We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Ivy House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ivy House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Ivy House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2015

The room was small, but okay for one night. Good location - not far from Heathrow. Loved the exposed beams in the room - that special touch from a period property. We were able to access the room through an upper door so we did have to carry our luggage through the pub and up the stairs. We liked that.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelLady724
Tring
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely time here on our wedding day. Alfie was very relaxed and accommodating, booking singers, a dj,a bouncy castle and letting us have prosecco at cost. The bbq was amazing and all the staff really friendly and helpful. I really didn't have to worry about any of it. The setting is beautiful and we didn't even notice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nic80Tring
Cumbria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2015

The room leaves a little to desire. Banged my head once or twice and I'm a short **** However, the service was exceptional. Dinner and breakfast great and the service was perfect. I even managed to buy a bottle of gin, break it, leave my wallet and they were still great. I will stay again and only wish I hadn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank LakesMB
Dordogne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2015

On arrival at the Ivy House you may be dismayed by the traffic noise: the pub is located on a very busy road to London. However, it's perfect if on the following day you're to visit the Harry Potter Studios (20 mn away on a easy road). Once inside, you'll be met by the owner and his staff who make... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellingLizzie09
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We enjoyed a lovely lunch last Sunday at the Ivy House. The food was first class with the pub providing an array of traditional meals which were all very appetising. The service was efficient and friendly and exactly what you would want for a good Sunday lunch.

Helpful?
Thank keytraveller
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear Key traveller! Thank you very much for your kind words and we are really pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us at the Ivy House. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks Alfi More 

london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We came for a family birthday on an early sitting on a saturday. The pub was quiet and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a good selection of beers and ales. The food was excellent and good value for money. The pub is on the London Road which was noisy but the longer you were there the... More 

Helpful?
Thank nikki-jamie
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear Nikki, Thank you for your kind comments and we are very pleased that you had enjoyable evening with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Alfie More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Had an evening meal after being recommended by my local butcher who supply's them. Well cooked and great service.will definately return in the future as it's very local. It's also very comfortable and clean.

Helpful?
Thank Jack T
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear Jack, Thank you for your kind words and very pleased you had an enjoyable evening. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards Alfie More 

Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We stayed here for one night after a day out in the area. The best thing about The Ivy is the staff who were all friendly and welcoming and really helpful. We had a room at the back which was quite small but had everything you would need (hairdryer, safe, good sized towels and plenty of them, TV and mirrors... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian A
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear Gilian, Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to pass the comments onto my team who all work extremely hard!! Many thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Alfie More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Spent 2 nights at The Ivy House at the end our holiday in England. Chose The Ivy House as it was within easy driving distance to Heathrow Airport for our return journey home; we were not disappointed. We received a warm welcome and check-in was simple and quick. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and we also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Desire B
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear Desire B...thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay at the Ivy House...we do appreciate your wow's and are please that you decided to stay with us. I hope you had a great trip home. Yours sincerely Alfie More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I took my family to The Ivy House for a quick dinner before heading to the cinema. We were warmly welcomed but once upon the bar the staff seemed lost and and confused like they didn't know what to do with us. Once seated we were bombarded with special and drink orders without even getting the chance to take our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil D
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear Neil D Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We will take on board your comments regarding your initial experience regarding the confusing service. Thank you for your positive comments about the food and the service you received from Evan. Thank you Alfie More 

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalfont St. Giles
3.1 km away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
669 reviews
6.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
265 reviews
3.6 km away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
412 reviews
7.3 km away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
758 reviews
7.1 km away
Ethorpe Hotel
Ethorpe Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Ivy House

Address: London Rd, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chalfont St. Giles
Price Range: $131 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ivy House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ivy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivy House Hotel Chalfont St. Giles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ivy House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“At the front overlooking the Chiltern Views.”
 of 5 bubbles trevorb96, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“one at back of b&b if possible”
 of 5 bubbles bigaitchLiverpool, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“watch your head in the Captain's room”
 of 5 bubbles LakesMB, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The rooms at the back are quieter although the ones at the front have more of a view.”
 of 5 bubbles GillianA956, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back if you sleep with the window open as it's on a main road.”
 of 5 bubbles lc1705, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay