We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Farmhouse Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Farmhouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Farmhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 277: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 18 March 2015

It may be a refurbished original farm house, but the excellent view makes up for it. Fantastic staff are always going out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast serving a bit slow, but the food was good. The room had a nice fireplace and I think that will be a winner during the cold winter months up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sakkie58
KathyS0205, General Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sakkie, Thank you for your excellent comments and also taking the time to post it where it matters most. The Farmhouse Hotel is an experience to be savoured, as you clearly did! We aim to offer our guests pleasant staff, a one of a kind antique collection and West Coast warmth. A winter stay at the Farmhouse Hotel calls...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2015

The Farmhouse Hotel has all the luxuries you could desire! It has a lovely farm house feel, gorgeous fireplaces and stunning views over the lagoon. The restaurant has good food and all the staff are professional and friendly! The rooms are spacious and well equipped. There is a cute "old style" sweet shop, and many historical appliances and tools on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EloTheGetawayGirl
KathyS0205, General Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Apologies for the delay in responding to you. Your refreshing and heartfelt comments, are very much appreciated and highly valued! Thank you also, for sharing it on Tripadvisor, where future guests can benefit from comments on your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We stayed 3 nights at the Farmhouse Hotel in late December and found it quite nice. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated with your own fireplace which you could light during chilly evenings. Our rooms were facing the pool area with your own outdoor seating. The breakfast buffet was very good with everything you need of breads, pastries, ham,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irre65
Angers
Reviewed 28 January 2015

my wife and I stayed there for a couples of nights around Christmas. That was amongst the best vacations we had. The view is spectacular, blue lagoon all the way! The wind was great and as sailing was part of the trip it was great fun. Nice breakfast with toasts, eggs, granola, orange juice, yogurts... We had dinner once with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Philippe C
Reviewed 26 January 2015

I have never encountered such bad service as when I visited The Farmhouse Hotel on 8th January 2015. We arrived at 10:40 for breakfast. The table were not cleared from the previous geusts that was sitting there. A waiter came and cleared the table at 10:45 and told us that we will be attended to soon. At 11 o'clock a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Snufels
Cape Town
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We decided to go to a hotel for a 3 night break. Hotel is old charm. Receptionist was quite snooty on arrival and actually said leave your baggage and come back after 2 pm. Fine we did that. When we got back to go to our rooms, we found that the room allocated to my mom, who is 81 years...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helenecruise
Kent, England
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We had a lovely stay at this hotel in the cottage as we were a family of 5. The cottage had bags of character and space although the wooden floorboards meant the children would wake up early to us walking about upstairs. The food was delicious and the staff very helpful. The only small downside was the bathrooms could do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Familytimes05
Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

Nothing to complain about, clean bedrooms, spacious with a beautiful view (we had room 2 and 7). Free Wi-Fi available in the rooms which is very convenient! Very friendly staff always there to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as it should be. The hotel isn't far from the main beach. It is lovely, I strongly recommend it. Enjoy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anais C
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 27 December 2014

We are locals to Langebaan and have enjoyed many good times at the hotel including our engagement party. Sadly today, during peak holiday season, we had the worst service experienced anywhere. We waited almost 2 hours for breakfast. Seven tables were full of dirty plates, with birds eating off the tables. 2 waiters for a packed restaurant in peak season??...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sheilagh H
JohanDeVill, Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shielagh H, It honestly pains me to here you had a bad experience with us at the hotel. We always stive to ensure our clients are well serviced, taken care off, and pampered. This was clearly not the case, I would like to invite you and yours back to the hotel to show you what real service entails. Over...

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 26 December 2014 via mobile

I stayed the for a night on Xmas day Reception was excellent Room was great Breakfast was ok We are vegetarian and were hungry and it was quite an issue to get some food being Xmas day Finally the chef made me a sandwich with fries which was excellent Overall it was ok Price was high I booked through booking.com...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mahaveer C
JohanDeVill, General Manager at The Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, We thank you for your opinions of the hotel and service, we strive to improve on our service continiously. We trust you have a blessed 2015 and hope to see you back with us once again. Kind regards, Johan de Villiers.

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langebaan
6.3 km away
Club Mykonos
Club Mykonos
#2 of 6 in Langebaan
353 reviews
13.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Saldanha Bay
6.4 km away
Athenian Cascades
Athenian Cascades
#4 of 6 in Langebaan
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
#2 of 2 in Saldanha
71 reviews
1.5 km away
Windtown Lagoon Hotel
Windtown Lagoon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Langebaan
160 reviews
5.8 km away
Crystal Lagoon Lodge
Crystal Lagoon Lodge
#3 of 10 in Langebaan
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Farmhouse Restaurant
Farmhouse Restaurant
Cuisines: International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the tranquil Langebaan lagoon, The Farmhouse Hotel is an experience to be savoured. Celebrated for our pleasant staff, in-house museum and West Coast warmth, The Farmhouse Hotel offers guests an authentic coastal farmstead experience. Alluring to nature lovers, Langebaan offers vivid shows of spring flowers, birdlife and an untamed coastline. Explore the lagoon, break a sweat in our Technogym, browse through our antique collection or simply relax and enjoy the sunset. The Panorama Restaurant at The Farmhouse Hotel serves traditional Cape cuisine with a variety of seafood complemented by a carefully selected wine list. Breads, cakes and pastries are freshly baked daily and are best enjoyed with a cup of coffee on the restaurants veranda overlooking the lagoon. The Farmhouse Hotel is an unpretentious and welcoming escape for travellers and families who appreciate the warmth of farm style hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Farmhouse Hotel

Address: 5 Egret Street, Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7357, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Langebaan
Price Range: $89 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Farmhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Farmhouse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was in a garden room, I would recommend trying instead to have a room in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles MirandaC524, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“One with lagoon views”
 of 5 bubbles pjhopper, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Garden Room or room near the poolside.”
 of 5 bubbles sheridanr2013, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 21 is the best. Self-catering - lounge, dining room, small kitchen - all open plan. Sleeps 2”
 of 5 bubbles 681janinec, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the pool are quieter and have a better views.”
 of 5 bubbles TrezSouthAfrica, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay