We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Timberland Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shabaqua
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Timberland Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Pleasant staff - you register at the store. Newly renovated so it is very clean. Low water pressure but sufficent for what you need. Lots of parking for large trailers or a RV. Pretty wild flowers out behind. Bedding and towels appear to be new. Free WiFi and sarrelite TV. Restaurant is closed but you can buy snacks, a bowl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank old_mountie
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

This motel is dated and old. We stayed there for a night while attending a music festival down the road. Quite frankly I wish i had of brought my tent instead. Our tv didn't work, we found a half eaten cookie on the floor, it was dirty and old. We did have a good sleep though, so that was good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wannaseetheworld16
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Just past Thunder Bay value for your dollar. On the side of highway 11/17 this quiet little motel was 70/night. The decor was old but clean. The gentleman who greeted us was friendly and helpful. The beds were amazing! Soft and clean we had the best sleep. They have both smoking & non smoking rooms. There is a small store...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kurikoo
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Friendly Staff, camping was not offered as stated by Nancy H, but we were looking for a room any way. The restaurant was closed when we arrived, but sandwiches, soft drinks and fresh coffee were available. The rooms (all 10) are basic, two twin beds, fridge and tv. No micro wave or in room coffee. Clean towel and line, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralf W
Tracy S, Owner at Timberland Motel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review : ) We do allow camping across the street you can park a trailer in our lot.. tents are welcome as well. Our restaurant is set up Cafe style,, Self Serve . We offer 2 homemade soups, Sandwiches, Burgers, Chili & Biscuit and much more. We do not have a breakfast menu but we do have...

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Welcomed us as cross country cyclists. Friendly staff available late on a Sunday evening. Camping was also offered but we chose a room which was very comfortable. There was a restaurant attached which was open for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
Tracy S, Owner at Timberland Motel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response :) Small town folk as we are , we try our best to make all our customers feel welcome. Hope to serve you again. Bill & Tracy Owners

Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Not the worst I've stayed in but close. After seeing a couple of dead moose on the highway we decided it was time to stop. This place was cheap but even with that it was hard to take. When we arrived the window was open but that didn't hide the stench of the room which had been doused in air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tove L
Tracy S, Owner at Timberland Motel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review.. Terribly sorry for your experience . The Window was open as we had the carpets steamed cleaned earlier that day. All our rooms do have locks,they lock automatically when the door is closed. Our Rooms are dated but clean,If they are not please let us know that is very important us. Our water here is awesome...

trenton
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Like others have said, we were too tired to drive any further. We were getting ready to go to bed and heard some loud bangs and seen some bright light flashing outside the window, all of a sudden the power went out. I looked outside and see a power pole and some wires going to the building. We went outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
Tracy S, Owner at Timberland Motel, responded to this review

We do greatly apologize for your evening, was beyond our control just as you explained it we had a weak wire which arched..... Yes was definitely scary I will agree there. We did phone hydro one and they arrived within the hour and fixed the problem :) Our rooms are dated but clean. I do hope you choose to stay...

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We were to exhausted to drive further. The rug was 'lumpy', paint peeling off of the walls, sink coming away from the wall. No hot water on arrival & the towels were 'iffy'. Linen appeared to be clean though. However the staff were very friendly & did come and fix the hot water immediately when told of the problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caser41
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2011

If I was by myself on my trip i would have prefered sleeping in the car. Too fatigued to drive further. There is nothing else around. It is suitable for a guys only fishing trip where no one is worried about flies, bugs or grime. $75 a night and it should be $35. The place is what it is. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndySzabo

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
10 Unit Motel (Old but Clean & Affordable) "Self Serve Cafe" Soups & Sandwiches, Chili, and much more. Homemade Baking, LCBO Agency "Cold Beer", Mini Mart, Confectionery, Bait & Tackle, Gas Station, & Gift Store. We are close to many excellent Fishing lakes Some of Ontario's best Moose & Deer Hunting is right in our backyard Trans-Canada snowmobile Trail Right across the Hwy We Welcome Crews, Room and Board Rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Timberland Motel

Address: Hwy 11/17 At Shabaqua Road | Shabaqua Corners, Shabaqua, Ontario P0T 1X0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Shabaqua
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Timberland Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Drive another hour west, there is a better motel on a little waterfront.”
 of 5 bubbles DaleB300, 9 Nov 2012 | Read review
1 of 1