We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mpekweni Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Alfred
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mpekweni Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
Start your review of Mpekweni Beach Resort
 Click to rate
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

With out doubt the best beach view i have ever seen and heard, not so much because the beach is beautiful, this is a given, more so because the chalets we occupied were literally 5 meters from the beach..... literally. The rooms are spacious with all the amenities one would need, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan T
Bathurst, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a beach front room which offers one a beautiful view of the pristine beach and river. The service is excellent and staff friendly, professional and well presented. Although there was a big conference happening whilst we were there, this in no way affected our stay. The buffet for breakfast and dinner was outstanding with a fantastic choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 412donnae
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear 412donnae Thank you for taking time out to share your experience of our Resort on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a great time. We we look forward to your next visit especially with our brand new Wellness centre opening soon. Kind Regards Colin

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We called here as it was lunchtime and it was unlikely to find much else for some time. What a lovely surprise. We sat by the pool, wandered around the grounds, then had bar snack lunches which were really tasty. A wedding was going on at the time, and all the guests were so friendly and happy, pity we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wrinkleytraveller
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wrinkleytraveller Thank you for your review of Mpekweni. We're equally glad you found us and we hope that you will return in the near future and experience our hospitality further. Kind Regards Colin

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just held another good conference at Mpekweni. The delegates are happy and everyone enjoyed their stay. The conference venue is very good and the sound quality is excellent - there are very few venues where we receive no complaints about the quality of the sound in the conference venue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rozp283
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear rozp283 Thank you for your review and patronage. We're equally pleased that your delegates were happy with the venue. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort and we will strive to achieve 5-stars. Kind Regards Colin

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Book a sea facing beach room and you can't get closer to perfect open and clean Eastern Cape seaside. Walk to your hearts content on the beach. The food was surrisingly good and staff very pleasant. Good value for money. Weekends may be busy so a midweek break is recommended for great downtime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stephen L Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a great time. FYI weekends are generally quieter than midweek. We look forward to your return. Best Regards Colin

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The Mpekweni Resort has well appointed rooms with quiet air conditioning. The buffet meals are well thought out and well cooked. The conference rooms are well attended to. The miniature golf, river cruises, volley ball, gym, fresh water pool and tennis courts allow delegates or guests to relax and unwind. The only down side is that it is about a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rod S Thank you for sharing your views of Mpekweni with fellow Tripavisors. We are pleased that you enjoyed some of the facilities on offer and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the chef. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Colin

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 2 February 2017

My husband and I needed to have a well earned break, we went to Mpekweni resort for 8 days. The food was once again fantastic and the chefs and the staff make you feel so at home and welcome. we were offered an upgrade when we arrived but unfortunately I have a back and hip problem so the stairs would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sandra D Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at Mpekweni with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Colin

South Africa
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We stayed at Mpekweni for 3 nights over new year. What a fabulous relaxing, indulgent stay. We couldn't believe our luck when we heard on arrival that we had been upgraded to a beach room. Thank you Nomfu! I don't know what we did to deserve it but boy are are we so delighted that that was what happened. Those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EleonoraSouthAfrica
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear EleonoraSouthAfrica Thank you for taking the time out to post your comments on your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to all concerned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the foreseeable future. Regards Colin

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

We have recently had a few days here, what a great place for some family fun, they cater for all ages with great kids activities to keep the kids entertained whilst the adults can just relax. The rooms are clean and the pretty spacious, just make sure you ask for a walk in shower instead of a shower in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hospitality S
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hospitality S We are pleased that you and your family had a great time at Mpekweni. Thank you for your patronage and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. Regards Colin

Reviewed 22 November 2016

We have held a conference here and will be again next year. I stayed here recently for a night and thoroughly enjoyed my room on the beach. The food was very good. It is a lovely quiet beach where you can go for long walks without seeing anyone else. The beach-view rooms are the best as you are right on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rozp283
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear rozp283 Thank you for taking the time and airing your views on TripAdvisor. We're equally pleased that you had a great time at the Resort. We look forward to seeing you again in the forseeable future. Kind Regards Colin

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
14.9 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
26.9 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
36.0 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
288 reviews
36.4 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
267 reviews
37.0 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#2 of 17 in Port Alfred
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whatever your budget and preferences, Mpekweni has a room type to suit your needs. Choose from our range of inter-leading shower rooms and family deck rooms with pool views, to lagoon-facing rooms and beachfront twin rooms. Mpekweni Beach Resort is the ideal getaway destination to reconnect with family. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mpekweni Beach Resort

Address: R72 Coastal Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Hotel Class:3 star — Mpekweni Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Also Known As:
Mpekweni Beach Hotel East London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mpekweni Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
East London, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mpekweni Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take the chalets on the beach”
 of 5 bubbles 532brendant, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beach front room is awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles 412donnae, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“beach front rooms”
 of 5 bubbles SandraD792, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go out of season, beach-view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles rozp283, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea facing rooms are awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles 738vanig, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5