We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Mill Hotel

LateRooms.comUSD 78*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Old Mill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 163: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Mill Hotel
 Click to rate
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have been to the Old Mill Hotel at Alsager, Cheshire for the weekend and all I can say is it was superb! The staff are a so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food is amazing and at a very reasonable price. The rooms are spotless clean and the bed was so comfortable. And the surroundings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA295
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The manager ( who was new) and the staff were excellent and made you feel very welcome - nothing was too much trouble. The dinner was fabulous - compliments to the chef. The room was good and bed very comfortable and quiet,. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernardandsue
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here on a Groupon so was really good value. Room no 1 was small but had everything you needed. Food was good. Really big portions. Onion rings were the best ever. Even swapped desert for starters on the included 2 course meal. Lots of choice. Overlooked the duck pond which was nice and fed the ducks and the fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Food wasn't too bad, portions are a bit small for the price. Had a terrible night sleep because pub quiz was on from 9 till gone half 10 and was far too loud! On booking we was not told about this going on neither was there any signs. To conclude I would never stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adam s
AssistantManage... O, Deputy Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adam We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at the Old Mill Hotel. We have taken your comments on board and will ask staff to highlight the quiz at check in but we have also put the quiz times and dates on the board as you have highlighted. We will also ensure that the volume is...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The food here is amazing! Huge portions and all cooked to order. We got this on a Groupon deal and ended up in an executive suite. Used it as a base to go off and walk every day. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulineRadcliffe
AssistantManage... O, Deputy Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pauline Radcliffe Many thanks for your kind words and we are pleased the upgrade helped resolve the shower issue. We hope to see you again in the future. Old Mill Hotel

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed at The Old Mill twice recently - on Friday 31st March & Saturday 1st April, then again on Sunday 16th April & Monday 17th April - we had room 1 on both occasions, which is a lovely and cosy room that overlooks the pond. The hotel has that old-world charm with low beams etc - very traditional....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janeh0bs0n
AssistantManage... O, Deputy Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane and Craig Many thanks for your kind words and we are so pleased you have enjoyed your stays with us. We hope to see you again soon. Old Mill Hotel

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to The Old Mill last week and had a great meal. Staff very friendly and helpful and the 2 course meal was tasty. We had the onion rings as an extra side dish and they were a meal by themselves. Would recommend a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glynn S
AssistantManage... O, Deputy Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glynn S Thank you for your kind words and pleased you enjoyed the meal. We hope to see you again in the future. Old Mill Hotel

Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This 'Dog Friendly' pub in the heart of Cheshire provides great food with pleasant surroundings. A mill stream runs from a top reservoir along what used to be a water wheel at the side of the pub. Seating is either inside or outside and dogs ARE allowed in the bar area. This is my second visit and the roast beef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slavnist
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very good four day stay at this country inn, it was a Groupon offer and very good value. The inn is in a very quiet lane next to a large duck pond. The food was excellent , the room was a bit small but this is a country inn not a city hotel...Would definitely recommend a stay here ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmartinsmith
newcastle, staffs, england
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mum & I popped in on Wed 5th April and again were 'well' pleased with the atmosphere, the service and the food and drink that we had. We don't live locally but last time we called in on the off chance and because it was so good that time we took another chance and called in again.....it just goes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mend0

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsager
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
5.4 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,080 reviews
11.1 km away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
634 reviews
12.6 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
39.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, The Old Mill is a magnificent 17th Century building set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views of the original mill pond, complete with resident geese, large shoals of friendly carp and abundant other wildlife. The Mill retains many of its original features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. This hidden gem of Cheshire is a real must if you want to enjoy a warm welcome, good food & drink and a good night's sleep. For private, corporate, or wedding events the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor results in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. The property is approached by its own private lane off the main Crewe Road and although only 2 minutes from the main road, 5 minutes from junction 16 of the M6 and a short distance from the bustling towns of Crewe and Alsager you will feel as though you are right in the middle of the Cheshire countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Mill Hotel

Address: Crewe Road, Alsager ST7 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Price Range: $84 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Mill Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Mill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As the hotel is not on a main road, it is quiet in the bedrooms.”
BARBARA295, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“front rooms have lovely view over the water mill lake”
bernardandsue, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front facing room with a view of the duck pond is best.”
johnmartinsmith, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“bring some duck food if you like feeding the ducks”
thrm, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 11, as noise from people coming and going to and from bar, plus smokers below window.”
stellafranklin, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
USD 78* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates