We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amazon Tupana Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amazon Tupana Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 86: English reviews
Start your review of Amazon Tupana Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We LOVED our experience. The lodge is very remote...about 200km from Manaus, no phone, no wifi, no mains electrics, no other people except the other guests...perfect! We went with 4 children, 11, 9, 7 and 5. The food was wonderful, the locations stunning (go at end of rain season), the people very friendly. The guides were BRILLIANT and were incredibly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed my visit to Tupana Lodge very much. A great staff and many interesting things to see and do. Loved catching piranha, seeing dolphins and hiking in the jungle. There was a great English speaking guide. I wish that I had stayed longer as it was so very relaxing. A great place to go; I loved the buildings and rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bakerhousego
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great and authentic experience in the amazon. Recommend going during wet season when water is high and staying in the river view lodge. Lodges were not luxurious, but very comfortable and met all basic needs (they way any true traveller wants to experience the Amazon in my opinion). Our guide Robinson and tracker Wellington were very passionate and informative. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed an amazing 3 nights at Tupana Lodge. Staff, food, accomodation were all excellent. Our guide was filled with amazing knowledge and I LOVED spending time in the boat exploring the magical water system... our boat driver was amazing. All this, and still only leaving a small imprint on this beautiful part of the planet. I highly recommend the experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank le-annearane
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great time at the Tupana lodge. The location is fantastic - it's very secluded, deep into the jungle on the river bank. The food was very good, the place was clean. Our stay included 2 nights - one at the lodge and an overnight camping in the jungle. The latter I highly recommend. The lodge offers a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariya S
State of Sao Paulo
Reviewed 24 February 2017

An amazing close to nature place. My kids, a 4 years old and a 7 years old loved it!!! We spent 3 nights there, and it was perfect. The staff were super friendly, the food was delicious, and the guidance was well performed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gbzgbz
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a grand tour of Brazil and have to say we had an amazing time. The lodge is a 3 hour boat/road trip from Manaus but the trip was great with plenty to see. The lodge is basic with no electric just a generator at night no TV no WiFi and no phone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul&Kirby
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

If it were not for the our guides and all the staff this lodge would be rated lower than 3. It has to be noted that the guides are freelancers and do not work permanently at the lodge. We were lucky and had Robinson as our guide who was excellent. So was the 2nd guide and boat driver Dennis. Marcella...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelmummel60
CPKhattab, Proprietário at Amazon Tupana Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Madam We regret that your stay with us from 28 November to 3 December 2016 - 6 days / 5 nights may have been too long to evaluate our lodge in such a negative way; Despite all the care that we had with you and your husband to enjoy all tours and activities due to mobility problem. Different from...

London
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I stayed at Tupana for 2 nights but wanted to leave after half a day... Having just arrived from the Pantanal, the lack of bird life (mid-Sept) made it look eerily dead. No sounds. The only thing you could do was swim in the very dark Rio Negro... and the platform to access the river wasn't even easy to negotiate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie_Macle
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Amazon Tupana Lodge provided an absolutely amazing experience for us. We did not really know what to expect but ended up having a fantastic time for the length of our stay. The lodge is basic, but much better than expected. The food was good and our guide, Kennedy, was an absolute thrill. As a real man of the jungle, he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid Marie S

343 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (322)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (205)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amazon River
108.9 km away
Amazon Turtle Lodge
Amazon Turtle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Careiro
59 reviews
0.0 km away
Amazon Tarzan Lodge
Amazon Tarzan Lodge
#4 of 12 in Careiro
37 reviews
94.1 km away
Tauari Inn Lodge
Tauari Inn Lodge
#8 of 215 in Amazon River
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
#19 of 215 in Amazon River
65 reviews
61.1 km away
Ararinha Jungle Hotel
Ararinha Jungle Hotel
#3 of 12 in Careiro
45 reviews
119.9 km away
No photo provided
Amazon Hostel Iranduba
#8 of 16 in Iranduba
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Amazon Tupana Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Amazon Tupana Lodge

Address: Rio Tupana | Careiro Castanho, State of Amazonas 69047-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River
Price Range: $303 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amazon Tupana Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Amazon Tupana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazon Tupana Hotel Amazon River
Amazon Tupana Lodge Brazil/AM
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amazon Tupana Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Amazon Tupana Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the bungalows. They are detached so that they do not retain the humidity that the other rooms do.”
lucycV5716ED, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms has a great view to the river”
katerobyns300, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The rooms with river view have a nice sitting area and hammocks”
Irma2013, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All of the rooms are good. We chose bungalow, which were a little more expensive. They are nice because there are a little more secluded. I probably wouldn't bother next time as the other rooms were just as nice.”
341dylanp, 3 Jul 2014 | Read review
“There is a bank of 8 rooms in the main area and 4 cabins a bit further away. I'd recommend the cabins, if available.”
Kato Akita, 23 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5