We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thou Walla Sunset Retreat

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Thou Walla Sunset Retreat is located on the point at Soldiers Point. A mixture of accommodation including: furnished under canvas tents, water view villas (with spa or sunset views) and a range of cottages.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator in room
Microwave
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Williamtown Airport24 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
60
31
8
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
60
31
8
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glamping tents soldiers point marina great sunset electric heater port stephens tranquil setting water view great reception full kitchen spa villas mid week bbq area bbq facilities tennis courts powered site great holiday enjoyed our stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We would like to share a very negative experience that we had at the Thou Walla Sunset Retreat. We stayed there for only one night and went out for dinner after having dropped our bags in the bungalow. When we came back later in the...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank emma_devl
Response from ManagerThouwalla, Manager at Thou Walla Sunset RetreatResponded 2 weeks ago

This is a very disappointing review due to the help and options provided to your party. Our on call Manager and his wife responded to your call immediately, they offered you another room, they set up the cabins around you to make you feel comfortable,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a last minute getaway in Port Stephens (day before) so no bargains to be had and most places were booked out. Decide to give Thou Walla a go but not really a fan of holiday parks normally full of kids running about and...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Traveler20933749499
Response from ManagerThouwalla, Manager at Thou Walla Sunset RetreatResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted you had a lovely stay and it certainly is nice to know that our guests enjoy their time with us. Our park is quite unique in its setting...More

Reviewed 4 November 2018

Could have been a wonderful experience but no hot water. Therefore no shower. No way to contact staff out of hours. No instructions in tent at all and there needs to be. A handout provided when we booked in had been photocopied and the important...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank TheTelfords
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

My family had short 2 nights stay at glamping tent. Tent was very clean , eco toilet was a bit akward, but good enough use for emergency. Bed was also comfortable. Nice view and warm staff at reception. We had a best camping at Thou...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank So Hee P
Response from ManagerThouwalla, Manager at Thou Walla Sunset RetreatResponded 24 October 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review and that your family had a lovely stay with us. The Glam Tents are amazing and the feedback on our beds is always positive. I will pass on your comments to our Customer...More

Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Thou Walla is absolutely fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Soldiers Point. The glamping tents are amazing and have everything and more. I would recommend you take a candle or two for extra ambience but you will not be disappointed. Ask for one...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Welovekalkan
Response from ManagerThouwalla, Manager at Thou Walla Sunset RetreatResponded 24 October 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review and that you and your daughter had a lovely stay with us. The Glam Tents are amazing and the views are incredible. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
family0ff0ur1
18 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Eric R | Reviewed this property |
Sorry to hear you had such a bad time. We had a great time with our 2 children. From the accomodation, facilities to the staff, we could'nt complain at all. To give you an example, I was able to leave my partner at the... More
0
Votes
Dhara T
8 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 507donnad | Reviewed this property |
Hi. This is adults only accommodation. Leave tbe kids at home , sit back and relax.
0
Votes
La-di-da-01
31 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JulieGornall | Reviewed this property |
Hi All the glamping tents look over the water. Each tent has a fire and is quite warm but in July you might not get the weather to sit out on the balcony and watch the sunset!
3
Votes
Room Tips
"Make sure you don't get a remote bungalow like we did."
emma_devl
4 weeks ago
Read review
"Don't take valuables - there was no way to lock the tent up."
TheTelfords
3 Nov. 2018
Read review
"Request a tent numbered 4 - 10. Tents 1 - 3 do not have a good aspect. I think tent # 10 has the most..."
robbieb717
18 Feb. 2018
Read review
"The Glam Tents have superb views!"
JMOLLY
23 Jan. 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
USD 108 - USD 177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastlePort StephensSoldiers Point
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing