We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Park Hotel Ruapehu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

On first appearance this seemed like a nice place to spend the night and if your neighbouring rooms are empty it probably is. The rooms are set around a central garden area including a couple of spa pools which looks lovely but boy it was noisy. Not sure if there were particularly noisy people in house when I was there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian1million
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Reception at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had some noisy neighbours, we will be supplying each room with complimentary ear plugs in the very near future:) If our guests find their rooms are not warm enough, we urge our them to let our reception staff know. Extra heaters are kept on hand to ensure...

Reviewed 20 June 2016

I stayed here 2 weeks ago and couldn't of asked for anymore. Amazing location and beautiful views from the bar. I actually stayed in the designated camper park outside but got to use all the facilities. The Staff are super friendly and really helpful. Lots of info on local walks, treks and can even help you with guides to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyAnnable
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Reception at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your comments, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us:)

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 June 2016

The room wasn't huge, but was very comfortable. I did the Tongario crossing, and the hotel is well set up for exhausted and sore people. It has a hot spa bath, and on-site restaurant. The food was excellent. It is a pricey area to stay in, in general. Petrol is VERY expensive, so fill up before hitting the park. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alynora006
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back in the future:)

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in one of the self contained rooms with both of us entering the T42 mountain bike and run event. The bed was very comfy and the room was cosy warm providing a nice place to crash after enjoying the outdoor wonders of the National Park area. The unit was quite cramped with two single beds...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelDudes555
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and our lounge to be inviting. We hope that next time you stay with us you give the restaurant another try as we have a new chef with us for the winter season:) Thanks again and we...

Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, except the guy helping was the reception, barman and might of even cooked dinner! Room was nice and comfortable I have the one up from standard. Dinner was OK, breakfast which was included in the price was awful. And didn't eat it. I got charge for a long black because the breakfast comes with instant. I think I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. You happened to visit us in quite a quiet period, so yes, our staff wear more than one hats on occasion; although it was our chef that cooked your dinner:) It is great to hear that you were happy with the service provided and...

Paraparaumu
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We stayed for the two-night crossing deal which I have to say was great value. Yes the standard room is small in size but the comfy bed,clean sheets, fluffy towel and great shower pressure get the " more important " tick in my book. I arrived from the bus drop off, soaking wet.The wonderful welcome at reception and warm room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoastGirlParaparaumu
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us:) Thank you for your feedback; we hope to see you the next time you give the Tongariro Crossing another go.

Snohomish, Washington
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I didn't realize that people mainly land for a day, do the Tongariro Crossing, and then run out of town- bad deal, kids. This is a lovely place to rest awhile especially in slow season. I stayed at the Park for 5 nights, by myself in a quad loft for the first two because the Web made their rooms look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larkeyskip
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us:) We will pass you compliments onto our staff, it is great to hear that they were so helpful! Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you back again if you are ever in the area.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Stayed for two nights to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, we booked the cheapest available room witch was fine for us,bathroom is a bit small but everything you need is there.Staff are very friendly and helpful and the food and service at the restaurant was great,the spa pool was a life saver after a hard day on the mountain. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello Hans, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us:) If you are after a larger room, we suggest looking at the loft rooms, which are more spacious than the standard rooms. We hope to see you back again.

Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Rooms very small - we had 3 suitcases which we struggled to fit in! Tiny table which was placed in front of fridge - difficult to get things in and out of fridge. Wi-fi not very good. We found broken glass on the floor - general cleanliness of room not that good. Good location for National Park activities. Restaurant meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hell Clare, Thank you for letting us know how you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your room did not meet your standards, we have brought this to the attention of our housekeeping team. We will be renovating some of our standard rooms in the coming months to address the other issues you mentioned....

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Went with 3 Grandchildren at Easter. Ordered 4 lamb shanks, very meaty sitting on kumera mash, 1 steak meal. All meals well presented fast service. Chocolate cake desert to die for. Not staying there, we have a holiday home at Owhango. Will go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your family dinner with us, we are glad to hear that you will be back again:)

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.3 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,419 reviews
25.5 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
12.4 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
461 reviews
0.2 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
226 reviews
0.5 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From premium hotel rooms, to self catering family rooms to comfortable loft rooms, there is an accommodation style to suit every travellers needs and budget. Enjoy picturesque alpine views of Mts Ruapehu, Tongariro, Ngauruhoe (Mt Doom in the Lord of the Rings filming locations) from the hotel. The on-site Spiral Restaurant & Bar is full of character and is open daily. The outdoor hot tubs, courtyard hammocks & open fireplaces are complimentary for guests and offer the perfect opportunity to relax and unwind after a day of adventure in the Ruapehu region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: $94 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Park Hotel Ruapehu staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Park Hotel Ruapehu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont go for a loft room if you need room to turn round in the shower room”
 of 5 bubbles 148janb, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from room 21; has double bed but only one bedside table and no bedside lamp.”
 of 5 bubbles natleamy, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second-floor rooms have a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles 947angiem, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We chose a loft room which was roomy and plenty of choices of beds.”
 of 5 bubbles SherylGlasse, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room downstairs and close to the spa pool and kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles Aklu, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5