We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Coral Reef Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Coral Reef Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 392: English reviews
Glasgow, UK
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just had a fantastic holiday at Coral Reef. Resort is spacious, rooms extremely comfortable, pool and beach lovely (never any problem getting a subbed) and staff really friendly and helpful. The Spa is to be commended had the best massages of my life. I'm 40 and my husband is in his late 40's and we were a little worried by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Babyboo123
Surrey
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Firstly, I feel I have to respond to the review below - If you're the kind of person who goes on holiday to watch TV in your room and hang around a pool bar, then I believe there's lot's of good 'All Inclusive's' in Benidorm! My wife and I absolutely love The Coral Reef Club, our trip in January of...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank AllisterSurrey
lancashire
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Early this summer my vacation at Coral Reef left a lot to be desired Room very old style with no TV or upto date music system, no coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast very poor and very unattractive in display. Cooked breakfast in an array of serving plated and not cooked to order. Only eggs and omelettes cooked on request....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank 1234mbifo
Karen C, Owner at Coral Reef Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting and we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your holiday with us. It is true that we don't have televisions as a standard feature in our rooms, but we are perhaps an unusual hotel having originally been very much an 'island-style' hotel in the '50s that has evolved with us re-building all of our...

Maidenhead England
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It has always been our mantra to never visit the same place twice - until now. This was my second visit to Barbados but the first one to the Coral Reef Club and I really didn't want to leave. The situation is perfect - right on the beach. We had a beautiful view of this from our balcony with wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Drot
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have stayed at Coral Reef many many times - about 7 or 8 now - and as per my previous reports the only thing that let it down was the lack of vegetarian choices when it came to dinner. However this year they created a separate vegetarian menu for us. Loads of choice now and great food. Many thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickB_47
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was our second visit to the Coral Reef Club and it reconfirmed our view that this is a really special place. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked for 2014. We love the ambiance of the whole place, the wonderful gardens and the rooms are really something. Having the watersport centre a short walk away...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andy M
South Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Coral Reef is what Sandy Lane used to be. No television in the rooms, no tattoos on the guests and no Simon Cowell! It is the jewel of Barbados and hard to beat. The gardens are a delight, staff are good and accommodation is lovely. The only criticism would be price and a rather unimaginative food menu. When a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SamK11
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2013

if you want the chance of peace and quiet, idillic settings and beech front this is the place. stayed here for 10 days in April and was fantastic. we didn't eat there in the evenings but other guests told us the food was great. breakfast was great , staff were friendly and very helpful. service was prompt and all of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Simon G
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Superlatives run out. The place the setting the management and staff all get a "10". Truly wonderful. Everything is just so. Not at all ostentatious. The reef ouzes (in a very modest way of course) class. Not in a pejoritive sense bit in a genuine unassuming way. The O'Hara family clearly has a firm managerial hand on the tiller and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QTJohn
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We have returned to the Coral Reef after a few years! Only because we tried renting villas instead! We were not disappointed at all! The O' Hara family are still giving the most personal service that you could ever hope for. We were met by them when we arrived and the welcome rum punch gets you totally in the Bajan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosieNorthampton

1,068 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
3:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (775)
Viewed
Amenities (262)
Viewed
Beach (28)
Viewed
Cottage (106)
Viewed
Luxury Junior Suite (77)
Viewed
Main Pool (18)
Viewed
Plantation Suite (141)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)
Viewed
Waterfall Pool (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.1 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.5 km away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#13 of 26 in Saint James Parish
267 reviews
3.5 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
#1 of 2 in Paynes Bay
996 reviews
3.8 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
918 reviews
16.4 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set amidst twelve acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the calm West Coast of Barbados, Coral Reef Club is the epitome of West Indian elegance. This family owned and run luxury resort renowned for its special ambiance and classic island style. A five star hotel, it is one of the finest in the Caribbean. Accommodations are traditionally designed with wooden balustrading, fretwork and shuttered windows. Fine dining and personal service are a high priority at this "Small Luxury Hotel of the World". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coral Reef Club

Address: Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Price Range: $604 - $3,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coral Reef Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Reef Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Club Hotel Saint James
Coral Reef Hotel
Coral Reef Saint James
Coral Reef Club Barbados/Holetown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coral Reef Club staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Coral Reef Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a garden room and it was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles mackieorpington, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lovely looking property with an amazing spa!”
 of 5 bubbles Robyn4191, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea front room for the view”
 of 5 bubbles richardg825, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are fine. Don’t pay extra for sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Snookoafc1, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view of the sea or the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles wsxtraveller, 14 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay