We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Granada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived at the Acra Resort after being 4 days in the bush without shower etc. So you can imagine that we where overwhelmed and happy as childs with the enormous rooms, soft beds and magnificent views. We had great conversations with the staff specially Norm athe owner and Leah the super entertaining operations manager who made us laugh. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yolandevanwijk
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed overnight and enjoyed our stay. The room was large and suited our needs just a pity there is no chair to sit on. The bathroom needs some renovating. The meals were delicious but really way too pricey! On checking out there was some confusion and we were charged more than quoted. Fortunately we had our booking confirmation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindy780
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited Acra for one night on our way to Kruger. We had a fantastic time with Norma and her son , they made us feel more then welcome!! NL: m'n man en ik hebben hier een nacht gelogeerd onderweg naar het Kruger. We hebben een fantastische tijd gehad bij Norma en haar zoon. We voelden ons...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petra S
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I wanted to stop for a night on our way from Johannesburg to Kruger and found Acra. We were very happy with the setting and really amazed with the views. The lodge has a rustic feel which we like and felt very cozy. The dinner was top notch and very much enjoyed. Its a quiet place and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avi R
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Real old world charm! Reminds me of a guest house in the hills of Austria or Switzerland. Norma the Owner and Holger her son are both friendly and efficient. Pre-book Dinner and it will be an unforgettable experience. Breakfast outside is a must! Well stocked Bar and good wine choices. Gr8 place to catch up on Birdlife or just to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swan1965
Johannesburg
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We spent one night in this delightful, friendly stopover. Room was very comfortable and clean. The TV connection was not working - or I couldn't find any working channels - but we were not particularly bothered by that. Dinner was outstanding although the while wine selection seemed very limited. The quiet location and wonderful views added to the pleasure of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
Jergasmeister, Owner at Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven, responded to this review

Dear Phil, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We loved having you ! Please note on your account, that we did not charge for the Wifi... we issue a Wifi password with a note that we charge R 15 for a connection. This is simply to make people aware that we only have a satelite connection, being...

Pretoria
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the crocodile cottage. It is neat and clean and perfect for 2 adults and maybe 2 small children but definitely not for 4 adults/ family with teenagers as it is very cramped. For example there is only a 2 seater dining room table and only 1 couch. Bring your own food as the dinner is ridiculously expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elanie B
Jergasmeister, Owner at Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, We have an 8 seater table on the porch, and a 4 seater table inside the cottaqe. Besides that, we have a Boma for the exclusive use of the cottage, to do star gazing with a log fire .. (we supply the wood for the fire ) ! We offer : Spa treatments, an Archery range, hiking ,a...

South Africa
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

The views of this Guest Houses is absolutely breathtaking. Location Location Location. The Breakfast is included in the price and absolutely worth the spread. The establishment does not serve lunch, so if you are visiting the area make sure you have an outing planned that serves lunch. A 3 course supper is available at +/- R270 per person. The actual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mackes
Jergasmeister, Owner at Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven, responded to this review

Dear Mackes, We are a B & B, we do not serve lunch. We offer our guests a late check-out as 90% have a late flight back to Europe... so we need the time to disinfect and perfect the rooms for the next guests, which have to be ready by 14.00. ! However, there are at least 5 lunch opportunities...

London
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Our family of four (with two teenage sons) spent one night here (like many others who submitted a review we were stopping off on the way to Kruger) and really enjoyed our stay. The location is wonderful - outside of town and overlooking some beautiful scenery - there are lovely views from the terrace. The suite was spacious for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nfromlondon
West Stockwith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Stayed for one night on the way to Hazyview to break up the journey. The location is lovely. Great views all round. Nice little bar. Warm welcome and good food if you let the owner know in advance. A very nice cosy atmosphere, typically South African hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lezconnecting

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterval Boven
0.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
34.7 km away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
181 reviews
34.9 km away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
115 reviews
13.2 km away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 10 in Waterval Boven
14 reviews
35.0 km away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Acra Retreat **Mountain View Lodge** is THE PERFECT STOPOVER POINT BETWEEN JOHANNESBURG AND THE KRUGER NATIONAL PARK, after a long flight or for a relaxed & stress free return back home. Positioned on the edge of a cliff, Acra-Retreat is situated on the border of the Elands Krans Nature Reserve which gives you a soothing and most amazing Mountain Panorama. We feature an outdoor pool & children's pool and a Hot-Tub, a trampoline, a basic fitness section, sheltered barbecue facilities and a beautifully manicured garden. We also have a small sheltered, outdoor fitness section, for the basic exercises. Massages and Beauty treatments are possible in the room, at the pool or on the deck. We also have a tranquil massage room. All individually decorated rooms offer a 'private' entrance to the decks / gardens with Mountain Views. Each room is fitted with a TV and satellite/DStv channels. Tea/coffee facilities, heater, safe, hairdryer and (ceiling-) fan(s) are standard. Toiletries, towels and additional pool towels are provided. Of course we also supply the linen, bedding, additional blankets and everything else necessary for a relaxing good night sleep. The rooms are serviced daily! Acra-Retreat Mountain View Lodge has a fully licensed and very well stocked pub. Sundowners & cocktails can be enjoyed on the deck or at the pool. Relax and enjoy in the peace and tranquillity that Acra Retreat offers. A beautiful, scrumptious Three-Course Dinner is served every evening if requested. We will send you our menu after the reservation is confirmed. But we can always also just make you a quick toasted sandwich and side salad for the smaller appetite. And surely you can also use one of our braai (BBQ) facilities. We will support the cutlery, condiments, wood, charcoal or briquettes, firestarters,... Scrumptious dinners are served in the evening but you can also use one of our braai (BBQ) facilities. We will provide the cutlery, condiments, wood, charcoal,.... • Amazing Mountain Panorama • Outdoor pool, children's pool & trampoline, small fitness area • Beautiful sheltered braai area (BBQ area) • Wi-Fi available (surcharge) • *NEW*: Guided Quad-Bike Trails! Enjoy one of our breathtaking routes for beginners and experienced drivers. • Koi pond • Own borehole with regularly tested, clean water • Safe Parking on the property (free) • Malaria Free • English, German, Dutch and Afrikaans spoken • German / South African Management • "Nature Drives" in an open SUV around Waterval Boven with amazing views, historic sites, picnic break,.... Horse riding, mountain climbing, abseiling and spa treatments and more can be arranged. We can send you a list or link with the close by activities and attractions. The hotel is located on the way to the Kruger Park, 2.5 hour's drive from Johannesburg and approximately 2,15 hours from Malelane Gate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven

Address: Farm 88 Doornhoek Street | P.O.Box 91, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Price Range: $77 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven Hotel Waterval Boven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Doha, Qatar
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book Dinner beforehand!”
 of 5 bubbles Swan1965, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family room has shared bathroom. If you are not occupying as a family that could be a problem,”
 of 5 bubbles 803philk, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed OK from what I saw on TA photos”
 of 5 bubbles lezconnecting, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Zebra Suite. The room and its view are amazing, but not completely sound proof (if that is something you require).”
 of 5 bubbles ultimatedotvoyage, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles 482christam, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay