We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bush Lodge at The Elephant Sanctuary Hartebeespoort Dam

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartbeespoort
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Bush Lodge at The Elephant Sanctuary Hartebeespoort Dam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Start your review of Bush Lodge at The Elephant Sanctuary Hartebeespoort Dam
 Click to rate
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Reviewed 3 October 2016

After 2 weeks travelling around South Africa and Botswana we probably expected our last 2 days and nights at Tuskers to be about winding down and seeing if we could repack without bursting our suitcases. But in fact we had a wild time visiting the monkey and elephant sanctuaries, exploring Hartbeespoort, going shopping, taking the cable-car and generally enjoying/exploring the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Bush Lodge at The Elephant Sanctuary Hartebeespoort Dam, responded to this review

Good day. Thank you for your review and kind words to Noah, i will pass the message. We have updated the name on TripAdvisor also now so there shouldn't be any confusion now. Hope to see you again Regards

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 13 September 2016

my money could not buy me enough time to interact with elephant!! the coach/facilitator is very knowledgeable and caters for all age groups!! managing to engage even the 10-year-olds who were in the group. I love elephants, so the experience was out of this world. I cried and laughed and wanted to be left in the bushes with them. its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phindile Z
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Bush Lodge at The Elephant Sanctuary Hartebeespoort Dam, responded to this review

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we truly appreciate it, Reagrds

Potchefstroom, South Africa
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We paid up front, phoned to confirm our booking was told they already gave it to someone else, and many months later still zero refund. Will NEVER recommend to anybody. We ended up going to Magalies Park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Igmar M
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Bush Lodge at The Elephant Sanctuary Hartebeespoort Dam, responded to this review

Good day. Sorry to hear about your experience. Kindly tell me if you did sent us a email regarding this matter? Our TripAdvisor wasn't up to date. Regards

England
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We went for the restaurant ,you have to book in advance as it seems to be in demand. The outside eating veranda commands spectacular veiws and you can see the animals walking about below although from afar ,so take your binos if you are just doing lunch there.Food was good with a lovely carvery and we went down to feed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroleserena
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Quant Bush experience. Low key with personal service. B&B only. Near impossible to find off the main road without any markers. Took an hour to locate it in the dark. Simple roadside signs would help a lot. Accommodation adequate but simple and a real Bush experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 769rickv
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 September 2015

The bush lodge is overpriced. The rooms are clean but small, breakfast is standard (nothing spectacular and if you are the last one, you see the food disappearing before you are finished). The staff is kind. We picked this accommodation, because it was presented as being part of the elephant sanctuary, and we thought we would be able to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherineOuagadougou
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 20 December 2014 via mobile

Staff and facilities fantastic Thoroughly enjoyed our visit We did the elephant interaction package .. X2 adults x2 children Wonderful experience and informative and courteous staff. Nice refreshments for snack pre or post visit. A lot of effort and time has obviously been spent in the facilities. Well done... The attention to detail and use of materials in the centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yanthe
Germany
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the lodge being the only guests. So it was very quiet and we were at ourselves for the sundowner and the elephant programm the next morning. It was private and the staff was very friendly, our guide made our stay very personal. The elephant backriding and the elephant programm was good and the kids enjoyed it, however,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max_3210
Evander
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Visited the sanctuary for two days 5/6 June2014, and found the facility, staff and accommodation to be excellent! The experience with the elephants and their trainers is exceptional and the elephants are awesome and you are humbled in their presence. I highly recommend a visit and stay at this facility. Very close to Johannesburg and Pretoria, you have a choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerttravelnovice
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Well I booked to take 2 teenagers on this elephant experience, I would say 2 distinct parts to it first the good bits we had Simba as our guide/ host who was top class he has a nice easy way about him the boys very impressed with him. The boys did the riding of the elephant which although they enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wirral69

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartbeespoort
7.1 km away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
78 reviews
15.4 km away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
10 reviews
7.6 km away
Ostrich Manor
Ostrich Manor
#5 of 36 in Hartbeespoort
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Magalies Park
Magalies Park
#3 of 36 in Hartbeespoort
114 reviews
9.1 km away
Cocomo Guesthouse, Spa and Conference Centre
4.0 km away
Amanzingwe Lodge
Amanzingwe Lodge
#3 of 7 in Broederstroom
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tuskers Bush Lodge is situated right next to the Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeespoort - South Africa. Guest have the opportunity to stay in our Luxury Rooms a short distance from the elephant stables. Situated in the amazing Bushveld atmosphere, are 6 luxury rooms with a communal patio and deck area, overlooking the tranquilizing swimming pool and bush. Tuskers Bush Lodge is exclusive and intimate, and can accommodate 12 guest (sharing). We welcome families and children of all ages. Come stay and enjoy the peace and calm that the bushveld has to offer. All rooms are tastefully decorated, with on-suite bathrooms and air-conditioned. Rates are inclusive of Bed and Breakfast. In the surrounding area there are a variety of restaurants ready for your picking. Check in time is between 15h00-17h00 and Check out is at 10h30 on the day of departure. Rates excludes all Elephant activities ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bush Lodge at The Elephant Sanctuary Hartebeespoort Dam

Address: Near R512 | Hartbeespoort Dam, Hartbeespoort 0216, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Hartbeespoort
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bush Lodge at The Elephant Sanctuary Hartebeespoort Dam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't go there”
catherineOuagadougou, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We had a family suite with seperate room for the kids and nice bathroom with huge bath tub.”
  • Lodge
Max_3210, 7 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Ask for room five in the Bush Lodge”
Gerttravelnovice, 6 Jun 2014 | Read review
3 of 3