We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howards Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Howards Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 363: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

For us, this place was the perfect base for he Tongariro crossing. Staff were lovely and helpful. We ordered a continental breakfast and lunch packets both of which were generous and gave us lots of energy on our hike. The kitchen facilities, lounge and hot tub were all amazing. The showers and toilets were a little on the basic side,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MakaniValur
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very basic old uncomfortable hostel. We booked a Standard Double Room through Expedia, which only mentions that the bathroom facilities are shared if you click on the extra info icon. The other hostels usually detail it in bold alongside the room description. We didn't check the extra info, so it came as a surprise to find a tiny room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuckyMonky
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you had a negative experience with us but I assure you there is no benefit for us in people have a false expectation of what they are booking, quite the opposite in fact. The expedia listing clearly states the shared bathroom situation for the room you booked (standard rooms) and the private bathroom in the other (ensuite) rooms. The...

London UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As soon as we arrived here there was no feeling of being at all welcome, and by the time we left I couldn't help but wonder why the manager (the only member of staff I encountered during my stay) works in the hospitality industry - I found him unfriendly, unhelpful and pretty rude. The room was comfortable enough but didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeamCervinia
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

From your review we can't identify who you are, when you stayed or in what room so I can't comment on any of the specific problems you mention. Suffice to say it is regretable you had a negative experience with us. I am going to have to question your claim our lodge isn't clean. There are many variables we do...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome host and great facilities, breakfast was just what we needed before the crossing and the kitchen facilities were good too. Transport to/from the corssing was top class as well and both bus driver (Steve) and Lodge were helpful with information etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms were basic and clean. Common kitchens were also clean and well stocked with large refrigerators for common use. Shuttle service available (for $30pp) to the start/finish of the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The shuttle driver made sure everyone was properly prepared for the crossing (clothing, water) and gave us helpful information as we drove. Free internet was limited to 100KB...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Good to hear we made the right impression on you. Let me recommend trying the same crossing walk in winter. You will likely need to go with a guide so more expensive but ALL gear is provided and it is wonderful experience and adds a new dimension to the outdoors for keen hikers. They even teach you how to use...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

really clean, quite basic but perfect location and helpful staff - i would recommend to other travellers and we loved the pool table. it was great getting dropped off and picked up for the crossing - we even got offered a trip to the train station at the end of our stay. cool cat too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmur002
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your response and kind words about our lodge. It isn't always easy to get tradesmen to a country location like this but we did finally manage to get the pool table re-covered and great to hear it made a difference - certainly looks better than the old one ! The cat is loving the extra attention for this...

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Room was clean and reasonably spacious, but unfortunately the pillows had a very old musty smell (actually, they stank..) and very flat. Delightful friendly checkin staff that were very helpful. Beds were not the most comfortable. Basic room. No coffee facilities or fridge in room. No fan or a/c but a cute little heater for cooler nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harlegirl
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your thorough comments and our service and facilities. Unfortunately from your review we can't identify which room you were in but there is no excuse for a smelly pillow and nothing worse than a flat one. We haven't found any smelly ones but have replaced a few flat ones since you mentioned it. Our rooms do not have...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Great value stay for 9 people for 2 nights. We stayed in a loft room for 9 people and had our own kitchen and dining facilities right outside the room which was handy. The reason we stayed here was to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and Howards lodge had transport, breakfast and lunch options to make it easy. Nice lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhiliJSoul
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Great to hear it all went well and you were able to make the most of our national park and our facilities. Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we appreciate your positive feed-back.

Reviewed 30 November 2016

Rooms, Kitchens are clean and tidy, Staff's are friendly . There is a spa pool so we enjoyed. In 500 meters have gas station, fore square and there is a pub so went there for hangout and the hotel price are affordable. Nice location .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank souvikj999
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Stayed 2 nights with the Tongariro Alpine Crossing package - definitely convenient so you can enjoy your day stress free. Clean and tidy, happy to store your luggage for free when you check out. National Park village is very limited for dining options so be prepared. There is about 3 places to eat and one grocery store not far away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dommo2015

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.7 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,360 reviews
12.9 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
394 reviews
25.7 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
445 reviews
0.3 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
213 reviews
0.5 km away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howards Mountain Lodge

Address: 43-45 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: $68 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howards Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Howards Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howards Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loft rooms are great for bigger groups own a budget”
 of 5 bubbles PhiliJSoul, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor in main building, mountain view!”
 of 5 bubbles marcusJ965, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed over a quiet period, I would bring ear plugs during busy season as the outside doors were hard to shut quietly :)”
 of 5 bubbles mrskask, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“find another location”
 of 5 bubbles ttlavender2014, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Quad had 2 bunk beds, perfect for friends to share”
 of 5 bubbles 294courtneyf, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay