We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Farmhouse Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Farmhouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Farmhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Service was incredibly slow. Our waiter was grumpy to the point of being rude. We were not made to feel welcome. Think the menu needs to be updated as well. I thought that there was a new chef on board but the menu has been the same for at least the past four tears. The Farmhouse has such a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith K
Charl_Schoeman01, Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Judith K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Firstly please accept my apologies if you feel we did not meet up to your standards, this is unlike us. However, I would like to provide our side of the story. We investigated and we picked up that you never even stayed with us. You came for...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 22 December 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Farmhouse Hotel for three perfect nights! Wow! It was just GREAT! On arrival we were greeted by friendly, helpful and attentive reception staff that checked us in and carefully explained all the nitty-gritty to us. Then we were greeted by the manager Charl and escorted to our room, he even helped us carry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livingandl0vingit
Charl_Schoeman01, Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear livingandl0vingit, From all the management and staff at the Farmhouse Hotel, thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us! I am delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable time while staying at the Farmhouse Hotel. Guest feedback like yours makes it clear that we are sticking to our game plan. Be assured that...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 21 December 2015

My boyfriend treated me to a nights stay at the Farmhouse as I'm working the entire December holidays... And wow.. what a treat it was!. Honestly, it is the best accommodation in Langebaan. It was peaceful and relaxing... a perfect escape. (even though it was December Holiday)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olivia17123
Charl_Schoeman01, Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear olivia17123, From all the management and staff at the Farmhouse Hotel, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Guest feedback is important to us as this really determines whether we are exceeding guest expectations and to receive a comment like yours always excites us, as this means we are sticking to our game plan....

Cheshire
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

Booked 2 nights from uk. They had empty rooms so if you wanted to take a chance you could get a better rate. However we found out when there they give a whopping 50% discount to SA residents . Far more than is usual. We paid for a superior room with a terrific view so worth the extra. Birds pecking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LambertCheshire
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Last weekend I have visited the Farmhouse Hotel. We stayed in room #9, a lovely big room with a nice ambiance and great views. The hotel itself is good, good rooms, clean, nice bed, swimming pool etc. The restaurant attached where you also have breakfast, is ok. The breakfast doesn't include a coffee like cappuchino, you have to pay R20...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarritvdS
Charl_Schoeman01, Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarritvdS, From all the management and staff at the Farmhouse Hotel, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us. Guest feedback is of utmost importance to us as this determine whether we are sticking to our game plan. Therefor thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel rooms. We pride...

Essenbach
Reviewed 23 November 2015

It was a great mistake having stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It is definitely too expensive - no value for money. We did know at the time of booking that the estate as such is old. This is and was no problem for us. We had room number 9 which you reach by using narrow and somewhat unusual...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EssenbachBayern
Charl_Schoeman01, Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EssenbachBayern, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us. We appreciate you bringing the shortcomings and problems you experienced to our attention. On behalf of Management & staff please accept our most sincere apologies for all the discomfort and inconvenience caused to you during your stay. I would like...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay for one night and would have loved to have stayed longer. Booking process over the phone was easy and check- in was efficient and fast. We loved the luxury room. Nice and big with a king size bed and huge bathroom. Coffee on the balcony overlooking the lagoon was also special. Only complaint I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L93PP
Charl_Schoeman01, Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear L93PP Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, although we look forward to receiving compliments, its feedback like this that is most valuable. This is how we improve on our services and pick –up where our team may be slacking. I would like to apologies for...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 November 2015

To their credit no attempt was made to butter me up In fact proper butter is not served .Instead 2 little plastic tubes of butter thrown onto the bread which I was served Ironically on display a butter churning device as used by farmers many years ago The staff heaped lavish praise on Famous Farmhouse Chicken Pie I ordered and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 871edieh
Charl_Schoeman01, Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 871edieh, From all the management and staff at the Farmhouse Hotel, thank you for taking the time to write a review, however I would like provide you with our side of the story. I hope that my answer to you does not come across as being aggressive, but more along the lines of educational. The butter cups which is...

Pretoria
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

what a stunning place with magnificent views, museum like interiors, some collectors pieces too! warm cozy atmosphere, as well as friendly staff that brought our order out on the veranda, and was very attentive without being a nuicsance! with such a great setting, it is just such a priviledge to have visited this place!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cuteeccentriclady
Charl_Schoeman01, Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cuteeccentriclady, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Firstly you mentioned that it was a privilege to visit us, it was more a privilege to us to be able to serve you. I have mentioned this before, at the Farmhouse Hotel, once you enter the doors you become part of the family and family...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 9 October 2015

This hotel has a great deal of Olde Worlde charm. The staff are extremely willing, but there the story seems to end. Because I had several concerns, I decided to chat with the manager before writing this review but, apart from defending the frigid temperature of my room, he seemed generally disinterested to be hearing "more of the same". I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olivetreelodge
Charl_Schoeman01, Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear olivetreelodge, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us. As we discussed telephonically, guest feedback is extremely important as this helps us to measure if we are sticking to your game plan. So be guaranteed that the content is noted. Like I mentioned over that time Langebaan is a cold place...

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langebaan
6.3 km away
Club Mykonos
Club Mykonos
#2 of 6 in Langebaan
360 reviews
13.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Saldanha Bay
6.4 km away
Athenian Cascades
Athenian Cascades
#5 of 6 in Langebaan
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
#2 of 2 in Saldanha
79 reviews
1.5 km away
Windtown Lagoon Hotel
Windtown Lagoon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Langebaan
173 reviews
5.8 km away
Crystal Lagoon Lodge
Crystal Lagoon Lodge
#3 of 10 in Langebaan
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Farmhouse Restaurant
Farmhouse Restaurant
Cuisines: International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the tranquil Langebaan lagoon, The Farmhouse Hotel is an experience to be savoured. Celebrated for our pleasant staff, in-house museum and West Coast warmth, The Farmhouse Hotel offers guests an authentic coastal farmstead experience. Alluring to nature lovers, Langebaan offers vivid shows of spring flowers, birdlife and an untamed coastline. Explore the lagoon, break a sweat in our Technogym, browse through our antique collection or simply relax and enjoy the sunset. The Panorama Restaurant at The Farmhouse Hotel serves traditional Cape cuisine with a variety of seafood complemented by a carefully selected wine list. Breads, cakes and pastries are freshly baked daily and are best enjoyed with a cup of coffee on the restaurants veranda overlooking the lagoon. The Farmhouse Hotel is an unpretentious and welcoming escape for travellers and families who appreciate the warmth of farm style hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Farmhouse Hotel

Address: 5 Egret Street, Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7357, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Langebaan
Price Range: $87 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Farmhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Farmhouse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1, Classic room. More private than other rooms as no thoroughfair”
 of 5 bubbles CapeLivin, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get them to put in writing where your room is before you pay.”
 of 5 bubbles Jnine7-7-7, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the loft area”
 of 5 bubbles Poserpike2015, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I was in a garden room, I would recommend trying instead to have a room in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles MirandaC524, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“One with lagoon views”
 of 5 bubbles pjhopper, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5