We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howards Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howards Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howards Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

The rooms are clean, the service is good and the transfer to Tongariro NP is well organised. The only thing I was not happy with, is that the Bus transfer was too late (8:30 AM). It would be better to start earlier in the morning to have more time for the extra trails (Mt Ngauruhoe).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haveseentheworld
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 7 March 2015

Howard's provided everything necessary for my brief visit and Tongariro crossing: fortifying breakfasts, necessary additional gear. A solid lunch, timely transport and advice. Proprietor Grant was amicable and responsive, facilities clean and substantive and price a good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Amberley, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 March 2015

my wife and I stayed here for two nights to walk the Tongariro Crossing. First impression was very good, and the staff were really great and allowed us to change our booking for an ensuite room as we had inadvertently booked a backpacker style room. The room was very clean but a bit dated. Transfers to and from the crossing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidGA986
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Again, I called Howards Lodge for accommodation. This is my favourite place to stay for skiing and tramping. This time, I took my family with me and completed Tongariro Crossing. Clean room with ensuite shower, comfortable beds , friendly hosts and pussycat, tidy big kitchen and lounge, convenient delivery and pick up for crossing, nice environment around, we enjoyed our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tao H
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

A pleasure to have you here again and good to know we are keeping up our standards. Just 4 months till ski season !

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 24 February 2015

The Owner was so rude! Our friends had booked through BBH and paid and when we went to check in, he didn't have their reservation, and he acted like it wasn't his problem since he emailed BBH to tell them he was fully booked. He did find them accommodations next door, but seemed annoyed by the whole thing. Then later...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Kemrich076
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Yes we are all entitled to our opinions and you have stated yours. No problem with that but it would have been better for us both if your opinion was based on facts. It isn’t really my style to go on about my own efforts but you make it clear you got no service from me, so here goes. You...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2015

On our tour of NZ we decided to treat ourselves to a 'proper' room for the two nights at Howard's rather than a dorm room. The room was great, comfortable bed, lovely ensuite shower, and spotlessly clean. The huge kitchen was also spotless and well stocked with utensils etc, and free tea and coffee. We also made use of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HKirk-1234
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. Good to know your one "fancy" night proved to be worth the extra money.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2015

To be honest, we weren't too sure what to think of Howard's Lodge before and as we arrived. However we were given a warm welcome, and after originally booking two rooms at Howard's Lodge purely as a stopover for one night whilst touring through the region with my parents and my partner, we ended up booking an extra night after...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James W
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your very comprehensive review and happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. As you discovered the crossing doesn't need to be expensive. I think the pricey options are the guided groups which I believe aren't really necessary in summer. Though some people appreciate the added safety this track is very safe even for people walking alone....

Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

Normally I do not write bad reviews but here I will. After so many good hostel experiences in NZ, I am really disappointed about Howards Lodge. The lady at the reception was nice but Howard, the owner, the most unfriendly owner I've ever met. The rooms are ok regarding the cleanliness, but the Hostel itself not very welcoming. The kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mirela M
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry you found us less than welcoming on your recent stay but I would point out some failings of your own which contributed to this. Your friend found $27 per night too expensive, and elected not to stay with us, instead sleeping in her car on the street. We made it clear that our kitchens, lounges and showers...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 February 2015

If you're planning to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing then Howard's have a great package. For $120 pp you get two nights accommodation, two breakfasts, transport to and from the TAC track, and a packed lunch. It is rated as 2 star because there are shared bathrooms and toilets, but the rooms are very clean and modern. At a higher...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Rita A, Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear John B, Thank you very much for your kind words about our business. We are happy to know you found our package deals good value for money and had "great Kiwi experience" staying at Howards Mountain Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and we hope to have you as our guest again some time...

Auckland
Reviewed 26 January 2015 via mobile

As always, clean well managed and well organised great value for money. An efficiently run business. Howard's is a great option if in national park. They have a variety of rooms depending on you needs and budget. Have stayed many times!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JAM3810
Rita A, Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JAM3810, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. We are happy to know that you found our business efficiently run and well managed. We are looking forward to showing our appreciation for your continued loyalty the next time you stay at Howards Mountain Lodge.

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.7 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,315 reviews
12.9 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
387 reviews
25.6 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
429 reviews
0.3 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
205 reviews
0.5 km away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howards Mountain Lodge

Address: 43-45 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: $74 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howards Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Howards Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howards Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loft rooms are great for bigger groups own a budget”
 of 5 bubbles PhiliJSoul, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor in main building, mountain view!”
 of 5 bubbles marcusJ965, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed over a quiet period, I would bring ear plugs during busy season as the outside doors were hard to shut quietly :)”
 of 5 bubbles mrskask, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“find another location”
 of 5 bubbles ttlavender2014, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Quad had 2 bunk beds, perfect for friends to share”
 of 5 bubbles 294courtneyf, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay