We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Vuna Valley

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Vuna Valley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We had a visit on the 12-14 if august.sarah and her partber were so warm welcoming even thiugh we cheched in very late they were up waighting fir us. The place was clean I mean the linen the beds were comfy just the kitchen that needs a bit if improvement the sink cupboard was not in good condition but ither... More 

Helpful?
Thank okuhle
sezi2014, Manager at Vuna Valley, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We have since redone the kitchen cupboard and have started building a decent sized braai as well. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again soon! More 

Phalaborwa, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Thanks to Sarah and her hubby for being so friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay at Vuna Valley and would recommend it to anyone who wants to visit the Port Edward area. We'll be sure to book in with them again if we're ever back there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 339anjev
sezi2014, Manager at Vuna Valley, responded to this review

Hi, I apologize for the late response. Thank you for visiting Vuna Valley. We are always happy to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay. Please do visit us again soon. More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016

have been there in April , the place is old and neglected , drive way is bad , room was ok for a back packers place but has a stale smell and dirty linen. The owner need to take pride in his place, if they make the rooms attractive and maybe tile it , make the bathroom presentable etc they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 545jeromef
sezi2014, Manager at Vuna Valley, responded to this review

Good afternoon. We have recently upgraded, painted and refurnished the bedrooms and are now building braai areas and expanding the swimming pool area as well. The cats have been removed, they were strays that had made themselves at home, and were also beneficial in controlling rats and snakes, but they are all gone now. You are welcome to visit us... More 

Travellers are raving about these Port Edward hotels

Queenstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

My partner and myself visited Vuna Valley from the 5th to the 8th of November 2015. On arrival I was already unimpressed with the driveway. It is very steep (which I understand due to its location) and not maintained to the extent that you have to carefully move about when driving up and down due to "potholes " These can... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter B
sezi2014, Manager at Vuna Valley, responded to this review

Good evening, Carla and Pieter When you were asked if you were happy with your accommodation you responded that you were very happy. The room you were in is actually the management room when needed and we offered it to you at a substantial discount as it WAS THE ONLY ROOM WITH DOUBLE bed available. I personally tested the bedside... More 

Midrand
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Lovely location just out of town, very quiet and relaxing! Comfortable accommodation and very clean. Both the owner and staff are very friendly and welcoming! 24 hour security. Definitely a place to visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank debbieking2015
sezi2014, Manager at Vuna Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We would love to have you back again. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The accomodation was not as we expected it to be from seeing the pictures on their website. Our room was not clean, bedsheets were dirty, cabinet smelled bad and it was dust around. The matresses were old and outworn. If you ever saw the owners they were nice but you hardly ever saw them and the lodge was sometimes not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sinah P
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Terrible property,actually turned around and left,nothing like what the web site looks like.dirty,miffed,looks unsafe etc Left lost our money (understandable) but no body called and to date not a call to find out reason why we just left and found alternative accom.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve E
sezi2014, Manager at Vuna Valley, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt the need to post such a review. We went out of our way to change your room when you arrived, bringing you nearer the main buildings, and in to an upgraded accommodation. I did contact you when you left and was told that you had decided to stay closer to the beach. This is... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Lovely couple, very helpful and close to town. Lovely view and cosy rooms. Wonderful idea to have the communal tv room with wonderful games and very accommodating even though we were constantly late . Thank you !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shannon G
sezi2014, Owner at Vuna Valley, responded to this review

Good morning. Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here, please visit us again soon. More 

Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm so glad I found this awesome space, after 3 days of heavy travel to arrive and find such a warm welcome and such a beautiful room .wow I was elated.Your hosts are Sarah and Mark and they know this area so well and are excellent ambassadors. Oh yes I had a wonderful hot bath and slept like a baby.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nomind_Nomad
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

drive way is not in good condition no rugs o floor mat in the bedrooms we visited in winter so the rooms were cold and we were not informed whether the air conditioner is operating in summer and winter.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lushaba N

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Edward hotels
1.9 km away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#2 of 4 in Port Edward
193 reviews
4.9 km away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
236 reviews
3.7 km away
Zesty Guesthouse
Zesty Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Port Edward
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Kuboboyi River Lodge
Kuboboyi River Lodge
#4 of 14 in Port Edward
38 reviews
0.7 km away
Umtamvuna River Lodge
Umtamvuna River Lodge
#5 of 10 in Port Edward
15 reviews
0.9 km away
Far Horizon Lodge
Far Horizon Lodge
#4 of 10 in Port Edward
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Vuna Valley is a magical place where comfort and nature meet on the banks of the majestic Umtamvuna River, on the border of Kwazulu Natal and Eastern Cape (Transkei). Here you will be forgiven for thinking (and acting) like you're at home. 5 minutes from the quaint town of Port Edward, the Wild Coast Sun casino, Wild waves waterpark and Silver beach, Vuna Valley is far enough to feel like you've escaped, yet close enough to keep your finger on the pulse. Our rooms are simple but clean and comfortable, with airconditioners and private patios with views of the gorge or the gardens. Our large entertainment area is perfect for small rustic functions or romantic dinners for two. We offer self catering, B&B or full catering options. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vuna Valley

Address: PO Box 52 | Banners Rest, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Price Range: $43 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Vuna Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vuna Valley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Orange Room”
 of 5 bubbles beeboaden, 15 Oct 2013 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay