We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bondi Backpackers

Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (4)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Located seconds from the sand and surf, Bondi Backpackers boasts one of the best views of one of Sydney’s most iconic destinations – Bondi Beach. Making it perfect for travellers wishing to experience the amazing beach culture of Bondi and its surrounds. The recently refurbished property is home to a spacious rooftop furnished with umbrellas & deck chairs showcasing panoramic views of Bondi Beach, the coastline and its surrounds. The multi-story hostel offers a range of room types from private twin and double rooms to 4 and 6 share mixed dorms with a number of premium dorm options looking straight over Bondi Beach. Bondi Backpackers plays host to a range of complimentary lifestyle activities such as rooftop yoga classes, personal training sessions and walking tours along the picturesque Bondi to Bronte coastline. For guests looking to try their hand at Australia’s most famous past time - free surfboard hire is also on offer. After a day of fitness and fun guests can unwind and mingle with a selection of weekly social events, from beach BBQs to wine & cheese nights and the not be missed; famous Aussie BBQ – every Friday night on the rooftop! For those wanting to venture further - the very best of Bondi’s vibrant nightlife lies right at their doorstep waiting to be explored.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Neighbourhood
Bondi Beach
An iconic Australian suburb, Bondi Beach is famous for its fantastic beaches and views. Once the domain of backpackers, hundreds of tourists from all over the world descend en masse to Bondi in December ready to enjoy the "Aussie summer". Bondi Beach boasts impressive ocean views all along the many restaurants and bars on Campbell Parade. Wake up early and take a dip in the surf before walking the scenic stretch from Bondi to Coogee Beach. Stroll through the Saturday organic markets in North Bondi or grab some fish and chips and relax in the grassy area opposite the beach. For more upscale cuisine, head down to Hall Street where a range of new eateries have recently opened. Just make sure to save enough energy for the buzzing nightlife Bondi Beach has to offer.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
Reviews & more
128Reviews
109Photos
3Q+A
12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 19
  • 7
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here for a month. Had a great time, staff were all super friendly. Loads of activities throughout the week, free PT and yoga classes! Can’t beat the location, right on the beach. Would definitely stay here again! 10/10
Read more
Response from WakeUpTeam, General Manager at Bondi Backpackers
Responded 2 days ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and for your perfect rating. I am so stoked you had sucha great experience with us. I will certainly share all the kind words with the whole team here. Thanks again. Management
Read more
It was a good place, very nice staff and clean except for the toilets in the bathrooms that where full from the day I arrived. WiFi was bad. The where making lots of construction so the noise was expected, wish they noise started after 8 am.
Read more
Response from WakeUpTeam, General Manager at Bondi Backpackers
Responded 2 days ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and for the rating. I am glad overall you had a great experience with us. I must apologise about some of the issues you faced with us. I am not to sure what you mean by full bathrooms? we have brand new bathrooms on all open floors which get cleaned and checked multiple times daily by our staff to maintain our high standards and are usually a point of positive feedback from guests. The whole of Bondi experienced an unusual outage from out internet suppliers last week which was fixed by Friday afternoon, so you will be pleased to hear everything is back up and running at full speed. Thanks again for your feedback. Management
Read more
I had the dorm with sea view. Amazing! The staff are very friendly and helpful. They make you feel welcome. I did miss the powerplug and a light at each bed. The bed made quite a lot of noise as well. BUT the rooms and the building was clean, also the bathroom/shower was really
Read more
Response from WakeUpTeam, General Manager at Bondi Backpackers
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Zita V, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback and for the great rating. I am so stoked you had such a great experience with us. The view rooms are great for lounging in bed and looking at the best beach in the world. I will certainly look into the bed situation straight away thanks for letting me know! We are also about to install powerpoints and lights for every bed so watch this space. See you again soon. Management
Read more
Stayed here for 15 nights. Great location, super clean, fun (free) activities to do, friendly and helpful straff (shout out to Jaime!) and a stunning sunset view from the rooftop. So other than an uncomfortable pillow and a hand dryer not working, my time at bondi packpackers
Read more
Response from WakeUpTeam, Manager at Bondi Backpackers
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and for your rating. I am so happy you had such an enjoyable experience with us. I will certainly pass on your kind words with the whole reception team here who work incredibly hard to ensure everyone has the best possible experience . I will certainly check the hand dryer and swap the pillows over! thanks for letting us know. Safe Travels Management
Read more
Have been staying here over Christmas and l couldn’t be happier. It is such a good vibe in the hostel with so many cool activities. Shouts out to gnarlyfrothdogs receptionist Jamie finlay Clark. Highly recommend staying here :)
Read more
Response from WakeUpTeam, Manager at Bondi Backpackers
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the moment to leave us your review and for your perfect rating. I am so stoked you had such an great stay with us. All the staff here will be so happy you had such a gnarly time. I will give a special shout out to Jamie for his frothing efforts. Thanks again Management
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Hostel roof deck overlooking Bondi Beach!
Photo provided by managementBondi Backpackers
Photo provided by managementBondi Backpackers
Photo provided by managementBondi Backpackers
Photo provided by managementBondi Backpackers
PreviousNext
12345
Hi from what I remember there is only street parking outside Bondi Backpackers, I’m not to sure where else you can park and if it’s free as I’ve only just started learning how to drive this year so I got airport shuttle to the accommodation. If you message them on Facebook they will be able to help you a lot better.
1 vote
I'm curious if it's really hot without AC?
Hi there, It is actually still quite chilly as summer is not quite here yet. Not to worry though as we have nice doonas to keep you warm at night. Cheers D
0 votes
Show all answers
"Any they all seemed good"
"Be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs - no elevator."
"beach view"
"Choose the right kind of room as bunks are cheaper than doubles."
"Try and get the 6 bed dorms with the ocean views! can't beat it."
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
USD 25 - USD 94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater SydneyBondiBondi Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing