We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Estuary Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 236: English reviews
Port Edward
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were well received at Reception. The rooms were clean and neat. The restaurant staff were excellent during meal times --- especially Happiness who went out of her way ensure that everyone well was served well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunny D
Port Edward
Reviewed 1 week ago

good accommodation, but poor services from waiters and bartender, as well as good meal as i had the roasted leg of lamb with veg but a few items in my dish was spoilt, the therapists at the spa were excellent but there was a slight lack of communication between staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leeandraandraveenp
King William's Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is tranquil and have a magnificent seaview. The staff is very friendly and hospitable and they go all out to make one feel comfortable. The overall service is par excellence. I always recommend this hotel to my friends, family and colleagues. Their loyalty programme has rewarded me with free weekends with breakfast included. I always look forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thandiswan2016
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great stay. Friendly and accommodating staff. Well worth it! The hotel has beautiful views and well positioned in terms of location. Staff are friendly and courteous. The breakfast was amazing. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yakshinin
Port Edward
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Scenery is beautiful, rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Location is perfect. Staff is friendly however not very accurate when it comes to bills/ refunding money. An excellent venue for a wedding or a party. I will certainly visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soloshnim
LadyL69, General Manager at The Estuary Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear soloshnim, Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you had a great stay. Take Care, Liesl Schonken

Port Edward
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a good outing for my wife and i.is both are satisfied with everything...the bar needs an experienced barmen and more service needed when busy...prices to be checked as they are higher than normal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 528pjv
LadyL69, General Manager at The Estuary Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 528pjv, Thank you for your review, we will most certainly do so. Please travel safe and take care, Liesl Schonken

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service quality needs attention. From reservation on wards. Room was not reserved as requested. I had specifically requested room number 320 and was reserved for me. When i got there, i was informed it was allocated already. I was then given another room not to my liking. It was a bit too late to look for an accommodation at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psingh123
LadyL69, General Manager at The Estuary Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear psingh123, Thank you for your review. We can understand that you fell in love with room 320 and we apologize that it was not available for you when you arrived. The difficult part is psingh123 is when a GUEST extends their stay for an additional night. We are not able to move the extended GUEST and therefore had to...

Umtentweni
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The overall experience of the hotel and staff was excellent. My only complaint was that the room was booked for 3 adults and only 2x towels, cups, etc. were supplied. An additional cup was given, when asked for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ingridb114
LadyL69, General Manager at The Estuary Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear ingridb114, Thank you for great review! Please accept our apology for the oversight. We hope to see you soon and welcome to our family. Take Care, Liesl Schonken

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a good stay me and my family. And i also noticed a lot of improvemt from the hotel. i loved service from staff, as they were once my colleage i didnt expect such service from them. Thank you fam.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sduduzo
LadyL69, General Manager at The Estuary Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sduduzo, Welcome to our family! Yes thank you we are transforming our beautiful hotel at the moment and we hope you will come back soon to enjoy it with us. Take Care, Liesl Schonken

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Hotel website does not have the Spa pieces because it is run separately from the Hotel. Use the special offers, but make sure what you are going to pay for anything else. Went there to use a special offer on pedi / mani and gelish then ended up paying more than usual because the gelish soak was a rip-off....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christien H

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Edward
12.8 km away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
3.7 km away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#2 of 4 in Port Edward
193 reviews
152.6 km away
Premier Hotel Edwardian
Premier Hotel Edwardian
#4 of 4 in Port Edward
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Zesty Guesthouse
Zesty Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Port Edward
41 reviews
39.1 km away
Kapenta Bay Hotel and Conference Resort
11.3 km away
Days At Sea Beach Lodge
Days At Sea Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Trafalgar
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An idyllic location with breathtaking views of the estuary, sea, beach and breakers. A picturesque walk through the estate affords direct access onto Silver Beach, the main Port Edward bathing beach. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, family holiday, conference, wedding or special occasion. Brides are spoilt for choice with a traditional wedding in our chapel, a relaxed ceremony on the beautiful garden terrace or an informal affair on the beach. A nursery, play area and games room provide activities that the whole family can enjoy. Wild Waves Water Park at the Wild Coast Sun is a mere 5 minutes away by car and is a popular attraction. The hotel is a golfer's jewel with several prestigious golf courses nearby. There's lots to do or you may want to simply chill at the pool, hang out at the beach or indulge your senses and be pampered at the spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Estuary Hotel & Spa

Address: R61 National Road, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Price Range: $122 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Estuary Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Estuary Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Estuary Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Estuary Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with sea views are the best in my opinion.”
 of 5 bubbles Shakeel82, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahS708, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for sea facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles dilipv83, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Speak to helpful manager Nombuso.....”
 of 5 bubbles seatravelor, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles michelle_bridger, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay