We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,011 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,002: English reviews
Leicester
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On arrival we were met by very friendly but efficient staff. We had a lovely room and the arrangements for the evening went without a hitch. We were surprised how good the food is when you consider how many they were catering for. The canapés were not to my liking but the rest of the food was excellent. The band...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T D
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well where can I start: We had booked to stay at MacDonald Botley park for 2 nights on the 31st December. This was for New Years Eve and then for my birthday on 2nd January. Check-in: We were greeted at check in by a lovely gentleman, we checked in, paid for our room upfront as we didn't want a tab...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maggie1406
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful room big bright and airy Looked freshly decorated Huge bathroom with separate shower big enough for two :) Lovely breakfast Party was fantastic Great music Lovely food Photo booth very funny Great night had by all 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shellsbellssmith
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for writing with your kind feedback.

Huntingdon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the third time we have used the "B & B with parking whilst on a cruise" deal. The bedroom was as ever comfortable and the facilities very good. Staff are friendly and efficient. We were a bit peckish when we arrived at 8.30pm and had to go to the bar for a snack - ordered the cheesy chips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ardamine12
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write with your detailed comments, which are most helpful. I will discuss the poor cheese quality and the black pudding issue with the chef, as I am not aware there has been a change to this popular product. I have had a recent visit from an interior designer to address the very criticism...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for only one night but wanted to stay more. The staff is friendly, and the rooms are spacious. Breakfast buffet being served in the morning is a quite simple English breakfast, but it was well prepared. I really like that the hotel is on walking distance from Botley, which features some nice pubs. Personally I would leave the carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HansGeering
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write with your feedback and I will consider your suggestion about the gym flooring.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a two day conference in November. The hotel is nice enough but based on my experience of conference facilities for the money spent, I think it could have been better. We were placed on a side of the hotel which did not have WiFi access and was cold. Seems a bit ridiculous for a conference to not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte A
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for writing with your feedback and I am sorry to read that you had issues with the wi-fi in the conference suite. We have had the whole system recently replaced throughout the hotel and the heating is being upgraded this month, which will, I am sure address your frustrations listed above.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here for an overnight spa break. The staff, from reception through to the spa and the restaurant, were all great, very friendly and polite. The room was clean, airy and spacious and the bed was comfy. The dinner was great, the food was fantastic and the portions were about right. I am coeliac so the chef was sent out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BloatyTheFrog
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, which are greatly appreciated and I am pleased to read that the chef took the time to discuss your food options. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The level of cleanliness is to a high standard including furnishings ,room service was disappointing calls took looooong to be answered.Dinner was definitely not fresh chips tasted and stretched like rubber,Mcdonald's fast food burgers and chips would beat what I got any day,for a £59 price tag it felt like daylight ,no 'night robbery'. Breakfast was excellent ,though for my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hillary G
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you had issues with the room service and I will address this with the F&B team.

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I just spent 3 night here including the gala dinner for NYE. We had a really lovely stay, all the staff both front of house, housekeeping and the Spa staff were very friendly and polite. Breakfast was tasty and plenty of choice Gala dinner despite us just being two was very well organised, we were on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write with your feedback and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay over New Years eve. Your comments about the staff are greatly appreciated.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

No space left for any spa treatment due to lack of staff!.... evening meal was terrible reheated food, broken condiments, cold restaurant, only seated around the edge of the restaurant with 8 other couples at cramped tables, with a huge restaurant empty, over cooked food, 3 other couples complained! .......how can you get breakfast so wrong? ...but they did by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trev L
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that your dining experience during your recent stay fell short of expectations, which does make disappointing reading and your feedback will be discussed with the chefs & restaurant team, as we do normally get good comments about our food offering.

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
2:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
9.6 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#17 of 24 in Southampton
1,518 reviews
2.9 km away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
844 reviews
9.9 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
908 reviews
5.0 km away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.5 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Price Range: $113 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room near reception if you don't want a long trek through fire doors from the far ends of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Ardamine12, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“a bit off the motorway for me , corridors were cold ,radiator in 225”
 of 5 bubbles 545hillaryg, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not applicable - only had dinner”
 of 5 bubbles sjp195713, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Order food at the bar , Interconnecting family rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles garben, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for Spa facilities”
 of 5 bubbles Q3916FGjans, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay