and I emphasis house as the host so aggressively reminded me is let down by the unprofessional, incredibly rude and inflexible owner. Firstly let me start by saying I have stayed here several times and have been disgusted by the sheer lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shpaniel
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Stayed here on a business trip. Wont be doing that again! The hostess is pure rude and treats you like you are a hindrance and not a guest. I'd rather stay in the Travelodge which I despise than be treat the way i have been here. Avoid at all costs!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ollie W

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spalding
21.9 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spalding
258 reviews
22.1 km away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Spalding
79 reviews
23.9 km away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.3 km away
The William Cecil at Stamford
21.7 km away
Cley Hall Hotel
Cley Hall Hotel
#2 of 16 in Spalding
161 reviews
20.1 km away
Woodhouse Farm Lodge
Woodhouse Farm Lodge
#1 of 16 in Spalding
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a boutique country house. We offer a friendly relaxed environment to stay, in large suites and comfortable double rooms, the family rooms provides a double and a single room through an open archway, giving considerable privacy to the additional person. We also provide function facilities, for meetings, birthdays, anniversaries etc. We offer afternoon cream teas on Thursday, Friday and Saturday by appointment, As well as Sunday Lunches also advisable to book. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse

Address: Main Road | Deeping St. Nicholas, Spalding PE11 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Spalding
Price Range: $131 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse Spalding, Lincolnshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One as far away from the host as possible, preferably in the next town.”
370olliew, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a suite”
Markb1967134, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are large and very clean and comfortable.”
B2266TLbarbarah, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Big windows with countryside views.”
dmc42607, 2 May 2015 | Read review
“All rooms were of very high standard and beautifully furnished. We stayed in one of the family rooms which was well equipped for a families needs.”
Charlwhite727, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 116* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUSD 116
TripAdvisorUSD 116
PricelineUSD 116
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates