We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Granville Le Grand Large

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Granville Le Grand Large
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel was ok. Rooms good. We had two rooms for our party. The twin had a great view from the balcony. Double was nothing special. Staff could be a lot better. Quite disconnected and vague for a Mercure. Would try somewhere else on our next stay. Didn't stop for breakfast. 15Euros is way too excessive p/person.

Helpful?
Thank Colette L
Edgefield, South Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Check was fast. Really nice people. Room was clean but small. Be prepared to have a shower right there in your bathroom. No divider. Wash and dryer on premise but hidden away in a storage closet. Staff was very helpful in using it. Had quick dinner there. It was good and wait staff nice. Parking is limited if not at... More 

Helpful?
Thank redrayandredkay
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

If this is the best hotel in Granville god help the rest... great location in the centre of town and over looking the beach but that's were it ends. Staff or should I say Helene was really unfriendly, rude and unhelpful total lack of customer service skills.

Helpful?
Thank 59Kevin2013
MARYLENE M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Granville Le Grand Large, responded to this review

Dear sir, To whom it may concerned , i invite the client to write me personnaly to explain the reason why , he decide to spoil my employ . i would like to know " What' s happened" , you are not allowed to be so rude " without any good reason . Marylene Menard More 

Marylebone
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here several times because it's the best hotel in Granville. First difference is how much stronger the Wifi is this year . I think on rainy days the number of guests on the web at the same time must be colossal. And lt appears there is no limit to the number of appliances that can be connected... More 

Helpful?
Thank Petermaxlyte
MARYLENE M, Responsable relations publiques at Mercure Granville Le Grand Large, responded to this review

Dear Mr Peter Many thanks for your commentary. We will welcome your next year which great pleasure. Marylene More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We have stayed here at least once a year for about the last 10 years. The hotel is very comfortable with great rooms some of which have balconies with a sea view. The staff are all very friendly. The breakfast is fantastic served in a room with panoramic views over the beach up the Cherbourg peninsula. The hotel is right... More 

Helpful?
Thank DB1605
MARYLENE M, Responsable relations publiques at Mercure Granville Le Grand Large, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Many thanks for your complemetary, Waiting to welcome you soon. Best regards Marylene Menard More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel, good sized room with a small balcony. Great breakfast buffet. A good location very close to most things of interest in this small town. 👍😊 There are quite steep climbs or stairs to get down to the main town square so if you have a problem with that you may choose another hotel. On the other side... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mats I
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We enjoyed a week at Le Grand Large and it was a pleasant enough experience. The room was ok, well equipped and with a good size balcony. Breakfast was fine during the week when the hotel was quiet but on the Saturday it was extremely busy and certain items ran out and simply weren't replenished which was a bit surprising.... More 

Helpful?
Thank NW G
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Bad experience as a club Accor member. Having booked a privilege room, I was entitled to a free welcoming drink BUT only one drink when we were 2 people in the room... In that type of room, no complimentary mineral water available, no glass in the bathroom, just plastic cups. Another bad point: parking price 9 euros in a difficult... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank bernardbali72
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2016

This hotel does everything you would expect of the Mercure Brand, good quality basics without being amazing and this hotel follows suit with this. Location is excellent and staff are professional and friendly. Rooms are comfortable and bed is good quality. However, this hotel needs some attention to cleaning and redecoartion/maintenance, all areas from the outside entrance, into the lobby,... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrRedLondon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016

An attractively designed Hotel. Close to Cenre and to promenade. My room was comfortable and with all conveniences.Bed was excellent and soundproofing meant little external noise came into the room ensuring a good nights sleep.Breakfast was high quality and included English.I was grateful for 06:30 opening because I needed to leave before 07:30. I highly recommend this Hotel. If you... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gerald T

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (175)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville
0.7 km away
Ibis Granville Le Herel
Ibis Granville Le Herel
#1 of 7 in Granville
479 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel des Bains
Hotel des Bains
#4 of 7 in Granville
253 reviews
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Baie
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Ba...
#1 of 1 in Donville-les-Bains
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Au Bout Du Quai
Au Bout Du Quai
#3 of 7 in Granville
49 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo
3.8 km away
Ibis Budget Granville
Ibis Budget Granville
#5 of 7 in Granville
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3 star Mercure Granville Le Grand Large enjoys a quiet cliff top location looking out to the Chausey Islands. Close to the town centre, the casino, the Dior Museum, Mont St Michel and the boat terminal for crossings to the Chausey Islands, Jersey andGuernsey. The hotel forms part of the Previthal thalassotherapy centre with direct access to the steam bath and jacuzzi as well as the treatment centre. Solarium, lounge bar and terrace with panoramic views. Direct access to the beach. Secure parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Granville Le Grand Large

Address: 5 rue de la Falaise | B.P. 617, 50400 Granville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Granville
Price Range: $105 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Granville Le Grand Large 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Granville Le Grand Large reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel Granville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Granville Le Grand Large staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mercure Granville Le Grand Large staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely worth paying for a Sea View Room”
  • View from balcony of 109
 of 5 bubbles CrystalRose54, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a standard room with balcony or pay more for superior which guarantees a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 264colinm, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“To have a room of decent size consider the premium room”
 of 5 bubbles kooka54, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Spoil yourself, have a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Pro-Flyer, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were on bottom floor with limited view. Suggest a high floor”
 of 5 bubbles redrayandredkay, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay