We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Base1 Hotel Grenzblick

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Base1 Hotel Grenzblick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 16: English reviews
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 20 October 2016

They offer different rooms and studios, also for families. Free parking in front of back of the Hotel. Only one floor, the first. But no elevator. I got the "Schwarzwald-Karte KONUS" this mean free riding in the area - also to Basel with them S-Bahn (Metro).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M. B
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

800 Euro's for 5 nights. Location and hotel building are not even getting close to 160 eur per night class hotels. Poor parking. 1 colleague could not make it and 1 week before arrival cancelled. Cancellation costed 200 euro. Very poor television signal. Small room with very hard and rather short mattresses. No bar, no restaurant. Price quality totally off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen I
Inkoo, Finland
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Went here on my trip to Basel fair. Great location. 15 min by tram to fair center. Good size rooms. I had separate kitchen and bedroom. My room was faced to a train station, so some noice from that. Beds were not the most comfortable, but ok. Great breackfast! Nice personnel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mia r
rainer w, Guest Relations Management at Base1 Hotel Grenzblick, responded to this review

Dear Mia, thank you for staying with us! We are dedicated to a warm and welcoming hospitality and to high quality regarding everything we do. We are happy to read that you had a great time, and that our sumptuous breakfast buffet, as well as our friendly staff, made it even more enjoyable. We are sorry that your experience with...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 5 October 2015

This would not have been our first choice for a stay in the Basel area, but we needed a place with a fridge to preserve cheeses and other delicacies we had brought from Italy. The neighborhood is not exactly upmarket, and true to its name, the hotel is within sight of the irregularly contoured Swiss-German frontier. Our apartment was at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank groundrod
rainer w, Guest Relation Management at Base1 Hotel Grenzblick, responded to this review

Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at the BASE1 Hotel Grenzblick. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast and the level of service you received. It is always a pleasure to read such reviews as it shows our...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 18 May 2015

It has been very disturbing to find out that even though internet reservations through major and international booking sites cannot be fulfilled according to the hotel policy provided for the consumer and customer. I booked a 2-person room for my in-laws, for a 4 night stay. I provided the prerequisite credit card information (not the first time through the booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy23-30200
New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 April 2015

When we arrived, the woman of the hotel was very friendly. Everything was clean, the decoration was more or less but the groud was very very cold. It was a bit awful but the heating compensated. At the breakfast, the food was good and everybody liked it. This is a perfect place for a family with children. Another little problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canard B
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Stayed here for BaselWorld....What a pleasure. Absolutely charming, friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Room very clean with amenities. I had a room with a balcony at the back and was very quiet and peaceful. Right near the No 6 tram stop which takes you into Basel and the exhibition halls in 15 minutes. I will be back next year. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHP2013
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014

I stayed here as there was a Messe in Basel and most of the central hotels were booked. As others have said, the outside area is not very encouraging, but inside the hotel is clean, modern and well equipped. The staff were very welcoming and breakfast was good with a range of hot and cold options. Although the bathroom had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tregarthas-on-tour
England
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here end of November. The hotel isn't very nice to look at from the outside- the area looks bleak and depressing- but when you go into the hotel it is lovely. Nicely decorated, friendly staff, the room sizes are good, fast free wifi and great connections into Basel. Perfect for a quick stopover or if you're looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank em2508
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for just one night on our trip from Holland to Italy. Great hotel. Quite small but the staff is friendly, rooms are decent sized (we had room 39 which has 3 beds, great with our toddler son) and breakfast is very good. The direct area seems to be a bit shabby, but the hotel is very good. Private...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark v

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lorrach hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Meyerhof
Hotel Meyerhof
#1 of 11 in Lorrach
112 reviews
1.6 km away
Stadt-Hotel Lorrach
Stadt-Hotel Lorrach
#2 of 11 in Lorrach
52 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel JFM
Hotel JFM
#6 of 11 in Lorrach
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Burghotel Lorrach
Burghotel Lorrach
#3 of 11 in Lorrach
35 reviews
1.9 km away
Parkhotel David
Parkhotel David
#5 of 11 in Lorrach
34 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Schlafstadt
Hotel Schlafstadt
#4 of 11 in Lorrach
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 250 metres from the Swiss border and directly opposite Lörrach Dammstraße Train Station, our hotel offers free parking, free Wi-Fi, and soundproofed rooms with hot drinks facilities.Your room at the BASE1 Hotel Grenzblick also includes a flat-screen TV. Interiors feature dark woods and elegant cream fabrics. Some rooms have a balcony.Our guests can choose from the great hot and cold breakfast buffet. Many restaurants and bars are within a 5-minute walk.BASE1 Hotel Grenzblick is a 10-minute drive from Basel city centre and a short 15-minute drive from Basel Euro-Airport. The hotel provides an airport shuttle service on request.The countryside of the Southern Black Forest begins 15 km away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base1 Hotel Grenzblick

Address: Basler Str. 7e, 79540 Lorrach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Lorrach
Price Range: $89 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Base1 Hotel Grenzblick 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Base1 Hotel Grenzblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base1 Hotel Grenzblick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room far away from the railway”
 of 5 bubbles 269mb, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs, as most rooms are close to the rail line”
 of 5 bubbles groundrod, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Bring your slippers with yourself”
 of 5 bubbles canardb2015, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
“I had a room facing the car park/main road and it was quiet, my colleague had one at the rear and was woken by the train on a couple of occasions.”
 of 5 bubbles Tregarthas-on-tour, 22 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Our room was at the back, overlooking the parking lot. Very quiet. I'm not sure if the rooms facing the front would have been as peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles ELWK1, 26 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay