We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Kings Arms

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 189: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

My second trip once for lunch and most recently for dinner and on both occasions the food was excellent. Great menu and a good selection of wines to chose from, all reasonably priced. Good atmosphere and attentive, helpful staff. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're always pleased to hear from our satisfied guests and it's great to hear that you received our usual high standard of service. We hope you will come see us us again in the future. More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016

My sister and I popped in here for lunch one day not knowing to expect. What a lovely surprise we had! We entered through a lovely "old" bar room and carried on through to the back where the restaurant was. It is modern, well set out and roomy. The menu was varied, so much choice! It was a quiet day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheena S
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Sheena, thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review. It's great to hear that you discovered us by the off chance and was impressed with the service we delivered as well as the range of items on our menu. We hope to see you again very soon! More 

Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We came here for dinner midweek and were surprised how busy it was. Food was fantastic (halloumi chips to start were fab!) service was very friendly and efficient, great music playing, good choice for kids and great to be near the new pizza fire oven! The specials were reasonably priced and so delicious but the potion sizes were massive! So... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy T
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Amy, thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your evening dining in our restaurant. We love the halloumi chips too, a big favourite! We hope to see you again very soon! More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Lovely staff and setting. Disappointed that the two vegetarian meals came with Parmasan cheese added - this cheese which was not listed on the menu. Why add ingredients which are not vegetarian? Our group would have liked to have eaten at the same time instead of waiting for food to be remade. Otherwise a lovely evening and yummy food.

Helpful?
Thank RichardJHemel
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Richard Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your recent visit to the Kings Arms. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food but are saddened to see that you thought your Penne Funghi dish was not vegetarian as we list in our menu. When we removed the dish from your table we were... More 

Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Stayed at the King's Arms for two nights during a visit to family. Our room was in a block at the back of the pub, behind the outdoor seating area. We did think noise might be an issue but were pleasantly surprised when we were not disturbed at all. Our room was bright and modern with a mini bar and... More 

Helpful?
Thank TC_82_12
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and as well as dinning in our restaurant. I'm sorry to hear that there was a missing door knob and we will take all feedback on board so we can improve on this. We hope to... More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

I went for a late lunch with a friend early on the week. It was quiet when we went in, only a business meeting and family with baby having lunch. This in itself shows how the place suits all needs. We sat in the restaurant area and ordered some light bites/nibbles. The food was piping hot, served quickly and presented... More 

Helpful?
Thank BecD91
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for such a lovely review! That's exactly what we aim to do, cater for all, be happy and provide great service. I'm glad to hear you are happy with the food as well as service that you received. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Great food, great cocktails, great rooms, an all round buzzing place. Relax in the day or come in the evening when it livens up. Not the cheapest of places but it's worth paying more for the atmosphere. Cocktail menu is huge and the food menu is always great. Nice outdoor area for chilling in the summer evenings.

Helpful?
Thank Wez C
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Wez Thanks for your kind words. It's great to hear that we are your favourite place in Berkhamsted and hope you will keep returning. More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 5 nights whilst celebrating our son's wedding in mid July. From the minute we arrived and had our bags taken to our room, until we left, we were treated wonderfully well. Centrally placed in Berkhamstead, which is charming. Only slight niggle was the lack of parking on site, but the sister hotel The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Elaine Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're always pleased to hear from our satisfied guests and it's great to hear that you received our usual high standard of service. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I stayed here one night for work. The pros are it's location in central Berkhamsted, the food and service in the Restaurant was good, if a little on the expensive side for a pub. It had free wifi, fridge and tea making facilities and an iron in th room. The negatives: my room looked nothing like the picture onthe website,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clarinda_Vine
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Clarinda Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay. We appreciate hearing from our guests as it enables us to address certain areas that may need improvement. Our hotel has a variety of styles of rooms ranging from character suites to family rooms etc. and some have more of a boutique style... More 

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This was our first time at the kings arms as an eater... Normally a drinker here. Wasn't my lucky day as even my orange juice and lemonade was not good. My toast was warmed up bread and the poached eggs were hard boiled... However my husband thoroughly enjoyed his eggs Benedict. I mentioned to staff (purely as constructive feedback for... More 

Helpful?
Thank mandhighandis
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Good Afternoon We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent breakfast with us but are pleased to hear that the matter was dealt with in the manner we would expect by the maitre d. We hope you will return and try us again. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. More 

Travellers are raving about these Berkhamsted hotels

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.5 km away
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Berkhamsted
108 reviews
3.3 km away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
378 reviews
4.9 km away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
421 reviews
6.4 km away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Pendley Manor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tring
990 reviews
6.3 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Arms Hotel is a fine dining restaurant, boutique hotel and bar. Recently refurbished this historical building has been modernised offering quality in all departments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 147 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Price Range: $172 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't actually use the Hotel so I can't comment on it. Definitely recommend the food though!”
 of 5 bubbles sheenas443, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would be quiet I think. Front rooms well apointed”
 of 5 bubbles elainem369, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose a room on ground floor behind the pub.”
 of 5 bubbles Clarinda_Vine, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay just ate”
 of 5 bubbles less666, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book well ahead to get a good deal”
 of 5 bubbles janWalton, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay