We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kastro Maini Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kastro Maini Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 15: English reviews
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Six of us stayed one night in this nice hotel. We were given a warm welcome and the room was adequate and clean. Shame one of the bedside lamps did not work. Very nice breakfast although one or two items ran out. Lovely pool for a dip. Situated close to Areopoli it was ideal for us as a stopover

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheArchers15
Vasilis G, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kastro Maini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TheArchers15, We are extremely grateful to you for writing such a detailed and interesting review about your recent stay with us and it is always a pleasure for us to hear from our guests as we appreciate their opinions greatly. About the lamp, please accept our apologies for this malfunction, but it is true that a light bulb's life...

Reviewed 25 August 2016

We booked an "Executive Suite" and another room for teenagers this summer. We arrived and were shown to only one room which was so small we could only just walk around the bed. The balcony looked over a donkey field and our "adjoining room" formed part of the suite we were told. There were two camp beds for the children!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Indigolad
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel. It is a family business that are very polite and available to assist the customers. It has good wifi and parking. It has a nice pool for adults and one for kids. The location is good and quit, 5 minutes from the city of Aeropoli by foot. The menu of the restaurant is not very big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scaramous
Vasilis G, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kastro Maini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear scaramous, Thank you very much for your ''short'' but informative review and for your time sharing your thoughts and expirience to TripAdvisor about your recent visit to Kastro Maini Hotel ,we are very pleased when our efforts recognized. Moreover , about the culinary is true that we are focusing more in quality of the offered dishes rather quantity. We...

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We loved this hotel and the people running it. Breakfasts were great. The hotel is 5-10 mins walk from the town centre. There are plenty of cafes, bars and tavernas. The town is ideal for exploring the Mani and an easy drive to Mystra and Sparta. The hotel is clean and the beds comfortable. Our only gripe is the plumbing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hillybills
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

We were pleased with this hotel in which we spent one night. We had a good room with a large terrace, overlooking a view to the rear of the building. No noise from the road in front. Our group were delighted to find a sizeable pool in a sunny location. Towels were supplied from the friendly reception. Some comfortable chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scenario34
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Good:breakfast, clean & location Bad: Cold rooms, they switch off heat at night, hard bed, burned covers, extra cover was moldy, light bulbs broken, not what it looked in photo. Bathroom smelled food from the kitchen from the ventilation. Too expensive for what it offers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomai G
Vasilis G, Owner at Kastro Maini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Thomai, I'm glad that you liked some of the most important aspects of your stay with us like location, cleanliness and breakfast but I'm very sorry that some other issues made your overall experience apparently a very negative one. I will try to address these issues here: during the winter time we offer central heating to the rooms...

Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A large but beautiful rock built building (typical of the area). Our room was spacious, with a balcony with a view. Breakfast was also good - we were very satisfied by this place. The town or Areopolis has great night life also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dino J
Maria A, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Kastro Maini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dino, Thank you for your nice words. We are very happy that you appreciated the Mani hospitality. Here at Kastro Maini, try our best to offer you the best times. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Heathfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The attractive Kastro Maini Hotel is constructed of stone with castle-like towers in the style for which the Mani is famous. Family run, the hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Aeropoli, a typically Greek town, where there is a choice of tavernas. The hotel boasts a lovely swimming pool which in June we have often...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
Maria A, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Kastro Maini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Penny, Thank you very much for your nice words. We really enjoy it when we meet people that enjoy the unspoilt beauty of Mani and the Peloponnese in general! We hope you do come back in the near future. It will be our pleasure to have you with us again.

Thessaloniki
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel in April. The hotel is very conveniently located near the center of Areopoli, which is like a "Capital" to Mani. I was amazed by the warm welcome and the family atmosphere. The rooms were clean and well-apointed, while we were blown by the breakfast with organic products and home-made sweets by Mrs. Valentina. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marapo123
Ermia_Resorts, Public Relations Manager at Kastro Maini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear marapo123, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to accommodate you in the near future.

Thrakomakedones, Greece
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A family owned hotel that will make you feel like you are apart of the family, very kind people, very good service, good traditional breakfast, large swimming pool, comfortable parking,rooms with balcony, large garden, traditional stone building, one minute walk from the center of Areopolis that has everything, 5 minutes with car from Limeni, 10 minutes with car from Diros...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Antonis P

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Areopoli
0.2 km away
Mani Hotel
Mani Hotel
#2 of 2 in Areopoli
38 reviews
1.4 km away
Limeni Village Hotel
Limeni Village Hotel
#1 of 2 in Areopoli
171 reviews
1.0 km away
Vasilios Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hotel Itilo
Hotel Itilo
#2 of 2 in Oitylo
129 reviews
3.0 km away
Porto Vitilo Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Ktima Karageorgoy
Ktima Karageorgoy
#1 of 6 in Areopoli
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kastro Maini is a traditional accommodation in Mani that excellently combines quality and personal services with unique attractions of historical and natural importance around Areopolis, Mani. The rooms with view offer a comfortable stay for a family and all guests to get pleasure from a pleasant stay and discover the beauties of Lakonia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kastro Maini Hotel

Address: Areopolis - Vathias | Mani - Laconia, Areopoli 230 62, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Areopoli
Price Range: $68 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kastro Maini Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kastro Maini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kastro Maini Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the views of the dying donkeys!”
 of 5 bubbles Indigolad, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for the sea view at the back of the hotel to get a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles hillybills, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“choose a back facing room. On a clear day, you will have a nice sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles marapo123, 28 Apr 2014 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay