We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bongani Mountain Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bongani Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 186: English reviews
Start your review of Bongani Mountain Lodge
 Click to rate
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What can I say about Bongani, it is fabulous. The staff are amazing and go out of their way to make your holiday special. The lodge is situated near the top of some hills that you arrive at following a 30 minute jeep safari. Not for people with back problems or some physical disabilities. The setting is stunning each bungalow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoiraRathbone
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

This place is a nature's retreat. It's beautiful it's peaceful its rustic its adventurous. It's a perfect holiday place if u love nature. The staff is helpful specially the cooks I mean I could have never imagined I can get Indian food in African jungles. The food was awesome. The safari guides were great too we couldn't see the big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sugandha k
Cape Town
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The initial drive to the welcome centre was interesting as we got lost using google maps directing us through the township but eventually called the lodge and they explained the right way. So make sure you know were you're going before you setoff. Besides this we loved our stay at Bongani Mountain lodge! As South African's this whole lodge and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donkey82
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for visiting Bongani Mountain Lodge and taking your precious time to write this great review. Sorry for getting lost on your way to this stunnng lodge in the mountains. I really love to hear from guests about how awesome our staff are, they are really the people who makes this lodge a great place to...

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

This place is phenomenal!! Staff cannot do enough to help you. Food was fantastic quality, worth every penny. The safaris were a real experience. Different and more personal then the Kruger due to the fact the guides actually track the animals and find them themselves as opposed to on mass looking for a car park of vehicles next to something....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david b
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for visiting Bongani Mountain Lodge and taking your precious time to write this great review. I'm very happy to hear that you has had such a great time at our beautiful lodge in these magnificent mountains that we are so fortunate to be able to call home. I will make sure that your review is shared...

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2017

My recent surprise visit to South Africa was very unexpected and mind blowing. We arrived at Mpumalanga Airport where we were meet by Cassandra. A local that has a very well present 4WD. This was arranged via the Bongani Mountain Lodge. After a short 45 minutes drive we are arrived at the main entry to the park. This is where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Golf_Focus
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for staying at Bongani Mountain Lodge and thank you for taking of your valuable time to write its fantastic review. Please be sure that your review has been shared with all our staff as well as with the transport company. We hope to welcome you back here in the near future. Best regards Johan

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I had a lifelong dream of an African safari holiday. This trip ticked all the boxes and so much more. Staff were excellent, friendly and funny, I haven't laughed so much in years. Safaris got us really up close with animals. Rooms were clean and comfortable, well furnished and big comfortable beds. I would go back tomorrow!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cindereleanor
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cindereleanor Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post such an amazing review. It is always so rewarding for the team when we receive such positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back here soon for another amazing experience in this beautiful game reserve. Best regards Johan

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 February 2017

poor food ,hardly any animals , inaccesible venue. the lodge is not part of the kruger soo you don't see many animals. the terrain of the lodge makes it inaccessible to animals too. the food is limited and of poor quality. the rooms were not that clean and bathrooms were very average.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rakshas2017
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for staying at Bongani Mountain Lodge and taking of your valuable time to review our property. We take our guest feedback very seriously and please be assured that the items you have brought to our attention will receive our immediate attention. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon Best Regards Johan

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

I'm not really sure how we feel about the bongani mountain lodge... The rooms and bathrooms weren't clean (we actually found two black button spiders in one of them), but the bedding was good. The food wasn't exceptional, but edible, and though the scenery was nice, we didn't see much more than a few buffalo, lots of cheeky baboons, vervet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jessica C
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jessica Thank you for staying at Bongani Mountain Lodge and taking of your valuable time to review our property. We take our guest feedback very seriously and please be assured that the items you have brought to our attention will receive our immediate attention. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon Best Regards Johan

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

At a reputed (fenced) 8000 hectares (according to our guide) Bongani is too small to sustain a balance of predators and their prey. Its fenced off from Kruger National Park, thus limiting animal transfer. The mountainous terrain looks spectacular, but the tracks are poorly maintained, making for an unnecessarily uncomfortable ride. I've been to 8 different game reserves in South...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stevethearchitect
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for participating and contributing towards our on-going efforts to continuously improve our services and facilities. We sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy all our offerings to the extent that we have set ourselves out to achieve. Bongani Mountain Lodge is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable....

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

First visit to South Africa and loved the experience of our Safari expeditions twice daily, The service was very good; staff friendly and welcoming; food was delicious and plentiful. Our lodge was very authentic with lovely views across the bush and landscaped gardens. House keeping very good and each night our mosquito drapes were drawn before we returned from our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyn684
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review, I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was comfortable and your food was delicious, and will be sure to tell the staff that you appreciated their service. It's a pity that you didn't get to enjoy the...

464 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (442)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Other (208)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matsulu
24.9 km away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
368 reviews
20.7 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
173 reviews
12.9 km away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Malelane
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.4 km away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
307 reviews
21.2 km away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#5 of 11 in Malelane
86 reviews
21.6 km away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#3 of 11 in Malelane
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the spirit of Africa and feel at one with the great African explorers and hunters of yesteryear as you step into this magnificent Mountain Lodge. Bongani Mountain Lodge is situated in the shadows of the Malelane Mountain range and surrounded by the peace and tranquillity of the African bushveld. Here you can connect back to a more simple life amidst the tranquillity of nature and the culture and history of this fascinating area. Take a trip here and you'll feel rejuvenated as you immerse yourself into the pulse of nature and luxury. Unspoiled beauty, warm and friendly hospitality make Bongani Mountain Lodge a favourite destination for both local and international travellers. Bongani Mountain Lodge is situated at 745m above sea level in the middle of the magnificent Mthethomusha Game Reserve, on the South Western border of Kruger National Park. We have a total of 38 rooms. 9 Of which are joined via a small passage which ensures that families can be close. While the remaining 20 suites offer greater privacy as well as King size beds, bath, indoor and outdoor showers, and all the ammenities one would expect from a luxury Lodge. Our Rates include: accomodation and all meals, daily game drive plus transfers within the reserve to and from our welcome. Rates exclude: Conservation fees, alcohol and soft drinks and all other items of a personal nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bongani Mountain Lodge

Address: Mthethomusha Game Reserve, on the southern border of the Kruger National Park | Off the N4 between Nelspruit and Kaapmuiden, Matsulu 1295, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Matsulu
Price Range: $481 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bongani Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bongani Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bongani Mountain Hotel Mpumalanga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bongani Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bongani Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room right on the edge of the cliff”
Golf_Focus, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lodges near to the reception very good 22 and 23”
lyn684, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lodge 24 has an amazing view of a watering hole”
853lizk, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet, visited frequently by baboons and vervet monkeys. Room 24 has to be the ultimate”
likeha, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get the House at the big rock! You will have amazing views!”
687stephanw, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates