OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse

Jl. Alternative Nanggulan - Borobudur, Borobudur, Magelang 56553 Indonesia
Great Guest House
Traveller (24)
Interior of Traditional Wood Cabin Double Bed
Room & Suite (4)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$25
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 2 special inns in Borobudur
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
WELCOME TO METTALOKA GUEST HOUSE Hello, My name is Noni as Manager on Duty responsible for my parent's guest house. Mettaloka launched on 22nd December 2014 and is located at Wanurejo Tourist Village only 1.7 km from Borobudur Temple. Our guest house open for guest with simple needs and interested with ideas of back to nature to reduce global warming effects and concern for human civilization welfare. Metta means compassion and Loka means place/space. So, we want to share love, awareness, and peace from Mettaloka to the world. ABOUT METTALOKA Mettaloka consists of 1 main house (owner's house) as a front office, 8 guest rooms in line, 3 traditional wood cabin, 1 Java Traditional Patio for breakfast and sitting area, 1600 m2 of tropical garden and few unique spots. My Father was a pilot, so we had stayed in various lodgement, inn, hostel, motel, until five stars. Comfort to sleep, clean room and bathroom, nice surrounding and quite become our primer requirement. That's all what we provide in Mettaloka plus we welcoming our guest as our own family or friend. Recently we have not yet restaurant, but we provide simple food and beverages to help visitors have their meals. Wifi access entire property. Rental for bike and scooter and also pedicab, horse carriage and car taxi too. We designed the building and garden by ourself step by step until become a place of something different. Surrounded by village, greenfield, and Menoreh Hill, 3 km from Borobudur Bus Station. Besides Borobudur, Mendut, and Pawon Temple, visitors can also visit tofu and tempe factory, home industry of Batiks, Mask, Traditional Snacks, Bamboo, Pottery Village, and many more. Borobudur is similar with Bali 20 years ago, cycling activities is so nice. Borobudur Traditional Market always provide exotic local fruits, vegetables, and goods. We also doing meditation together with our guest for free inside our property. Meditation in Mendut Buddhism Monastery (3km) with the monks is another option. My guests came from around the world, mainly Holland, Deutch, UK, Italy, Spain, and also US, Australia, Japan, China, Belgium, Thailand, Serbia, Sweden, Singapore, Malaysia, Jamaica, South Korea, New Caledonia, and South Africa. Indeed, we are focus on foreign people but domestic tourists are welcome. Mettaloka Guest House offers a comfort and peaceful place just like your own house. Beautiful and unique architecture, complete with Menoreh hills scenery. Mettaloka is located at Wanurejo Tourist Village, 1km from Borobudur Temple. We have 8 spacious suite with Java Mansion and open stage for meeting and art exhibition. We are also doing meditation everyday, therefore you can join freely.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycle tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Walking tours
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian

Location

Jl. Alternative Nanggulan - Borobudur, Borobudur, Magelang 56553 Indonesia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 38 out of 100
38
Adisutjipto Airport
30.2 km
See all flights
Yogyakarta International Airport
36.5 km
See all flights
22Reviews4Q+A0Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Santosa P wrote a review June 2015
2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My comrade and I made a visit to Mettaloka Guest House during The 2015 Waisak Day. The owner of the place, Mrs. Eva and Ms. Maharani, welcome me with a gentle hospitality. The charming ladies had kindly lend us formal shirts to attend The Waisak Celebration with all the distinguish guest, including Mr. Joko Widodo, The Indonesian President.

Thank you very much
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mayte F wrote a review July 2015
Barcelona 6 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The best of all, was they rent a motorcycle for a very good price.

They helped us in our trip, about where to go, where to buy train/bus tickets and such other things.

The place was very nice and clean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RR1231 wrote a review May 2017
Shah Alam Selangor411 contributions79 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay here on 8th till 11 May 2017 , For Visit Borobudur ( Wesak Day ) , This guest house is 15 to 20 minits walk to Borobudur , Hospitality is Good , Room size is reasonable , Shower room is nice semi- open air , Not all room with Air con , ours is without , But its ok with a fan , Anywhere we enjoy our rest time outside our room they do provide chair and table with the surrounding garden view . Overall is a good stay for us . My advise to new coming guest , Once you are staying People Guest house , Please give a respect to Owner guest house , If you expect better , go and stay Hotel and not guest house
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mathilde H wrote a review July 2015
8 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay there for 3 nights, the room is simple and clean although they never change the sheets or the toilet paper. The breakfast is rather simple -> rice pudding (typical across indonesia no toast option as in other hotels in the price range). While sit down on the same chair of my friend, the girls said it was inappopriate. As an owner of a hostel for foreigns and she could understand that it wasn't an offense there were just no other available chair. They also had a nazi/adolf hitler sticker on their laptop...... Kind of inappropiate... And to resume the price is A WAY TOO HIGH for the offer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MettalokaGuestHouse, Manajer at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse
Responded 29 July 2015
Thank you for reviewing our guest house. According to your review, we have to clarify a few points: 1. You have stayed for 2 days, not 3 days, checked-in July 18st and checked-out July 20st. As usual, we didn't change the bedsheet or towel, and there are no complained about that before. But, if our customer ask us to clean their room and change their towel/bedsheet, we would do it with a pleasure. 2. Our guest house have terms and conditions which is written in every room. One point of them is “respect our values and norms and also your room neighbor”. We had to remind you about your attitude which you and your friend did something (cuddling and kissing each other) in the terrace that were inappropriate according to our culture and looked directly by children besides your room. If there were no guests, we will keep your privacy. And of course we provide two chairs for every room suitable with the maximum occupation. Moreover, our guest can have a seat and relax in our wide Pendopo Java Mansion (Verandah) with many pairs of table and chairs. 3. Unfortunately, you have pick the date that many domestic people had long holiday (high season) of Eid Mubarak which is have impact to the rate of the room that more expensive. Next time, you can come back again to Indonesia in the low season and you will find many special discount. 4. About the Nazi’s sticker, that was irrelevant with our guest house and our service. As holiday season, all of my family came and stayed in here and my brother has a laptop that plastered with a little nazi sticker which is Hitler and Nazi is not prohibited in Indonesia, different in the Deutsche. Beside that, there is no symbol in the entire of our guest house which is will make our guests feel uncomfort. But, next time we will pay more attention about the sensitive issues. Last but not least, thank you for staying and have a wonderful vacation in Indonesia.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ukare4me wrote a review Aug 2016
Singapore, Singapore123 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful natural retreat in beautiful borobodur. The most hotels with online booking facility around borobodur are very expensive but it fit my budget well. It is around 2 km from the famous Borobodur temple. The rooms were neat and comfortable with free wifi and free parking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Noni_Metta, Manajer at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse
Responded 14 Sept 2016
Dear lovely guest, Thank you for choosing and staying in our guest house. We are really glad you enjoying your stay. We will also try to be better and better again. Maybe you can come back again next year to see the Vesak Day Celebration on Borobudur Temple. And we will be glad to host you again. Have a nice day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lilian V wrote a review Aug 2016
Antwerp22 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Like everybody else we went here to see the Borobudur. (What we find slightly overrated, expensive to get in and a LOT of other tourists. We went for a sunrise experience). But hey, if you want to visit it then Mettaloka is a very nice place to stay. Beautiful garden, good food, lovely staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Noni_Metta, Manajer at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse
Responded 14 Sept 2016
Dear Lilian, Thank you for spending your days here and writing a review. We are happy that you satisfied with our service and can give you nice memories. Good luck!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
273benc wrote a review June 2016
Vancouver, Canada42 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Mettaloka Guest House a few weeks ago to take in the Waisak festival at Borobudur. Really enjoyed my stay, and found the manager of the place, Noni, to be incredibly friendly, helpful, and attentive. Seriously, anything you need, or any questions you have, she's there to help. Really appreciated that.

The location is about a 20 minute walk from Borobudur temple, so I'd recommend using one of the homestays bikes or scooters, but I walked to the temple and found it fine. It's true that the road that runs alongside the homestay can be a bit busy, but I didn't find it off putting at all, and the beauty and serenity of the garden more than made up for it.

I loved the breakfasts I had here, particularly the congee, so good!

All in all, I'd say this is the perfect spot for exploring what the region has to offer. My only recommendation is that if you come, be sure to rent a scooter and explore the surrounding areas which are really beautiful. There's more to see than just Borobudur temple.

Thanks Noni! :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Noni_Metta, Manajer at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse
Responded 14 Sept 2016
Hi Ben, Kindly you giving us excellent review. Thank you very much. We always try to do the best helping and giving useful, efficient, cheapest tips for our guests. And there are also a lot of place you've must visit. Choose low season such as January-April and September-November. Maybe, I can accompany you to explore Indonesia. See you in another chance.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rockingu wrote a review Mar 2016
Vancouver5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The guesthouse is very beautiful and quiet. I really liked the garden and the relaxing atmosphere.

The hostess was superbly friendly and helpful. I walked too much one day and she offered me hot water with herbs to soak my feet free of charge.

My room and private washroom was basic but tidy and clean. It got everything I needed to recharge for the next day. Wifi connectivity was excellent. I like the little patio in front of the room to sit and chill.

Location isn't too bad, $30k tuktuk to and from the bus terminal. 10 minutes walk to the temple and convenience store and restaurants. Just have to be careful the traffic on the main roads especially at night.

I'd go back if I visit the area again.

Thanks Mettaloka!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Noni_Metta, Manajer at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse
Responded 24 Mar 2016
Dear Rockingu, I still remember you. Walked alone all day and came back with red burn face, exhausted and tired leg. Thank you for your positive appreciation. Unfortunately, our meeting just like a breeze. We are looking forward to host you. Happy easter. Bless you! Cheers, Noni
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian C wrote a review Feb 2016
London, United Kingdom9 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent nearly three days here and was sorry to leave. The main thing was that I was treated like a fellow human being rather than a 'tourist', it was a great feeling and very unusual in my experience in Indonesia. Usually every place is geared to making you feel different or 'special' there is rarely a sense that we are just people together. I wanted to have a sense of being amongst local people and making a connection. It all came together very nicely at Metta loka (which means the place where love and kindness abides).I was travelling alone and there was a real sense of communication with Noni who runs the place. When I'm travelling it often takes me a while to slow down and tune into the place and people but it was easy here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Noni_Metta, Manager at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse
Responded 26 Feb 2016
Hi Ian, Thank you very much for staying in my house and writing your experience. I'm glad knowing it's hard for you to leave Mettaloka. So, I think I will see you again next time. And hopefully, we will upgrade and provide new facilities to serve my guests and especially for you. Warmly, Noni
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philippe D wrote a review Dec 2015
Jakarta, Indonesia37 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely overpriced in december-january. No warm water, primitive bed, noice from the street, ridiculous TV. Breakfast terrible. Don't make yourself illusion that the indonesian breakfast has something traditional. It's cheap from around the corner. Not prepared in the lodge. Staff speaks english but their kindness is not real. It doesn't come from the heart. As my wife is Indonesian, she could tell. Not recommended place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MettalokaGuestHouse, Manajer at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse
Responded 26 Dec 2015
Hi Mr.Philippe, First of all we would like to say thank you for staying in my parents guest house. We don't want to be rude, but we are not surprise that you will wrote bad review. Because of from the first time you arrived in Mettaloka, your group were very unappreciated to us. As all we know, 20 Dec-1Jan is long holiday, all of the hotel's rate are increase. You booked at last minute, so you paid higher, but you still got the good price. My family and staff were very upset too because you had wasting our food (dinner and breakfast) such as Nasi Goreng, Chicken Satay, Traditional Snack (arem2, tempe mendoan,etc) which were become the favorite menu's for my foreign guests. And the funniest poin is you called my new queen springbed as primitive bed. What's wrong with you? We know you were tired and upset, but please be polite and objective. Last but not least, we apologize that our guest house not fit with your high standard class. In the future, please be wise to choose hotel than homestay or guest house. In light and love, NONI
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Noni_Metta
Mojokerto, Indonesia80 contributions22 helpful votes
Hi Sam, Only 4 rooms like Superior Room with AC, Family Room with AC, Traditional Cabin Wood twin/double. Warm regards, Noni
Answer from Noni_Metta
Mojokerto, Indonesia80 contributions22 helpful votes
Hi, I just got and read your message. We already communicated through email. Cu soon.
Answer from Noni_Metta
Mojokerto, Indonesia80 contributions22 helpful votes
Hi Camilorr, Of course you can rent a bicycle IDR 25,000 or motorbike IDR 60,000. Thank you Warm regards,
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Borobudur area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$16 - AU$21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mettaloka Guest House and Art Space
LOCATION
IndonesiaJavaCentral JavaMagelangBorobudur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OYO 2168 METTALOKA GUESTHOUSE (AU$16): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Borobudur, Indonesia) - Photos of Specialty Inn - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Candi Pawon (0.9 km), Pawon Luwak (0.9 km), and As-Syifa Batik (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Amata Resto, Alea Coffeeshop, and Dlizfood Borobudur.
Does OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse have airport transportation?
Yes, OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Borobudur Temple (2.1 km).
All Borobudur HotelsBorobudur Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BorobudurHotels near OYO 2168 Mettaloka Guesthouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars