We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Laholmen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Laholmen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Start your review of Scandic Laholmen
 Click to rate
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took a weekend trip and stayed at this hotel and I must say that there are not many hotels with a location like this, on a peninsula. A beautiful view of the sea where you can soak in the atmosphere of the nature and admire the ships coming and going. It is a short stroll away from the centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny K
Norway
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Impulsive weekend trip to Strømstad, adult couple (Belgian and Norwegian) enjoying a lot. Nice little walk downtown and along the bay. Beautiful surroundings even in January, so quiet and clean. I can imagine the the bubly life here in summer. Hotel cosy, keeping up the standard, view to the dock fantastic from our balcony. Didn't try the restaurant, but having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth B
Svelvik, Norway
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is clean and tidy, the staff is friendly and helpful. I would not recommend the restaurant. For us, visiting the hotel for our wedding anniversary, the restaurant was so disappointing it pretty much ruined our stay. The "famous" breakfast was quite ordinary. The hotel is a 4+ /the restaurant a 2- (Without a good wine list, I'm not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CatoTansoy
Matthias D, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Laholmen, responded to this review

Hi Cato Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate that you give it. Of course we are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with you stay at Laholmen. I would very much appreciate if you would contact me to see if we can do something to correct the impression, and to hear more specific about what was not...

Arendal
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel in the center of Strømstad. We had a family room, and it functioned well for our purposes. We had a child bed/crib placed in the room, but did not use it since the extra bed in the room was big enough so we could sleep 2 in each bed. The breakfast was excellent, something for everyone taste I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thora193
Matthias D, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Laholmen, responded to this review

Hi Thora Thank you for your feedback, I´m so glad you enjoyed your stay at Laholmen. Hope to see you again soon, you are very welcome back. Matthias

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Roadtrip with my daugther. Had fantastic sunset at one of the many irlands nerbye. Lovely Hotel by the sea. Nerbye there is a please where You can take a bath all troue the year, also in the wintertime where there are ice on the fjords.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankrby
Matthias D, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Laholmen, responded to this review

Hi Frank We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at Laholmen. Hope to see you again soon. You are welcome to use the sauna after a nice icebath next time:) Matthias

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I had an opportunity to stay at Laholmen approximately for a week. Overall it was a very pleasant experience. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, in general, the service was also very good. Breakfast was outstanding with freshly squeezed juice-shots. Only small annoyances that they surely could easily improve stuck my mind, such as the annoyance of daily changing wifi-password,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Risto H
Kökar
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I spent two nights at Laholmen and I am very pleased. The suites are excellent with the bedroom upstairs (including a splendid view in two directions over the harbour), the living room nice and big, a grand bathroom for two and a nice terrace.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yphh22730pph
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Staff are fantastic. Every person we came into contact with was as nice and helpful as could be. The location is excellent. Great views; much of Stromstad is within walking distance, and easy access to the ferries. But the hotel needs a good cleaning. Lots of stains on the furniture in the (nice, big) lobby area and even in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arndawg
Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This hotel is situated on a rocky point overlooking the harbour with outstanding views. Rooms are modern and clean. Staff are really helpful and the food is excellent. Meeting and conference facilities are very good. Highlight is the view from the restaurant and lounge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 11 August 2016

They have a really good location, and you could see the harbour through the window. But the room is not clean and the equipments are quite old. The breakfast is quite good with fresh fruits, meat and pan cake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Changming Y

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromstad
0.8 km away
Stromstad Spa
Stromstad Spa
#1 of 4 in Stromstad
958 reviews
14.1 km away
Rasta Nordby
Rasta Nordby
#3 of 4 in Stromstad
30 reviews
30.0 km away
TanumStrand
TanumStrand
#1 of 1 in Grebbestad
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
78.5 km away
Gullmarsstrand Hotell & Konferens
76.1 km away
Strandflickornas Havshotell
4.2 km away
Dafto Resort
Dafto Resort
#1 of 13 in Stromstad
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in a landmark waterfront building with panoramic harbor views. Laholmen is a year-round hub of activity in the city of Stromstad. With its unbeatable waterfront location, this classic Hotel is a renowned meeting place with magnificent views of the harbor and Koster fjord. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Laholmen

Address: Laholmen 1 | Strömstad, Stromstad 452 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Stromstad
Price Range: $219 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Laholmen 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Laholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Laholmen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Scandic Laholmen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms close to lobby area. Ask for a view of the sea.”
johnnyk896, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I recommend the suites”
  • View from the bedroom
yphh22730pph, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You must ask for a sea view”
BrianP514, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Harbor view is very pleasant, but the partying crowd can keep you awake.”
permorten, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Go up and sea side”
GlobalTraveller81, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5