We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,031: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

As many other reviews say pools and view are fabulous. Shame that with such a magic environment they can't guarantee Kempinski international standards. As soon as we entered the hotel the security guy opened my luggage without even asking and he started moving my clean clothes without even wearing gloves. We arrived at 1:30pm and the room was not ready...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Greta F
Sebastien , General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review

Dear Greta F, We know your time is valuable; therefore, we would like to thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with the traveler’s community here at TripAdvisor. On behalf of myself and the rest of the team, I would like to offer you my deepest apologies for the frustration you have experienced during your stay. Your valuable feedback is...

Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

This is my seventh time stay at this amazing hotel. We were impressed by the service and the staff as always. I want to give a big thank you to Ahmad Smadi and Farah Michael from the front line staff. And a big big thank you to the hotel dinamo John, thank you for your dedication and great service and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeries S
Sebastien , General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jeries, Thank you very much for staying with us, it is an honor to receive your wonderful review on Tripadvisor that evaluates Kempinski Hotel Ishtar – Dead Sea, spoils us with your kind words, and a fantastic rating. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found everything implacable. Thank you for praising our...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2015

The resort is huge. It is essentially two hotels in one. We checked in at the main building and were taken by golf cart to our suite in the Ishtar section of the resort. The next day all operational facilities had been moved to the Ishtar facilities making the original reception area feel like a ghost town. I think it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MMthetruth
Sebastien , General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us, it is an honor to receive your wonderful review on Tripadvisor that evaluates Kempinski Hotel Ishtar – Dead Sea, spoils us with your kind words, and a fantastic rating. We deeply appreciate your comments on the service, staff and rooms. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and knowledgeable staff....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We stayed in the hotel for a short break during the Eid holiday. Our room was on the ground floor and rather smaller than expected. Nevertheless it was still nicely furnished, clean and the complimentary mini bar was well stocked. The main problem was the awful sewage smell which could not be masked by the aromatic diffusers. We reported the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinka29
Sebastien , General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property with us on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar – Dead Sea. Rest assured we take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve. Allow me to apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered while...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Very nice hotel by the dead sea, great view, good service and beautiful swimming pools. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was spacious with a nice balcony. A good place for a short getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hanene S
Columbia
Reviewed 9 October 2015

I recently went to Jordan for vacation and our first weekend we went to the fabulous Kempinski Ishtar Dead Sea. It was truly amazing! Beautiful property with amazing access to the Dead Sea. The room we were in had a lovely balcony with a view. The staff were friendly and helpful. It's a very large hotel with so many pools...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank amartColumbia
Sebastien , General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us, it is an honor to receive your wonderful review on Tripadvisor that evaluates Kempinski Hotel Ishtar – Dead Sea, spoils us with your kind words, and a fantastic rating. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found everything implacable. We look forward to welcoming...

Nazareth, Israel
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We just came back from a short family vacation from this amazing hotel ..... and it was only by a coincidence that i booked this hotel , leaving one of the neighbouring hotels disappointed , after i spent 1 night. By the time you enter the hotel , you will feel the luxurious atmosphere , either by its staff or...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rami n
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewed 7 October 2015

I was very excited to spend a few days at the Dead Sea, and Kempinski came highly recommended. As with all Kempinski hotels that I've been to, the room furniture and amenities are overused and need some "touch-ups". We did have an issue at check in where our requested rooms were "not available" but at a higher price they could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taiba A
Sebastien , General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review

Dear Taiba A, Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and comments regarding your recent stay in Kempinski Hotel Ishtar – Dead Sea. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our staff, but regret that your stay with us was not as you had hoped. We are sorry that in any case our services...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2015

My wife and I initially enjoyed our stay and the facilities at Kempinski until the morning following our first dinner at their buffet restaurant (Obelisk). We both woke up with terrible diarrhea, abdominal cramps, and fever that ruined the rest of our vacation. For the high prices they charge there, one would think that they would hire cooks who at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank themeek101
Sebastien , General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent vacation stay with us. I have to say I was dismayed to hear of your experience and would like to do what I can to restore your faith in our hotel. At the outset, we regret very much that you did not...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Kempinski Ishtar is luxury of one kind in Jordan, certainly it is well situated, huge luxury complex with 9 swimming pools and many restaurants. Our booking was done by travel agent and that may be the reason why we got the smallest room available with the smallest terrace (room # 3110). The advantage was that we could access the terrace...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maggie1508
Sebastien , General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property with us. I am pleased to hear you liked your overall stay with us; our staff, services, as well as our facilities. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior especially with a huge property like ours in such unique place....

2,266 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2213)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (424)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (484)
Viewed
Room/Suite (196)
Viewed
Dining (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (83)
Viewed
View from Room (102)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (841)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
0.2 km away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
655 reviews
5.8 km away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#6 of 9 in Sweimah
449 reviews
1.9 km away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Price Range: $260 - $996 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a room that's sea facing, and closer to the pools to avoid having to walk too much.”
Humaidmansoor, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I found all rooms are Perfect and comfortable”
alyassin70, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“mini suite is enough for parents and 2 children”
alhalawi, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You must stay in the rooms overlooking the sea, and not the high rise apartments at the front.”
tbagnall2017, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a Villa - they are amazing and have almost a walk in pool at their balcony.”
TravisS267, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5